We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
50
24
3
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
24
3
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wellington hospital countdown supermarket across the road spa bath stayed here great hosts great location comfortable beds kitchen facilities off street parking city centre within walking distance handy location a great place to stay two nights newton motel
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 84 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2017

Had to get off the cruise ship with my very ill uncle, cruise agent recommended Southgate Motor inn. Well, Natalie & David were amazing! They were so helpful & friendly. Very nice rooms, very comfortable & extremely reasonable rates !
Highly recommended. I will certainly go back then again. Nelson. Reynolds.

Room tip: Studio rooms very spacious
Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank jexcostello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2017

I was in Wellington needing surgery and staying at the Southgate Motor Inn made perfect sense.

The room was perfect, very well maintained, and had one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in.

Great customer service as I left an item in the room and the management rang to let me know that they had found it.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DannyG2462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2017 via mobile

We stayed one night when we traveled down for mu daughters 21st. Rooms are very spacious, good location and rooms are very quiet.
Lots of options for food etc within walking distance and just a $10-$12 Uber ride from Lambton Quay.
We found it much more affordable staying here than in the CBD with no minimum nights required over the busy WOW weekend.
Rooms are clean, very comfy beds and we wouldn't hesitate to stay again.
Friendly welcoming hosts.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Antarisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2017 via mobile

We (2 adults, 2 teenagers) are staying here for two nights while travelling NZ from Australia.

Our 2 bedroom apartment is spacious and clean, as is the bathroom, which includes a spa bath. Kitchen facilities allow for self-catering, and laundry facilities are available to use for only $5 (we have clean clothes again!). Wifi is also provided (great for the teenagers).

Located opposite Wellington Hospital and close to shops and public transport, Southgate has been ideal for us. While we have a rental car, we haven't used it since we arrived as Supermarkets are within walking distance as is the bus stop. We caught the bus into the main part of the city today for $22 return (for the 4 of us - much cheaper than NSW public transport).

I would recommend Southgate as a great place to stay

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Nicky_BMNTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2017

Stay here while having to work over the road at Hospital. Was allocated a nice unit with twin bedrooms. Unit was large with a Spa bath and reasonably modern.

No Air Con - heating was supplied by a fan heater. Flat screen TV smallish.

Over all a nice stay

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebcat14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews