We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of ibis Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Wellington
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Pleasant experience from check in to check out. Upper floors quiet for rest and sleep. Located next to shops, making it hard to stay indoors. Cleanliness is a priority and meets the required standards. Personnel approachable and helpful. Welcoming by one's name on the flat screen TV is personalized and unique.

Room Tip: Upper rooms quieter and thus visitor friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nyameka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 2,225 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2017

Stayed one night. Got a great deal including breakfast. Check in was easy and friendly with the room clean, spacious and reasonably quiet considering the location in the middle of town. The included buffet breakfast was very good. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynneandcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us lynneandcarl, We hope you will be back again

Regards
Jade Stunden
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

The Ibis in Featherston St is the perfect location for a visit to the capital city, An easy bus ride from the airport, $9.00 for adults, free for gold card holders, make sure you ask. Close to pubs, cafes, shops, the cable car, buses, and a short walk to Te Papa. You can't go past this hotel. Spacious rooms, great staff and the dinner was pretty tasty. My only comment which reflects on the score is the lack of gluten free/dairy free products and knowledge by the chef who told me I could have the quiche which was just negligent. A big thank you to Manaia for her brilliant customer service and help at breakfast. A big thumbs down on the breakfast for someone like myself, but thumbs up for everything else.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JudiRainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Judirainbow,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I was sorry to read about the lack of gluten free/dairy free options and since your stay we have amended the way we display these items and train our staff to explain them. Manaia will be so excited to see she has been mentioned by you so I thank you for this as well.

Regards
Jade Stunden
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Picked this accomodation up through Trip Advisor.
Good competitive price so was a little concerned what I would get. I needn't have worried - The Ibis Wellington is well located, great friendly and courteous staff, rooms are tidy and well presented - internet complimentary - reasonable speed. Had dinner in the restraurant - wasn't disappointed - yes will definitely return !!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

So pleased you had a great stay Phil, glad to know you will be back!
Thanks for the review

Regards
Jade Stunden
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Lovely and quiet and pretty much in the centre of town.
Room was perfect with two double? beds. Good bathroom. TV I struggled to get to work but got there eventually. Did not use the in house restaurant as we were on a tight budget. There is a countdown close by. Short walking distance to the waterfront restaurants or 15 mins down to Manners Street

Room Tip: If you are booking on line and you need two singles or a double and a single make a comment. Staff a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hematite007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thanks for the review hematite007. We hope you will join us again one day!

Regards
Jade Stunden
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

We had a night in town with the 6 year old granddaughter. Great location, easy to walk everywhere.

Room was clean and tidy, although the shower was very cramped.
Service on arrival was fantastic.

Breakfast was awesome great variety, fresh and tasty. Lots of choice.

Would we stay again?
Yep sure would. Planning on going there soon.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winoNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

I was so pleased to read your review winoNewZealand, thanks for leaving it for others to read when deciding whether or not to book
We appreciate the feedback and can't wait to welcome you back

Regards
Jade Stunden
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for the one night following a works visit. It's in a great spot - really central and walking distance from all the main attractions. It's clean, has a good bar and restaurant attached and is a nice option for a short stay in the city.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
Thank 777pj777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thanks for the review 777pj777, so glad you enjoyed your stay!

Regards
Jade Stunden
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 km away
InterContinental Wellington
1.3 km away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.2 km away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#11 of 47 in Wellington
2,066 reviews
0.4 km away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 47 in Wellington
1,929 reviews
0.2 km away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 47 in Wellington
2,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Wellington

Address: 153 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Wellington
#16 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $102 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ibis Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Wellington is in the heart of the city near the bustle of Lambton Quay and walking distance to Parliament, TSB Bank Arena, Westpac Stadium and the waterfront. A Qualmark rated 3.5 star hotel with 200 contemporary guest rooms; Ibis Wellington's quality has been recognised with international ISO 9001 and its environmental commitment with ISO 14001. Vivant! Restaurant and Bar is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It's the perfect casual dining venue. Limited secure parking is available at the hotel for guests. Ibis Wellington is part of AccorHotels New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing