We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
230 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Didn't really have any idea of what to expect from this hotel. We booked a standard room at a good rate, almost went for a superior room but in the end we were very happy with the standard room.

The staff at reception were most helpful for my partner who had developed a blister from our walking around, one of them even had a dressing specifically for blisters. We enjoyed sitting near the reception area waiting for our wine tour, nice artworks around that area and in the room also.

Room was nice and big and very good condition. King bed. Sky Sports 1 and 2 which was great as this was the night that All Blacks played France and Warriors played Storm. Enough spare room in the fridge to fit in 3 bottles of local wine that we picked up.

Slightly outside of town centre, but really only a 10 minute leisurely walk or a 5 minute power walk.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glennomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    50
    34
    3
    6
See reviews for
18
70
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
1,015 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 615 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We booked and paid for two nights but had to move on the next day. They refused a refund for a nights accom or to move to return date so lost money. The reception was very rude and unheplful, was upsetting. Paper thin walls and no balcony.

Room Tip: Dont stay in Blenheim
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keepawake, Owner at Quality Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, 8 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.We are sorry that you did not like our Town,we would be happy to show you what Marlborough has to offer should you wish to return.
Our website advertises a fully flexible rate and a super saver rate that is non refundable.the flexible rate is able to be cancelled up to 24 hours before the day of stay. Unfortunately we are unable to refund a super saver room on the day of stay.
While our hotel does not have any rooms with balconies it does have rooms with access to our internal garden for our smoking guests,I am sorry that swapping your original room for one of the above did not meet with your expectations.
We take seriously the issue of customer service and I have spoken to the person on the front counter on the morning of your departure and she did tell me that she feels she could have delivered the message about a refund with better tact.We have since your review had further staff training and procedures on handling delicate matters which we feel will offer a better outcome to our valued guests.I would like to add that should any of our guests have any issues while staying at our hotel.I am always available to discuss any matter and only to happy to meet your needs if at all possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Friendly service and room was spacious and clean but there is a complete lack of soundproofing meaning it sounds like you are sharing your room with those in adjoining rooms . Breakfast is expensive and slow . The buffet only includes toast and ( cold) coffee and tea . All else is alacarte and overpriced $14.95 for poached egg

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed here after coming off the ferry in Picton. Had an awesome stay and the staff were helpful from our arrival. The room was a good size and we were walked there by managemnet which is more than can be said of other hotels!
Enjoyed the atmosphere of a rugby game there and sat at the bar and watched the game. Fantastic staff rapport.
On leaving, we discovered that I had left my passport behind. They had phoned ahead to where we said we were stayting next to try and track us down- they then phoned various I-sites, assuming that we would stop there for info. We phoned them hours later backtracking our steps and they were fantastic at reassuring us that the passport would be kept safe if that was the best option for us. We arrived and collected it today- two weeks later and the passport and jacket in which it was in, was removed from its secure place it had been kept and given back to us.
How many hotels would really do this??
Excellent and would definitely stay here any time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BriannTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We were a little disappointed with our stay right from the booking really. They took our money months before we got there. Said they would make it up to us and didn't. We didn't find them overally helpful. When you go to a hotel like that you would expect them to make you feel alittle bit special, but we were made to feel like we were more of an inconvenience. Sad as I would of thought they would want people to want to go back and recommend them to others!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank budsey23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomBlenheim, Owner at Quality Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your stay with us.We do have a policy of taking payment on non refundable bookings some time before the guests stay (our policy does state that payment will be charged on reservation).We recommend that guests who do not wish to have payment taken should reserve a refundable room for just a few dollars more,this gives them full flexibility to change their booking.
At the hotel we love meeting people and spoiling them maybe over a drink at the bar,however we also realize that we are not all social animals and not all feel comfortable with this.The night in question I myself was on duty as it was a very quite night I would have loved to talked with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

Booked superior room, upon arrival as it was on the main road (although well set-back), we did ask for a quiet room. We were placed in the back corner of the building. Room very large, very clean, bathroom great. We noted there was another road right outside our windows. After discussions with management we were told this would quieten down after dark, which it did. What were not told was, if there was a tour bus group booked in, they parked the coaches in this street, and you can guess where, right outside our room. They start up the engine before 7am to "warm" them up. If you stay here, go for a room in the centre of the building or one that is adjacent to the neighbouring property.
The sound-proofing between the rooms is not good, we could hear the bathroom activity, TV and phone conversations from the rooms on both sides of us.
We had two excellent dinners in the restaurant, worth trying.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackn2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomBlenheim, Owner at Quality Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Thank you for your feedback.we try to keep noise to an absolute minimum for our guests comfort, unfortunately the bus in question was not part of any group staying at the hotel as all buses have plenty of parking in our main car park.This bus was parked in the street for one week and we are not sure who it belonged to,thank fully it has now moved on.The room did have sound problem with the next room if the tv was up loud and I am pleased to say this has now been completely sound proofed.In fact it was your review that prompted this,so thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Great location for my business requirements. Enjoyed my dinner in the hotel restaurant (10/10) and the atmosphere in the house bar. Quiet and comfortable nights sleep.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronjoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.5 km away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#8 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
2.2 km away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
9.9 km away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#13 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.6 km away
Middle Park Motel
Middle Park Motel
#12 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Marlborough

Property: Quality Hotel Marlborough
Address: 20 Nelson St, Blenheim 7301, New Zealand (Formerly Copthorne Hotel Marlborough)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Marlborough 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Blenheim
Quality Hotel Marlborough Blenheim, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing