We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
150
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fay lindsay new zealand garden outlook downstairs room fellow guests great hosts few minutes walk away ensuite bathroom beautiful house next morning two nights last night yogurt breakfast was delicious stay there again one night stay nz
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 157 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2017

We found Fay and Lindsay wonderful hosts, friendly and welcoming and a fund of helpful information. Their B&B, situated in a residential area just a ten-minute bus ride from the centre of Christchurch, is spotlessly clean and comfortable. There is a shopping centre ('The Palms") quite close by, but we didn't have occasion to use it except to identify our bus stop. Our room in the B&B had adequate space and was well planned. Breakfast was tasty and nutritious. We didn't take advantage of cooked breakfast which we understand is available for modest extra charge. No food or drink allowed in rooms, but there was seating area with table just outside our room where we could partake of refreshment. We only stayed two nights, but felt that our hosts had really gone out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Highlights included looking round Christchurch using the hop-on hop-off heritage trams, punting on the Avon River, wandering through the Botanical Gardens and sampling tapas in the Curator's House.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Jack023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2017

It is very rewarding to receive such good feed back and to know that you were able to sample and enjoy, such a varied taste of our lovely city. The progress being made here is just amazing and each visit to the city offers something new to see. Our quiet aspect and location so close to the city centre, is something often commented on by our guests'. Many will take a relaxed (40 min) walk or like yourselves' the public bus, or for those with a car it is only a (10 min) drive. Our aim, when starting 'Finlay Banks' was to provide a very relaxed comfortable environment within our family home, offering each guest a quality personal service. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, our home and hospitality, we look forward to the day you choose to return to 'Finlay Banks'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 16, 2017

We travelled around New Zealand for 3 weeks in a mixture of B & B's, Hotels & Homestays & this was by far the best all round accommodation that we stayed in. Fay & Lindsay couldn't have done anymore for us. Their comfortable, welcoming home is spotless and every possible need is catered for. The breakfast was superb and they went out of their way to make sure our stay was the best. Local knowledge & directions were excellent and even a complimentary lift to the airport at 3.30am. Thank you Fay & Lindsay! With much English & of course Irish love xx

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2017

Thank you, we just love providing good honest home grown kiwi hospitality to our guests'.
If our schedule allows, then we will always make the effect to provide 'that something extra', ensuring our guests' have a pleasant experience at 'Finlay Banks'. For us, it is about treating people as we would like to be treated. When wonderful people like yourselves arrive on our doorstep, it makes being a B&B operator a pleasure. We do hope your next destination was warm and relaxing and we look forward to the possibility of meeting again at some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2017

Although our stay was only for 1 night we were made to feel very welcomed. Lindsay and Fay are great hosts. They joined us and the other 2 guests for breakfast and this gave us the opportunity to chat with them which was great....a. ice personal touch.
.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petiteone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2017

You can always be sure of your stay being a very personal experience when you choose to be guest with us, at 'Finlay Banks'. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in our home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 17, 2017

We stayed two nights here and Fay and Lindsay are great hosts. The room was beautifully appointed with comfortable bed, seating area and shiny bathroom. There is a lovely airy siting room to have a cup of coffee. Breakfast is a continental delight with lots of choice and if you get a chance do book an evening meal. We did and were very pleased - delicious lamb and vegetables then a super cheese board. Fay and Lindsay joined us and two other guests at dinner and it was great to meet and talk with local informative hosts and fellow guests. There are also restaurants just 4 minutes walk away and a bus stop to town if you don't want to park your car. I recommend this lovely B&B.

Room Tip: Downstairs room is lovely
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ValK866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2017

When guest's choose to stay for 2 or 3 nights and include the opportunity of an evening meal, when the time comes for them to leave it is like saying,"farewell to good friends'." It was our pleasure to share our home and your company. We enjoyed our many conversations around the table. Thank you for choosing to be a guest at 'Finlay Banks', enjoy the rest of the journey. We look forward to the possibility of meeting again at some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 7, 2017

Recently stayed 4 nights with Faye and Lindsay at Finlay Banks.

As many other reviewers have said they are excellent hosts to the extent that they make you feel you are staying in their own home rather than in a Bed and Breakfast establishment. Over the 4 day stay we had numerous chats with them both which gave us information about New Zealand, the city and the devastating effect of the 2010 and 2011 earthquakes.

The accommodation both in the bedroom and the living areas was excellent and the continental breakfasts were generous and of high quality. We took the dinner option one evening and the meal Faye cooked was first class.

Also worth mentioning were the welcome drink and snack we had with our hosts and 2 other guests and the customised directions which Lindsay provided for our day trip to the Banks peninsula.

If we are ever back in Christchurch Finlay Banks would be the only place we would consider staying.

Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank i_m_tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2017

We feel very humble when a guest choose's to honour us with such praise, thank you.
We thoroughly enjoy the opportunity of welcoming into our home, so many wonderful guests'. We say "the world comes to us" and from our experience, our guests' make the world a smaller and more interesting place. It was our privilege to be your host's and we are thrilled your enjoyed your stay at 'Finlay Banks'. We trust you will enjoy the rest of your journey through our country and look forward to a return visit at some time in the future. Take care and travel safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews