We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
69
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful hosts lovely view karla john lavender bnb privacy luxury
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 70 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2017

This is a little bit of paradise. If you want to feel pampered and cared for in quiet, restful surroundings you will love it here. Karla and John are truly the most wonderful hosts. They are gracious, warm, and welcoming while, at the same time, maintaining a professional manner. Their home is tastefully decorated, the view spectacular, the beds and linens lush and comfortable, and the food is delicious with exquisite presentation, all made with fresh locally sourced ingredients. We definitely could have stayed much longer. It is a very special place. If/when we visit New Zealand again we would definitely head back to a Tauranga just to stay at their lodge.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MaryS8738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 24, 2017

What an amazing find. We were so lucky to be able to stay here during our recent trip to New Zealand. John and Karla were so hospitable; welcoming and only too pleased to help. Very comfortable accommodation and delicious food. We enjoyed a delightful fresh breakfast each morning and a delicious meal on one evening. Karla went out of her way to help with special dietary needs. Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue190726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2017

We had a couple of nights at Tauranga Lodge and we could have stayed longer. Karla and John are very warm and welcoming. They pay attention to detail and made our stay so relaxing.

Our room was very comfortable and decorated to a high standard. Breakfast was a feast with fresh fruit salad, home made muesli and a great choice of cooked food too. We had dinner there one night and looking around the table everyone enjoyed their meal. Karla and John use New Zealand produce as much as they can and love to support the local suppliers.

The hot tub was a treat and the smell of lavender as we soaked in it looking over Mt Maunganui was amazing.

We would definitely recommend staying two nights or more if you can to benefit from all the lodge has to offer.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ElaineDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2017

A truly fabulous find.
Ok, It is a 9km drive from Tauranga and the road is steep and windy, but my goodness the views when you arrive at the lodge, take your breath away. The house and outdoor space (including hot tub) are absolutely fabulous and you are warmly invited to use them as your own. You will feel truly pampered staying here, a real indulgence. What can I add to the previous reviews ................. welcome to paradise!!!!!

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PamS1921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaE10, Owner at Tauranga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2017


We are so lucky to live and work in such a special part of New Zealand.
There is nothing more enjoyable for John and I than to share our paradise with guests such as you two.
Being only 45 minutes to Rotorua and Hobbiton and an 1 hr 20 to Whakatane makes it great to be able to have adventures every day not far from the lodge, as you did while you stayed with us.

Cheers for now,

Karla and John



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2017

If you don't want to be treated like a king & queen, then i would suggest you look somewhere else to stay! As soon as we arrived, Karla & john were there to greet us & instantly made us feel welcome, even though we had arrived a little earlier than expected. I would definitely recommend to have at least one evening dinner at the lodge as it was both delicious and the views to die for! Did i forget to mention the Xmas decorations were fab! Also, if you have the chance.....have karla organize a heli trip, you will not be disappointed... the helicopter will pick you up from the lodge. Cool!! Would not hesitate in recommending this acommodation & will definitely be going back some day!

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ac1382015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaE10, Owner at Tauranga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2017

It was such a privilege to have King Andrew and Queen Helen grace us with their presences!
We are still waiting for the private jet to pick us up. (:
It was really super that you both were able to enjoy a like Kiwi Christmas at the lodge.
You really did fit the part off royalty, when you flew out to White Island in the Helicopter
Look forward to seeing you guys back again soon.

Karla and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews