We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweeet!”
Review of City Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
City Suites
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Booked this motel because of the price and locality. Arrived to pleasant, friendly and helpful staff. Liked the under ground packing and so we just enjoyed the little walk to the city centre.
Our room was spacious with a sunny aspect balcony. Lovely and warm for winter months but the airconditioning soon cooled us down! The kitchen has everything you need and looking at the breakfast menu is reasonably priced. The kingsize bed is comfy and the unit is spotless.
Many thanks.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ngaire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2012

I'm a Hotelier and had to travel to Tauranga for surgery, I chose City suites because of it's central location and it's reasonable pricing, and boy what a great place to recuperate! The rooms are well equipped with lovely ktichens, spa baths and a cute little deck with french doors out on to it. It was really nice to come home from the clinic and have the sun streaming into my room. Everything you could need, DVD player, kitchenette, lots of space, very quiet, aircon, and sublime service from Shirley, Thanks very much!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike and Annema... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotarm, Manager at City Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

It was lovely having you stay with us, and we are pleased your recovery went well. It was a pleasure for us to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We look forward to your returning again for a visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

It is important to remember that this is not a hotel. This is for all intents and purposes a motel. But WHAT a motel.

The only fault I can find with City Suites is that some of the capreting in the passages looks to have been ruined with spills of some sort. And if this is the only problem, then honestly this is a wonderful little jewel in Tauranga's crown.

The bed is large and comfortable. Rooms have high speed internet, and all the other amenities one would expect. The rooms are clean and airconditioned, which counts for a lot in the hot sticky summers.

The one thing however that overwhelmed me when staying here was the superb service. I was blown away by the staff's eagerness to please and very high level of service ethic.

The motel is also very well located, being only a 5 minute walk to the waterfront and a wide range of retuarants and bars.

The option to have a freshly cooked breakfast delivered to your room in the morning saves a lot of time and effort when travelling for business. The price for this service is also very reasonable when compared to other options.

I will be back, again, and again, and again!

Room Tip: Upstairs and towards the back of the hotel are best from a noise perspective. Although once the afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotarm, Manager at City Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to many more return visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I have recently run a 5 day training course at the City Suites that went extremely smoothly and received excellent feedback on the venue from the students.

Booking was made extremely easy by the staff and the catering provided was very good, with a lot of flexibility about what is provided.

The training room itself is well appointed with an overhead data projector and screen supplied in the price. The only minor problem for the course I ran was the fact that the white board is on a side wall. This was really only a problem because we had 17 students, which in a traditional classroom layout is pretty much capacity. The staff did also offer to provide a smaller white board on an easel.

The separate room used for breaks and lunch enabled us to to get out of the classroom and the small balcony was also well used and allowed us to get some fresh air.

The chairs are comfortable and the air conditioning kept the room at a good temperature, although it was slightly on the noisy side.

All in all this is one of the best venues I've used for training and I will be using it again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotarm, Manager at City Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

Thank you for choosing City Suites to host your training. We are very pleased we could be of service to you. Thank you for taking the time to tell others of your experience with us, and we would be more than happy to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

As a young adult visiting Tauranga, location, facilities and entertainment are very important. We found that City Suites had it all, our room was very comfortable and spacious. Cooking facilities & utensils, tv & dvd player and airconditioning were all put to good use and made the room and stay great. It was refreshing that they even had a nice little pool to cool off in. The staff were welcoming and inviting, from the staff at the front desk to the cleaners, everyone was very helpful and lovely to talk too. The huge comfortable bed was exactly what we needed after our night out on the town and as for location, its far away enough to feel like your not in the noisy city center but yet only a 5 minute walk. There is no need for a car as everything is close by in Tauranga township even the bus stop to cheaply take you to the mount or bayfair. Overall we enjoyed and loved our stay and would gladly stay at city suites again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morgan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We booked the honeymoon suite for the night of our wedding, very dissappointed... No Minibar as stated...No welcome baskets, no chocolates on the pillows, room was not cleaned as you would expect, as for being quiet well the room is right on the front main road, so when a truck goes past, the whole room rumbles..
Breakky must be orderd the night before otherwise you dont get it!!!!!!!! what about the people that arrive late or that get married... GO HUNGRY..

Sadly a bad stay, and one i will not be repeating, at reception they didnt even ask as about our stay or how things where...and then even charged us $1.80 for ph calls..

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

i felt very welcomed and was treated extreamly well, great service and a big smile and will point you in the right direction for all your needs

Room Tip: if there is room they will accomidate you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lee v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.6 km away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
1,138 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#23 of 57 in Tauranga
318 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
333 reviews
0.2 km away
Quest on Durham
Quest on Durham
#18 of 57 in Tauranga
136 reviews
1 km away
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Suites

Address: 32 Cameron Road, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand (Formerly Puriri Park Boutique Hotel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Price Range: $110 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — City Suites 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Suites is Tauranga's newest accommodation option, right in the heart of the city. With only a 5 minute walk to the CBD, or a 10 minute drive to the beaches of Mount Maunganui, City Suites has all you could want, whether you are traveling for business or fancy a weekend away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your City Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing