We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel, just missing some hooks ”
Review of Tiki Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tiki Lodge
Ranked #11 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

Hostel was clean, the kitchen well equipped (they even had lunch boxes). Lockers in the corridor. Rooms were missing hooks (to dry wet towels, hang your jacket,...). No chair/ table to put stuff on in the bathroom either. Mattress was pretty saggy.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Fnj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tikiboss, Manager at Tiki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review great to know what we can do to make the Hostel better. We do have a clothes hanging line outside and in the laundry room which guests can use for wet towels / clothes. I will pass on your feedback to the owner and may look at putting a couple of hooks in the room however guests do tend to put coats on the end of the beds or over the rails. With regards to the mattresses we have replaced only last week some of the older ones and will continue to assess and replace as required - apologies you had one of the older ones :-( had you advised our staff we could have moved you to another bed. Thank you again for your review and I hope you enjoy the rest of your trip around New Zealand. Thea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Upon arriving at the place we were greeted by a friendly staff who was very helpful during our stay. The room we got was very clean and warm, the facility itself is tidy and kitchen utilities are readily available for use. Plus free breakfast (yey)... Highly recommend family and friends to stay there if they are ever in Taupo...

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Kympoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tikiboss, Manager at Tiki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you so very much for your awesome review :-) So nice to hear you enjoyed your stay and will recommend us to your friends and family. Glad you enjoyed your free breakfast which we offer during the quieter months and we look forward to welcoming your friends :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Initially, I wasn't expecting much since it's a lodge for backpackers. But it turned out to be way better than expected. The room was well furnished with basic kitchenette utilities. There's only 2 family rooms (backpackers rooms on 1st floor), both located on the ground floor next to the reception. A shared bathroom for both the rooms are located just adjacent to the rooms and it was very clean. There's even a small garden outside the room with a table and chairs. Simple breakfast was served every morning. A shared fully equipped kitchen is located on the 1st floor. I couldn't ask for more for d price that was paid. It was more than worth the price.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank SunnyHor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solarpowered_12, Owner at Tiki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thank you for your review of Tiki Lodge and what it has to offer for everyone, not just individual international travelers. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and we exceeded your expectations, that is always so nice tho hear :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Spent 2 nights here while doing a course in Taupo. Was lucky to get dorm with ensuite to myself. Would have to say a $26 night at a backpackers doesnt get any better than this. Clean spacious room. Very nice bathroom. Kitchen and lounge facilities also very good, staff friendly and helpful and quiet as a grave so overall a very good experience. And free breakfast to!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PCassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tikiboss, Manager at Tiki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you for your kind review Cassie, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Always a bonus when you have a dorm room to yourself! We are happy to hear you liked the facilities and the staff were helpful. Enjoy your time in New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

Me and a few friends stayed here instead of Base which is the typical hostel you get dropped off at with Kiwi experience, and it for sure didnt disappoint!! the staff were really lovely, they even set up breakfast for us a few hours before they usually serve because we were having to leave for Tongariro Crossing. The free breakfast was good and the kitchen even had ovens, which was so handy and something you don't come across much! the kitchens felt really homely and there was also a movie room and quite a large chill out area which was nice. The toilets and showers were clean and the rooms were pretty good too. The showers did run cold very quickly on one occasion but that was in the middle of the day so I assume the hot water hadn't been turned on yet.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tikiboss, Manager at Tiki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thanks for your lovely review Melissa, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Free breakfast is always a hit with travellers and we are happy you appreciated this. If you come through Taupo again, we'd love to have you stay with us again. Enjoy the rest of your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

Very clean, modern two story Tiki Lodge, gave a good night's rest. Facilities were fine, kitchen , lounges, balcony, bathroom, bedroom clean. Free tea and coffee in the TV room available 24 hours. ( bathroom was a bit chilly!)
Staff were most helpful, and easy to talk with.
Basic breakfast FREE, cereals and toast is adequate, than you.
Is an easy stroll to the shops and the Lake Taupo foreshore.
Bunk room okay.

Room Tip: Bunk room 5 near bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BevanjP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tikiboss, Manager at Tiki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Thanks for your great review Bevan, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is good to hear the free tea, coffee and breakfast are appreciated! We are lucky to be close enough to town and a very short walk to the lake front. Enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017

A friend and I stayed a night here after doing the Tongariro Crossing. It was good value for money and the rooms and bathroom was clean. The wifi was good and the free breakfast was a treat. The staff were not very inclusive. However, I would recommend this hostel if you are passing through Taupo.

Room Tip: We stayed in an 8 shared room and it was pleasant. Not much space for luggage though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikhayla_Bader17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tikiboss, Manager at Tiki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The free breakfast is a great bonus and we are happy you appreciated this! We apologise if the staff weren't as helpful as they could of been, we have made all individuals aware of this. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.5 km away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#21 of 68 in Taupo
273 reviews
2.4 km away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.8 km away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#8 of 34 in Taupo
260 reviews
0.3 km away
Haka Lodge Taupo
Haka Lodge Taupo
#2 of 34 in Taupo
381 reviews
0.2 km away
Taupo Urban Retreat
Taupo Urban Retreat
#17 of 34 in Taupo
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiki Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiki Lodge

Address: 104 Tuwharetoa Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Price Range: $44 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tiki Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE breakfast all year round from 8:00am to 10:30am. FREE unlimited WIFI all year round. If you're looking for an affordable, relaxed and friendly place to stay in Taupo with spectacular lake and mountain views, then Tiki Lodge is for you! Its prime location ensures excellent views of Lake Taupo with only a 2 minute walk to the town centre and lakefront. Cook up a treat in our large well-equipped kitchen. Make friends in our large lounge, relax in our cosy T.V room and enjoy the views from our balcony. We have onsite undercover parking, high-pressure showers, storage lockers, BBQ and bike hire available. Our friendly staff are here to help with all your booking needs. From the Tongariro Alpine Crossing to skydiving, bungy jumping, rafting trips, trout fishing and kayaking, there is something for everyone. With our relaxed and friendly vibe, cosy feel and awesome staff, we hope your stay with us will be a memorable one! We look forward to having you stay :-) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tiki Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing