We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch visit”
Review of Kotare Cafe - CLOSED

Kotare Cafe
Restaurant details
Reviewed August 4, 2017 via mobile

Visited with number one daughter for lunch. She is very fussy due to food allergies and these guys were spot on for the order, asking the correct questions. Good food, done well, coffee excellent. Well done guys

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Katznkaye55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 30 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2017

A very sad state of affairs.................................I wonder if they were short staffed as drinks took an age to be served.Tables were left with dirty dishes as noone seemed to have time to clear them.People were having to ask where their coffees/teas were?????????The meals that appeared looked nice enough but I felt sorry for staff who were obviously struggling , both with supplying orders and producing them.We were offered several items we had not ordered as the whole system was not working and staff were overwhelmed.Customers were walking out or looking grumpy.The cabinet food was most unappealing visually.A sorry state of affairs all round.

Date of visit: July 2017
1  Thank sebby111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 17, 2017

It took 25 minutes for my sandwich to arrive and it was a VERY basic sandwich. And it was $14. There wasn't even a garnish on the plate. Staff was moderately friendly but flustered. If nothing else was open, I'd eat here, but won't readily go anytime soon--definitely prefer other options in the area.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank NZ_travelSTAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 28, 2017 via mobile

First off may I say the cafe is very nice and the staff are very friendly, no issues there.
The breakfast whilst visual appealing it tasted awful.
The eggs were poached and cooked to perfection the mushroom tasted like it was soaked in salt water over night.
The sausage tasted like a vegetarian sausage and didn't taste like it had an ounce of meat in it.
The bread just didn't taste right I can't put my finger on it.
I don't believe this is the cooks fault just the awful ingredients they are using.
As always the coffee is hit or miss luckily today it was nice, which is good so I can wash down this god awful breakfast.
10 out of 10 for staff and cafe.
0 out of ten for food and coffee.
Shame.

Date of visit: April 2017
3  Thank Mc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2017

We've been here on many occasions since opening, and are yet to be disappointed. Prices are mid-high, but nothing unusual, and certainly justified by the great food.
Recommend the Chicken Laksa Salad or Steak BLAT sandwich.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank SamA3392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kotare Cafe also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing