We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionally helpful and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2016

We arrived earlier than anticipated and were quite prepared to park the car and go exploring prior to check in time. Sonja greeted us and would have none of this and immediately arranged for our room to be available almost immediately. The accommodation was on two levels with the bedroom and whirlpool bath (complete with a supply of lavender oil) on the ground floor and a kitchenette and lounge, with a balcony on the upper level. very clean and well presented. Sonja recommended a range of things to do in the Taupo Lake area and as a result, and with her assistance went on a number of excursions. Briefly - Evening boat trip around the lake and to see the rock carvings - excellent. Trip on the Rapids Jet - terrifyingly exciting. Visit to Orakei Korako geothermal area - This is excellent and must be one of NZ's best kept secrets. Wish we had stayed longer. Thank you Sonja and Michael.
To demonstrate how kind Sonja is - we returned home to UK to find message on answerphone from Sonja telling us we had left some possessions in our room - she is arranging to send them to us in UK .

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roglyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (725)
There are newer reviews for The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 725 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2016

The service offered on check in was warm and friendly, with recommendations made for things to do in the area and places to eat. Our little room tucked away at the end of the row of rooms was clean and well presented with a 2 person spa right in the bedroom, thoughtfully accompanied by bubble bath foam.

Upstairs was a little kitchenette and TV, but the view of Lake Taupo was too distracting to watch TV! Loved the little jug of fresh milk being delivered to our room soon after arrival and access to complimentary papers in the morning. Incredible value, and personal service that was perfectly NZ.

Room Tip: Ask for the spa room by the lake
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rhiannon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2016

Lovely lady made us very welcome immediately. Couldn't have been more helpful.
Unit had everything we needed and more! We enjoyed a lovely relaxing jacuzzi with the lovely oils provided for us!
We were able to do our washing (all free of charge). And I enjoyed a lovely cup of coffee in the morning. (Cafetière and coffee provided)
All in all, we would thoroughly recommend cottage mews motel.
Thank you for anticipating travellers needs so well.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agincourtlodge W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2016

I needed a break for a night to chill out.
My room had a cute cottage feel with a little private courtyard.
The jacuzzi was superb and I was even walking distance from Lake Taupo
and could go swimming. It was so lovely and Sonja so welcoming
and friendly that I stayed another night.

Charming place that I will certainly return to... Siobhán Foster

Stayed: January 2016
Thank Siobhan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2016

As the backpackers were fully booked, we had to change plans for the night. After the night we said: quite a putty we can't stay longer in Taupo. Very friendly owner, nice and cosy cottage, excellent service, a few steps to the lake and a jacuzzi for after the swim.. what do you want more?! :)

Room Tip: You can't go wrong!
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nolvio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Cottage Mews during a 6 weeks tour of NZ and arrived quite late in the evening after a busy touring day. Sonja couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. We were shown to a very pleasant room with lounge/kitchen upstairs and a lovely spa bath downstairs with separate bathroom and an outside private courtyard. We bought some steaks and corn from nearby a Countdown and cooked them on the bbq supplied by the venue foc. We enjoyed a lovely stroll to the lake and a g&t sundowner watching the fab sunset. It was a very comfortable stay with all the home comforts but with the added bonus of being right by lake Taupo. It was a little way - 20 mins walk to main hub of Taupo but that wasn't a problem for us. The walk around the lake was so enjoyable anyway.
I would definitely return to Cottage Mews and wish Sonja all the best with her new endeavour.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank WelshrarebitCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2016

We stayed one night en route to Wellington, our hostess made sure we were comfortable and we appreciated all the little touches, good coffee, delicious biscuits and everything super clean. Gorgeous lavender bushes in the entrance-nice big bath too. The cooling fans were a much appreciated as well!

Went parasailing the next day on the lake before heading back-DO IT!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 179kit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.6 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,113 reviews
0.7 km away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.6 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
332 reviews
0.4 km away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
2.3 km away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo

Address: 311 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range: $119 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing