We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Merivale Manor(Christchurch)
US$112
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$90/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$127
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amross Court Motor Lodge(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ashford Motor Lodge(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Centre Motel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$80/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Athena Motel & Apartments(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Admiral Motel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$58
US$52
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
8
1
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
1
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriccarton mallwalking distancekitchenetteshowerbedcityrooms
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 10 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2018

We stayed at the Golden Star Motel near Westfield Riccarton. The King/twin studio room was tidy if a little dark being on the ground floor, although it did open to the backyard as well.

The room was quiet, the bed comfortable and I slept well. The complimentary wifi worked, even if it was a little patchy at times. Bear in mind it was not strong enough for video calls (I was working while on my trip so was still needing to be connected).

Complimentary tea and coffee were good, the bathroom clean and tidy and the shower pressure was fine.

Good place for a single night stay, if you are needing somewhere close to Westfield.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms can be a little dark.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Annika T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 23, 2018

On our month-long visit to New Zealand, we stayed three nights at the Golden Star Motel. It's in the Riccarton area of town, a bit away from the center, but that is more than compensated for by the large and comfortable room, nicely designed shower and very accommodating owners (I needed some boarding passes and schedules printed, which they gladly did for no charge). We also got excellent walking directions through the city from them. If we are ever lucky enough to come back to New Zealand, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GiantsLosers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2018

This place has a no refund policy. Not even NZ Law. Even if you cancel 3 months in advance they give no refunds. We got ripped Off. The booking.com website said we receive a full refund. Will not be staying and will be letting everyone know.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank BJRDMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angela s, Manager at Golden Star Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Dear Guest,
We are so sorry to reply you this late, we just saw your review.
Our Motel policy is any cancellation made within three days prior to check in date will be charged one night accommodation cost.
Unless you made non-refundable bookings on booking.com, then there will be no refund for you booking.
Could you provide me your booking reference number? I will find out for you. did you pay directly to Booking.com?
You can also talk to booking.com about your booking and find out if you booked non-refundable rate.
The booking.com non-refundable promotion rate is cheaper than normal room rate, this promotion is designed for those guests are sure about their travel plan, once the booking is confirmed, we are not able to refund them if they make cancellation or modification.

If you booked normal rate and outside of three days cancellation policy, we will definitely refund you.
PLease call us at anytime, we are happy to clarify this for you.


Best Regards
Golden Star Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 27, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights for business in November & will be my new regular place in Christchurch. Fantastic location with walking distance to Westfield. Great sized room and well layed out. Amazing shower and very comfortable bed. Quiet rooms

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank hidez_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2017 via mobile

This is for sure the best motel in town. We stayed two nights, the room is so modern and clean, the facilities are brand new. We really enjoyed our stay! Plus the owner provided the professional services that made us feel so warm and welcomed like a home. We 'd say we will definitely come back

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Qu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews