We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveller rating
92
73
35
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
73
35
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfastthe kitchenlong termersgreat hostel to staymeet other travellerscereal and toastrun hostelbackpackers hostelinitial bookingtongariro crossingnight's restshared bathroombunk roomgreat tipsfamily roomother guestslounge area
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 211 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile

Upon arriving at the place we were greeted by a friendly staff who was very helpful during our stay. The room we got was very clean and warm, the facility itself is tidy and kitchen utilities are readily available for use. Plus free breakfast (yey)... Highly recommend family and friends to stay there if they are ever in Taupo...

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Kympoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tikiboss, Manager at Tiki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2017

Thank you so very much for your awesome review :-) So nice to hear you enjoyed your stay and will recommend us to your friends and family. Glad you enjoyed your free breakfast which we offer during the quieter months and we look forward to welcoming your friends :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2017 via mobile

Initially, I wasn't expecting much since it's a lodge for backpackers. But it turned out to be way better than expected. The room was well furnished with basic kitchenette utilities. There's only 2 family rooms (backpackers rooms on 1st floor), both located on the ground floor next to the reception. A shared bathroom for both the rooms are located just adjacent to the rooms and it was very clean. There's even a small garden outside the room with a table and chairs. Simple breakfast was served every morning. A shared fully equipped kitchen is located on the 1st floor. I couldn't ask for more for d price that was paid. It was more than worth the price.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank SunnyHor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solarpowered_12, Owner at Tiki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2017

Thank you for your review of Tiki Lodge and what it has to offer for everyone, not just individual international travelers. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and we exceeded your expectations, that is always so nice tho hear :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2017

Spent 2 nights here while doing a course in Taupo. Was lucky to get dorm with ensuite to myself. Would have to say a $26 night at a backpackers doesnt get any better than this. Clean spacious room. Very nice bathroom. Kitchen and lounge facilities also very good, staff friendly and helpful and quiet as a grave so overall a very good experience. And free breakfast to!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PCassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tikiboss, Manager at Tiki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2017

Thank you for your kind review Cassie, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Always a bonus when you have a dorm room to yourself! We are happy to hear you liked the facilities and the staff were helpful. Enjoy your time in New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2017

Me and a few friends stayed here instead of Base which is the typical hostel you get dropped off at with Kiwi experience, and it for sure didnt disappoint!! the staff were really lovely, they even set up breakfast for us a few hours before they usually serve because we were having to leave for Tongariro Crossing. The free breakfast was good and the kitchen even had ovens, which was so handy and something you don't come across much! the kitchens felt really homely and there was also a movie room and quite a large chill out area which was nice. The toilets and showers were clean and the rooms were pretty good too. The showers did run cold very quickly on one occasion but that was in the middle of the day so I assume the hot water hadn't been turned on yet.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tikiboss, Manager at Tiki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2017

Thanks for your lovely review Melissa, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Free breakfast is always a hit with travellers and we are happy you appreciated this. If you come through Taupo again, we'd love to have you stay with us again. Enjoy the rest of your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 4, 2017

Very clean, modern two story Tiki Lodge, gave a good night's rest. Facilities were fine, kitchen , lounges, balcony, bathroom, bedroom clean. Free tea and coffee in the TV room available 24 hours. ( bathroom was a bit chilly!)
Staff were most helpful, and easy to talk with.
Basic breakfast FREE, cereals and toast is adequate, than you.
Is an easy stroll to the shops and the Lake Taupo foreshore.
Bunk room okay.

Room Tip: Bunk room 5 near bathroom.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BevanjP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tikiboss, Manager at Tiki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2017

Thanks for your great review Bevan, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is good to hear the free tea, coffee and breakfast are appreciated! We are lucky to be close enough to town and a very short walk to the lake front. Enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews