We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”
Review of Quest on Durham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quest on Durham
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2017

We only had one night here in a one bedroom apartment. It was a very large room with the bedroom separated from the living area by sets of sliding doors. The apartment was on the ground floor so not much of a view.

It was very well fitted out with a full size oven and fridge in the kitchen area. There was also a washing machine and dryer tucked away behind doors.

There was a medium size TV with an entertainment unit. The bed was king size and a little on the firm side. The bathroom was a good size with a step up into a bath/shower arrangement.

The unit was very clean but the lighting was very poor making reading quite difficult. The reception staff were pleasant and helpful. Parking was in a sub basement which was difficult to get to.

The Quest building is only a couple of blocks from The Esplanade where all the eating places are. All in all good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank phital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quest T, Manager at Quest on Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate all feedback as good or bad it helps us maintain and improve our standards. We look forward to having yoiu stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2017

We were off to see Pink Floyd experience at the baycourt thetre in Tauranga. As my husband is not allowed to drive at the moment we had to find something close to the venue. The Quest was a very short walking distance from the theatre and very close to the Strand for eating. The rooms were very spacious with everything you need. The balcony which was a shared balcony gave nice views out to the water. Very clean and quiet. My only negative was as being a smoker I was not allowed to smoke on the balcony and had to go outside away from the property. I am not moaning as I do respect non smokers and I am not a heavy smoker but maybe it needs to be advertised for those people out there who can not do without a ciggie. very nice stay.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jothompson65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quest T, Manager at Quest on Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Thank you for taking time to post a review. We appreciate all comments. The smoking issue is one that is difficult to keep everyone fully informed about. Along with the Body Corporate requirement the whole building is now smoke free. We will review all our marketing material to see it is shown clearly as totally non smoking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Beautiful clean place. Great facilities and very friendly welcoming hosts. A great place to stop over in Tauranga. Highly recommended for anyone to stay and will come back on another trip. Really close to town , and everything is in walking distance. Thanks

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Psarj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quest T, Manager at Quest on Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

Thank you Psarj for taking the time to post a review. While we appreciate all reviews positive and negative we love positive reviews. From negative reviews we learn from positive reviews we are motivated. Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Lovely, modern, clean, spacious surroundings, very well-maintained property. Full kitchenette with modern mod-cons but we ate out. Close to everything. Loads of restaurants to choose from. Great parking in underground carpark . I have gait/walking challenges (stroke); accom. has to be convenient to shopping and/or sights. Room – comfortable and well-appointed, everything worked well, spacious, clean, bright. Staff were friendly, helpful, efficient - excellent. A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jacquitohc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quest T, Manager at Quest on Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

Hi Jacqui thanks for taking the time to review we appreciate it and hope to see you back again soon. Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

Relatively spacious apartment for our family of four. There were 2 separate bedrooms, a large bathroom, an adequately stocked kitchen but surprisingly a very small living/dining area. There was also an outdoor patio area but we didn't use it. The apartment was on the ground floor so there weren't any views but really, we weren't there for the views, just for a good place to stay for the night.

My only grouse was that the sole aircon unit was located in the living/dining nook, so when we sat at the dining table, we kept getting blasted by the aircon, no matter where our sitting position was. Meanwhile, the second bedroom was located significantly away from the main area so I wasn't sure how good the ventilation was there, we kept all doors open so that the air would hopefully circulate enough.

But other than that, a great place to stay. They provide a washing machine/dryer in the huge bathroom, the apartment was in a generally good condition and well stocked with what you would need for a good night's stay. Parking is chargeable but when my husband had trouble parking our large SUV in the indoor parking lot, the gentleman at the reception kindly refunded us the fee and advised us to park just across the road, which was free until the following morning. They also provided a trolley for us to move our mountain of belongings into the apartment, which was very convenient. The gentleman at the reception was also very friendly and polite, it was great chatting with him and he really made us feel at home.

A short walk down the slope is The Strand where you can find lots of restaurants and cafes. Very convenient.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChiaSinSin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quest T, Manager at Quest on Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

Hi Chia SInSin Thank you for the feedback we do appreciate it. Unfortunately we cannot do much about the proportions of the rooms but hope perhaps you come back and try another room. We do have some with harbour views. Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

Quest Tauranga is a nice place to stay, rooms are above average size and having a kitchen in the unit is great to do your own thing for meals even if it is only for breakfast.

The hotel room are located on the lower levels of the tower so no views but at the same time are nice and quiet and good to have a deck you can sit on to get some fresh air.

The location of the hotel is about a 5 minute walk to a large number of restaurants in Tauranga’s main restaurant location, parking is in the basement so nice and secure.

Overall nice place to stay especially if you don’t like the idea of a small hotel room.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NZer_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quest T, Manager at Quest on Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Thank you for your recent review. We do appreciate people taking the time. Whether good or not so good we do take note of them all and use the comments to ensure standards are maintained and we are meeting as many peoples needs as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

Exceeded expectations, customer service was great, bed good, full kitchen, washing machine, dryer, dishwasher, spa bath, views stayed with husband, toddler and baby. Cot provided at $10 a night and parking $13 a night which is in a locked underbuilding car park. Room was very tidy and very clean. Tv had so many channels and kept my kids happy with I think 4 different cartoon channels. Was very happy with our stay here... only thing is it was st Patrick's day so was a little noisey at night but still managed to sleep fine. In great location and close food and shops

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank 31countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quest T, Manager at Quest on Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

HI thanks for your recent review of your stay at Quest on Durham. We appreciate your thorough comments and hope we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.8 km away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
1,157 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
551 reviews
0.2 km away
City Suites
City Suites
#8 of 57 in Tauranga
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#31 of 57 in Tauranga
326 reviews
2.8 km away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
339 reviews
0.8 km away
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Durham

Address: 6 Durham Street, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand (Formerly Quest Tauranga)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Price Range: $157 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Tauranga Serviced Apartments are located in the heart of Tauranga's exceptional shopping, dining and nightlife. Explore the fantastic boutique stores, cafes, restaurants and bars that line the surrounding streets. Quest Tauranga offers a mix of 29 studio, one, two and three bedroom self-contained serviced apartments with comfortable and modern furnishings and all the great services and amenities Quest is known for. Each apartment features a spacious living area, full kitchen, deluxe spa bath (except our two fully enabled wheel chair accessible apartments), comfortable king size beds, and wifi or broadband internet access. Whether you are in the Bay Of Plenty for business or leisure, Quest Tauranga invites you to enjoy the finest quality Tauranga accommodation in a perfect location and service of the highest standard. Whether you are looking for accommodation for One Night, One Week, One Month ; Quest Tauranga offers a unique "Home Away from Home" experience. Quest Tauranga's reception hours are 7.30Am to 7pm Monday-Friday and 8am to 4pm Weekends and public holidays. Guest may still check in after these times using our after hours check in service and call centre. Instructions for this can be found outside reception doors. Onsite secure car parking is available at an additional cost; however spaces are limited so please book in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quest on Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing