We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington
Nearby Hotels
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Astelia Apartment Hotel(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$97
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Hotel Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
ibis Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Gilmer Apartment Hotel(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
YHA Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$57
US$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Dwellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$54
US$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Cambridge Hotel(Wellington)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveller rating
95
146
97
59
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
146
97
59
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar next doorfree dinnerfree pancakesfree tea and coffeeprivate room with ensuitepancake mixown bathroomcommunal areasnoise from the streetlocation is greatmiddle of townenjoyed my staycouple of nightsstaff were friendly and helpfullaundry facilitiescentral locationte papa
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 430 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2017

Could not fault the service, staff were friendly. Room clean and tidy, bathroom really nice and clean. I could not take up the offer of the pancakes as I had to leave very early in the morning.My only groan/moan is the noise. Unbelievably noisy, it may have been where my room was situated but I was totally over the screaming shrieking females I could hear until 11.00pm. Woke 3 times in the night to loud banging and crashing. Yes, I realise this is a backpacker's and will in future book else where.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you need to sleep or have an early start.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hawkesbaygirl2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Hi, thank you for taking the time to write us a review we are glad to see you enjoyed your stay here and enjoyed our staff I can agree other guests being loud could be frustrating if brought to receptions attention we are more than happy to help as we do understand everyone needs sleep! we do hope to see you again.
Cheers Nancy - Hostel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2017 via mobile

Friendly, helpful staff, clean facilities and a positive vibe. No issues at all. It was all good.
Oh, and the location is great, too. Right in the heart of the greatest little capital city in the world!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Hi, thank you for taking the time to write us a review we are glad to see you enjoyed your stay here we do hope to see you again in the near future!
Cheers Nancy - Hostel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2017 via mobile

Service was pretty friendly and they serve a couple small snacks early morning and evening. Bathrooms are really clean. Wifi is $5 a day. The hostel is huge and rooms are cramped and hot. Beds are incredibly creaky and mattresses thin. I'd give it a much lower rating except that it seems it's the best Wellington has to offer in the $25 to $30 range. Whatever, the city is great so the hostel is what it should be - just a place to crash.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Hi, thank you for taking the time to write us a review we appreciate your feedback, We do have smaller dorms available for next time for example 4 share en suites, Our Wifi is $4 for 24 hours or $12 for a week. We are glad to see your enjoyed our two daily meals all guests are welcome to daily we do hope to see you again soon.
Cheers Nancy - Hostel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2017 via mobile

Has a good location and I loved the free breakfast/dinner! Wifi you have to pay for, but it's decently priced, or there are nearby locations to use wifi from. Bunk beds are a bit loud while shifting around.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank bookworm1149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review we are glad to see your enjoyed your two free meal we offer daily and we do hope to see you again in the near future.
Cheers
Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2017

What an awesome place. Clean, centrally located, great rooms, great facilities, cost effective, fantastic staff and a great bar next door

We stayed for the Bristish Lions trip and it was a fraction if the cost of other hotels. In fact most of the guests at the other hotels came here to use the facilities

We were 3 adults (50 years old) and 3 boys (17 years old). We had the top rooms with twin beds and Ensuite. awesome if you can afford the little extra

Room Tip: Hire the electric push bikes to see the city
Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank arharris65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review we are glad to see you enjoyed your stay here and we do hope to see you again in the future!
Cheers
Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews