We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
13
20
16
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
20
16
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews war memorial off street parking stayed here great location self catering easy access bed was comfortable units cbd microwave receptionist proximity carpet
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 58 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2018 via mobile

Great to deal with in terms of booking and catering for the size of our group, excellent to deal with during our stay, clean, basic unit. Great location for where we needed to be. Parking was easy and pleased it was available (compared to having to book parks elsewhere). No complaints and definitely recommend. Thank you

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank SamanthaT2556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 25, 2018

This was a very nice hotel, clean and well kept. We booked it for two nights when leaving the North Island and one upon our return. Parking is at a premium, but with the help of the receptionist, we got squeezed in and then on our return, we got in earlier and had no problem getting a spot. They allowed us to leave our car in the lot in the morning of our departure so we could visit the nearby Great War Exhibition and War Memorial, also went down the hill to the TePapa Museum. Good location for walking around the town without being in the CBD. Traffic died down at night so noise was not a problem. Close to a varied number of places to eat, receptionist very helpful finding a place for us to eat.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZfan02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2018

Mia on reception was very helpful, stayed here December 2017. Needed some changes made to our room to accommodate our toddler for sleeping. We were upgraded to a bigger unit for a small cost. Unit was very roomy with comfortable bed and was quiet. Unit was clean, bathroom needs updating but is planned by new owner in the near future. Have stayed here before and will stay again. Central location.

Room Tip: Room on bottom floor in right hand corner quiet with private courtyard at the rear. Also cooler in the hot weather.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Crazyfornewzealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2018 via mobile

Located half way between cbd and newtown, was an easy walk to both. Next to Basin Reserve cricket ground and the war memorial, and easy access for motorway. Room was clean. Free parking and free wifi, and good rates. Busy traffic area but didnt affect our sleep.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BryanM2766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 31, 2017

We stayed at the Marksman Motor Inn and would recommend it to everyone we know. Very friendly service at the reception, a very clean room including fridge. 10 min. walk into the city. Great place for a great rate!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews