We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place on the lake”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Unfortunately on had one night here, it was absolutely lovely. The rom was actually a duplex. The master bedroom was upstairs complete with hit tub and downstair there was a sitting area, beds for the kids and a kitchen. We had a little patio area outside and a balcony upstairs though we were there in the Winter so didn't use them.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SRG0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, Owner at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

We are pleased to see that you found the room lovely, and thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 744 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2017

My family and I loved our accommodation at the Cottage Mews Motel. It is a lovely place on Lake Taupo. As I mentioned in the title, our accommodation was immaculately clean. From the bathroom to the kitchen to the living room to the bedroom. The TV was surprisingly new and updated. The free wifi was fast. The bathroom was well stocked with soaps and towels. All rooms had heaters and fans. If not for the wet and cold weather when we visited, we could have rented and used the bicycles and kayaks. We'd love to go back to Cottage Mews Motel on a more sunnier and warmer date.

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage or room nearest the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilocanotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, Owner at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Thank you for the post.
Sonja loves a clean place and is glad to hear that you appreciate that too.
We have just upgraded the WIFI to provide a good strong signal to all of the rooms, as we know how important it is, to upload stunning photos of your trip.
Please do return for a kayak in the Summer !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

Stay for one night with an army of 8 people. Very nice motel with ample parking, short walk distance to the lake. Nice, tidy, clean and well looked after property. The hosts were AMAZING, gave good advices for surrounding Taupo. Have had a genuinely great stay, wished stay a bit longer. Highly recommended accomodation to stay in Taupo.

Room Tip: Book earlier !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tomrubi888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

We loved our room on the lake end. It was quirky, warm, comfortable and very clean on what was a cold a wet few days outside. The owners were very friendly, helpful and welcoming and we loved the spa bubble soak! There is also free use of the laundry.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, Owner at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Thank you for the report, Anthony. It good to have a warm spa after being out and about in the cold, but, that is what we expect in winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

A cosy and very comfy townhouse unit with views over the lake. Close to everything very peaceful and private. Rooms really clean and a lovely two person spa is an amazing bonus.Nice bed but really enjoyed the upstairs space (lounge and kitchen). Felt like home

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bede R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, Owner at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

It's wonderful that you enjoyed the Lake End Cottage, it is a cosy apartment,
Thank you for taking the time to write.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017

Stayed for 2 nights, wished it could have been longer, great spotless room, great house keeping beautiful location ,and the friendliest service we encountered .
The room had everything for a comfortable stay, that included tea coffee biscuits and fresh milk, TVs ,and heaters both up and down stairs, and let's not forget the spa.
Sonja the place is a credit to you.
frank b

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, Owner at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Thank you for the lovely report, I'm glad to hear that your stay was comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights here and enjoyed our stay very much. The owner made us welcome from the beginning. We had the Nook, the smallest of the rooms in a corner, but it was well arranged and the bed brand new. Very comfy and the whole room very charming and super clean. You even have a little private patio for yourself. It's close to the lake and you can grab a kayak and go paddling or walk into town on this beautiful walkway along the lake. The Cottage Mews is a bit outside of the centre but in 5min by car you're there. You can use the washing machine for free if you need, too. We would stay here again.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ikat58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.6 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.6 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 68 in Taupo
2,256 reviews
0.7 km away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#3 of 68 in Taupo
413 reviews
0.4 km away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0 km away
Cascades Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo

Address: 311 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range: $127 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing