We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,405)
Filter reviews
2,405 results
Traveller rating
547
1,149
538
123
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
547
1,149
538
123
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location featherston street central location cable car two double beds free wifi te papa tsb arena railway station airport bus buffet breakfast would stay again easy walk short stay new zealand reception staff stayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
2,147 - 2,152 of 2,405 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Chose this hotel based on previous reviews on here and booked for 4 nights.
We also like that kids-under-12 eat breakfast for free with a paying adult ($21 full, $16 continental) here.
Requested an upper floor and stayed on the 8th floor.
Must be the best location in Wellington!! 1 minute walk to the airport flyer busstop, cable car, queens wharf, the maritime museum, Plimmer steps, many shops, restaurants and cafes. Railway station and Te Papa a 5-10 minute walk away in either direction.
Check-in/out was a breeze, we were able to store our bags for the day with an efficient baggage labelling system.
Housekeeping was excellent, and there are $2 washing machines and dryers located on the 1st and 9th floors available for guests to use.
The room was bathroom were excellent.
The breakfast is lovely - cereals, yoghurt, fruits, toast/spreads, a variety of juices, tea,and coffee, eggs, tomatoes, baked beans, bacon, sausages, croissants and even a waffle making station (very poplular!).
We had dinner one night in the restaurant and the food was excellent. I highly recommend the soup of the day - Cauliflower and blue cheese, it was divine!
Theres also a 24-hr snack menu that we didn't make use of.

NB. Whilst eating breakfast, we noticed parking wardens chalking cars from 8am, just a note to other travellers.

All-in-all, a fantastic stsy - we highly recommend to others, and we'd definitely be back again!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChchGirl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2011

Dear ChchGirl34,

I am glad that you have found the other reviews useful and that you found this hotel to be so centrally located. I am also pleased that you have enjoyed the service provided by me team and that you were able to experience a fantastic meal in Vivant! restaurant, I will be personally passing your comments onto the Food and Beverage team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2011

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 29, 2010

We arrived in Wellington by air from Auckland in late afternoon and were booked on the 8.30 a.m. Interislander ferry the next morning so this was a very short visit to Wellington and the Ibis was just right for this brief overnight stay with no car. It was very near the Cable Car stop on the airport bus route. Only a minute's walk in one direction from the Cable Car, and just as near to the waterfront restaurants in the other direction. A quick and easy taxi ride to the ferry. Checkin and checkout were speedy and efficient. The room looked like it had been recently refurbished. It was spacious, spotless and comfortable with a great shower room. It wasn't facing the road so there was no traffic noise at all, a real bonus for a city location. We ate on the waterfront in the evening and had breakfast on the ferry the next morning so can't comment on the restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemary07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2011

Dear Rosemary07,

Thank your for your comments regarding your recent stay, I am please that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and we look forward to you returning and spending a bit more time in lovely Wellington!

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 28, 2010

real value for money, quite luxurious. Reception staff friendly. for tourists who drive, do not that you have to pay NZD25 for overnight parking, or on the road parking for about NZD4 an hour. However, parking between 6 pm and 8 am is free on the road.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GElleH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2011

Dear GElleH,

Thank you for your fantastic comments, I am glad that you found the hotel to be value for money and you are correct that parking is free on the street however please make sure that you check the signs as some areas are a clearway from 7am. When guests check in, feel free to ask one of my reception team for a parking map which clearly states all areas that are available to park.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2010

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews