We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
150
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fay lindsay new zealand garden outlook other guests downstairs room b bs excellent hosts few minutes walk away ensuite bathroom next morning two nights last night yogurt lovely garden breakfast was delicious stay there again one night stay
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 157 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2017

Although our stay was only for 1 night we were made to feel very welcomed. Lindsay and Fay are great hosts. They joined us and the other 2 guests for breakfast and this gave us the opportunity to chat with them which was great....a. ice personal touch.
.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petiteone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2017

You can always be sure of your stay being a very personal experience when you choose to be guest with us, at 'Finlay Banks'. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in our home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 17, 2017

We stayed two nights here and Fay and Lindsay are great hosts. The room was beautifully appointed with comfortable bed, seating area and shiny bathroom. There is a lovely airy siting room to have a cup of coffee. Breakfast is a continental delight with lots of choice and if you get a chance do book an evening meal. We did and were very pleased - delicious lamb and vegetables then a super cheese board. Fay and Lindsay joined us and two other guests at dinner and it was great to meet and talk with local informative hosts and fellow guests. There are also restaurants just 4 minutes walk away and a bus stop to town if you don't want to park your car. I recommend this lovely B&B.

Room Tip: Downstairs room is lovely
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ValK866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2017

When guest's choose to stay for 2 or 3 nights and include the opportunity of an evening meal, when the time comes for them to leave it is like saying,"farewell to good friends'." It was our pleasure to share our home and your company. We enjoyed our many conversations around the table. Thank you for choosing to be a guest at 'Finlay Banks', enjoy the rest of the journey. We look forward to the possibility of meeting again at some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 7, 2017

Recently stayed 4 nights with Faye and Lindsay at Finlay Banks.

As many other reviewers have said they are excellent hosts to the extent that they make you feel you are staying in their own home rather than in a Bed and Breakfast establishment. Over the 4 day stay we had numerous chats with them both which gave us information about New Zealand, the city and the devastating effect of the 2010 and 2011 earthquakes.

The accommodation both in the bedroom and the living areas was excellent and the continental breakfasts were generous and of high quality. We took the dinner option one evening and the meal Faye cooked was first class.

Also worth mentioning were the welcome drink and snack we had with our hosts and 2 other guests and the customised directions which Lindsay provided for our day trip to the Banks peninsula.

If we are ever back in Christchurch Finlay Banks would be the only place we would consider staying.

Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank i_m_tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2017

We feel very humble when a guest choose's to honour us with such praise, thank you.
We thoroughly enjoy the opportunity of welcoming into our home, so many wonderful guests'. We say "the world comes to us" and from our experience, our guests' make the world a smaller and more interesting place. It was our privilege to be your host's and we are thrilled your enjoyed your stay at 'Finlay Banks'. We trust you will enjoy the rest of your journey through our country and look forward to a return visit at some time in the future. Take care and travel safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 5, 2017 via mobile

An excellent b&b. The decor and rooms are superb. The breakfast is excellent and leaves you fully satisfied. Fay and Lindsay are excellent hosts and very informative about Christchurch and it's recent history. You can leave the car behind and travel into the city by a 15 minute bus ride.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Morris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2017

We are so pleased you found everything to your satisfaction during your stay in our home,
it was our pleasure to share your company. We do hope the rest of your journey is going to plan and that you enjoy the rest of your travels in our wonderful country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 14, 2017

Our first night in NZ after flying across the world from the UK. Feeling slightly disorientated by being upside down we couldn't have asked for a better welcome from both Kay and Lindsay. After a relaxing cup of tea in the garden we were ready to explore Christchurch. The next morning we were delighted to find that our hosts would be joining us for breakfast (the first time this has ever happened to us) and it was a great introduction to their country. Bed, shower, food etc. all excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Popesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2017

I agree, tea has a wonderful way of putting everything right in the world. We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay in our home and are pleased that you found everything to your satisfaction. When possible we always enjoy joining our guests' for breakfast, it offers a wonderful opportunity to share travel tips and information and provides a much more personal BnB experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews