We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently GOOD”
Review of Good Local

Good Local
Ranked #32 of 428 Restaurants in Tauranga
Price range: US$10 - US$24
Description: The mission of the team at “Good Local” above all else, is to ensure our customers…YOU! are provided excellent service, quality food & an experience worthy of your time and effort. Welcome to YOUR “GOOD LOCAL” at Pyes Pa
Restaurant details
Description: The mission of the team at “Good Local” above all else, is to ensure our customers…YOU! are provided excellent service, quality food & an experience worthy of your time and effort. Welcome to YOUR “GOOD LOCAL” at Pyes Pa
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Since this new bar has opened we have enjoyed numerous meals here. The pork belly especially is to die for. The service is great with attentive staff. We wish them every success

Thank RoddersKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Owner at Good Local, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2018

Hey RoddersKaren,
Thanks for the great review and kind wishes! We are pleased to hear you enjoy the pork belly - it has certainly been proving as a popular main. Many thanks, Mark and Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 64 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2018

Thought we would try out this (somewhat) new place in Pyes Pa. Overall we had a really nice lunch sitting outside on a warm autumn day.

Firstly the service was great. Must commend the waitresses for being very attentive and friendly.
As for food my wife had a chicken salad which she said was very nice.
I had a philly cheese steak which unfortunately isn't a real philly cheese steak. Yes, it was a nice cheesy open steak sandwich, but be warned if are expecting the genuine thing. Thought it was a bit pricy at $19 as it just came on its own (no sides).

Must mention they had plenty of tv screens - if you fancy a beer to watch the game at your 'local' I'm sure you can't go wrong.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Spency83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

Service was fine, meal was rather disappointing- the steak was not cooked properly and was thicker in the middle and undercooked (medium rare) On asking how meals were they offered to recook.

Will give a second go as friendly service

Thank 107Diningout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Owner at Good Local, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2018

Hi 107Diningout,

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We did our best to remedy the situation for you at the time of your visit by offering to recook it for you, which you turned-down. It saddens us that we have still received an average review despite this. Hopefully you have been for another visit and we have managed to redeem ourselves for you.
Cheers, Mark and Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed a lovely evening with friends and family. Meal and service were excellent. Steaks were great and the donuts and cheese cake to die for.
Well done Mark and team will certainly be back again
So handy for us

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Owner at Good Local, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2018

Hi there,
What an amazing review - thank you! I'd have to agree the desserts are pretty amazing. See you again soon, Mark and Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2018 via mobile

Was able to secure a last minute table on a Sunday night and found staff to be very accommodating. Restaurant was very busy so there was a little wait for meals. However there was lots going on, TVs , people chatting, being able to see the cooks in the kitchen.
The meal was quite nice and the staff were helpful and friendly.

Thank Vinoeaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Owner at Good Local, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2018

Hi Vinoeaves,
Thanks for taking the time to review us. I am sorry you appear to have had an 'average' night based on your review, despite the food being nice and staff attentive. We do recommend bookings if you are wishing to dine, as weekends can be quite busy and we struggle to fit everyone in. Hopefully you will give us another go so we can redeem ourselves and turn your 3 star review into a 5-er.
Cheers, Mark and Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Good Local also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Good Local? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing