We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs?”
Review of ibis Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Wellington
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Suspected case of bed bugs. Management changed our room immediately and said it was most likely an allergic reaction to the sheets, which I doubt. Strange chemical smell in hallway. Would stay closer to Cuba St next time.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twotaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2011

Dear twotaurus,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us especially with your concern about a reaction to something in your room, I am aware of your complaint and I can assure you that we take any claims like this seriously. I would like to guarantee you and any customers that we employ procedures both internally and externally at the hotel which includes staff training and random room inspections of all rooms at least twice a year which included an inspection of your room only the week before resulting in no evidence found. Should you wish to discuss further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,977 - 1,983 of 2,224 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
auckland
1
Reviewed 10 January 2011

for a hotel with such reasonable rates, this hotel had great service! from the reception staff through to the cleaners, definately a good experience.
Thanks

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2011

Dear Accorhotels traveler,

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us especially the service provided by my staff and I will personally pass your comments onto the whole team.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Room the size of a large cupboard,grotty shower, lackluster breakfast with the lowest of the low grade meat and unhelpful managerial staff made this the worst accommodation experience during our trip.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aquaribbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2011

Dear aquaribbon,

Thank you for your comments regarding the size of the room that you were accommodated in, next time if you choose to stay with us, do not hesitate to ask for one of our rooms with a king bed as these are a larger room. I am disappointed to read your comments regarding breakfast and thank you for the photo of the bacon. This is not our usual standard and I have passed on your comments to my Head Chef to follow up with his supplier and I apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We were not advised there were no parking facilities, however, in fairness we did not ask, we assumed. Staff were very unhelpful and uncaring re our predicament of where to park our car. There were hairclips on the carpet when we arrived, and they were still there when we left. Our bathroom mirror was dirty, and was not cleaned at all, the handbasin was definitely not cleaned, and we suspect neither the toilet. we had to use our own soap as stock was not refreshed

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickiandRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2011

Dear Accorhotels.com traveller,

I am sorry there was an issue with parking at the hotel, we do state on the website that parking must be pre-booked and I aplologise for any inconvenience caused. The standard of the room that you have been checked into is not acceptable and I would like to personally follow this up. Can you please contact me directly at the hotel so that I can formally follow up with the staff member concerned.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Sydney
1
Reviewed 6 January 2011

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Even though we paid for room and breakfast online (and have a confirmation email stating we paid for breakfast) on arriving at breakfast we were told that we had not in fact been charged for breakfast and had to pay separately. While the staff eventually waived the cost the after taste of having to argue for your breakfast spoiled the stay at the hotel. The staff member also refusing to agree that (if we had not been charged) then the email I received was incorrect added to fustration. Ibis needs to sort out email confirmation system and stop sending incorrect emails.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustAnotherRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2011

Dear Accorhotels.com traveller,

The email confirmation does state that breakfast has been charged however when the email comes through to our reservation team, only the room amount shows up on the document. There is a procedure that we have in place to ensure that your card is charged correctly and has not been followed in this instance and I apologise for any inconvenience this caused.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
AUCKLAND
1
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 km away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 km away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.2 km away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#11 of 47 in Wellington
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.4 km away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#8 of 47 in Wellington
1,926 reviews
0.2 km away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 47 in Wellington
2,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Wellington

Address: 153 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Wellington
#16 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $102 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ibis Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Wellington is in the heart of the city near the bustle of Lambton Quay and walking distance to Parliament, TSB Bank Arena, Westpac Stadium and the waterfront. A Qualmark rated 3.5 star hotel with 200 contemporary guest rooms; Ibis Wellington's quality has been recognised with international ISO 9001 and its environmental commitment with ISO 14001. Vivant! Restaurant and Bar is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It's the perfect casual dining venue. Limited secure parking is available at the hotel for guests. Ibis Wellington is part of AccorHotels New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing