We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has all you need”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Cross Serviced Apartments
Ranked #45 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed 14 October 2016

The rooms are not huge but for 2 of us there was ample room, double bed should be a queen but it was fresh sheets & firm, bathroom has all necessities & not being too big not lot to mess, kitchenette has all 2 people need. It you like to open windows then this could be a problem.

Room Tip: North facing gets all day sun & popular resaurant/bar below
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bombaydevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

My girl friend and I booked this apartment which was advertised as 1:5 bed serviced apartment. And technically, it is. One double bed shoved against the wall to create space, and one single bed in the other tiny room. The Tv is the size of a small pc monitor, the couch can barely fit two people..... just. No dishwasher or laundry facility in the room...... there is laundry on another floor for which you must pay more. The bathroom has a toilet and shower. The shower produces luke warm water at a very slow droplet rate. No shampoo or conditioner. So for $600 for two nights.... one can do better.
It is clean in the centre of the floor, don't look under the couch or the beds for the dust bunnies and lolly papers. And to top it off, take your rubbish to the bin on the floor above.... seriously?
Would I stay again? If I was desperate, maybe

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Katznkaye55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016

We wanted a reasonably-priced and easily accessible place to stay in during our one-week visit to Wellington. It also had to be within walking distance to our daughter's apartment and to other tourist attractions. Southern Cross Serviced Apartments more than met all our requirements. We had a delightful and very comfortable stay and would definitely book here the next time we visit our daughter.

Next door is Southern Cross Bar and Restaurant - do try it. We had brunch there and the food and services exceeded our expectations!

Room Tip: Our room (on the 5th floor) faced Cuba St. but the 'party noise' (usually on Fridays only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sxapts, Front Office Manager at Southern Cross Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with your room and our location. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Wellington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Stayed for 3 nights as tourists in Wellington. The apartment was adequate and achieved what we wanted, albeit somewhat impersonal (I did feel a bit like a student dorm style). We arrived late and the key was in the box as instructed so that was easy. I'd read a few reviews commenting on the noise from the bar below at night. If a quiet evening is important to you, then do not overlook this - it was REALLY loud. However, it stopped around 1am I think and was not bad at all on the mid-week nights. Free wifi was reliable and fast allowing multiple devices etc.
Location was good for cafes etc, a bit of a walk but totally manageable to the city / Te Papa / i-site etc, say 10 mins.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Roaming_Nicster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2016

Rooms clean and everything you need for short stay. Rooms freshly painted but as expected an old building a few blocks from te papa but short walk to Cuba mall. We were on 5 th floor and end of long corridor and the gap under entry door allowed other rooms cooking smells into our room which wasn't so good.
Greeted at reception was great and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bev E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016

Great location , close to many eating places in Vibrant Cuba St . Very close to basin reserve & War Memorial , good for short or long term stays .
Has all you need for a stay , pretty clean ,can be a bit noisy at times
Try to stay away from the east side

Room Tip: stay on the side away from the main street if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PUKEROOSTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2016

First time at this location, two streets from the action of Cuba St , close to Uni and only 12 mins from the airport. Comfortable clean rooms with reasonable but industrial views over Wellington city to the water.Only Queen bed but also a single for those restless sleepers.Good quality beds.No reception after business hours but easy to gain access with code system.Close to Westpac Stadium and for cricket fans ...Basin Reserve.

Room Tip: Top floor 7 gives access to roof terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MRGuiliani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 km away
Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments
1.5 km away
Quest on Johnston
Quest on Johnston
#33 of 47 in Wellington
177 reviews
1.6 km away
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
#19 of 47 in Wellington
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Grand Mercure Wellington
Grand Mercure Wellington
#18 of 47 in Wellington
127 reviews
0.1 km away
Quality Hotel Wellington
Quality Hotel Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
538 reviews
0.3 km away
Willis Wellington Hotel
Willis Wellington Hotel
#44 of 47 in Wellington
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Cross Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Cross Serviced Apartments

Address: Southern Cross Apartments 35 Abel Smith Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range: $101 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern Cross Serviced Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the southern fringe (Cuba Quarter) of the central city. Easy walking distance to the CBD, Courtenay Place, Te Papa, Lambton Quay and the waterfront (all within 2km). Studio, Twin studios or 2 bedroom apartments all apartments self-contained with kitchenette, ensuite, Sky TV, local phone, WiFi internet (fees apply) and security card access. Adjacent to restaurant and bar with plenty of cafes to choose from. Weekly rates available. All major credit cards accepted and EFTPOS. Came and enjoy all of the sites Wellington has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Southern Cross Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing