We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$76/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Merivale Manor(Christchurch)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lorenzo Motor Lodge(Christchurch)
US$74
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Grange Guesthouse & Motel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$88/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ashford Motor Lodge(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amross Court Motor Lodge(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Centre Motel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Athena Motel & Apartments(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (373)
Filter reviews
373 results
Traveller rating
68
151
102
32
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
151
102
32
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstudor stylegrand pacificcoach tournew zealandpapanui roadfirst floormin walkoff street parkingcomfortable bedscity centrenice roomlast nightshort staysouth islandbedroomheatertoiletries
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 373 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2016

Really comfy hotels approx. at 2 km distance from Christchurch Centre. Room was spacious with extra double bed, clean bathroom, flat TV, free Wi-Fi, heater working very well, plenty of complimentary drinks. Receptionist was efficient and quick service. The location is along Papanui Road which renowned for rows of hotels and motels. Generally speaking, it is really good hotel.
The only cons was minor, but this is coming from external factors, this hotel is a bit too far to any shops or mall, even small convenience shops by walking distance. So you need to use bus or taxi if you need to do shopping, even for buying simple stuff such as tooth brush and tooth paste.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank santo t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCotswoldHtl, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2016

Dear Santo T,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Heartland Cotswold Hotel and for taking the time to review this.
We have some of the largest rooms in Christchurch due to having a range of room types so I am pleased that you found your room spacious.
The hotel certainly is convienant to a number of areas including the CBD. Whilst only a short 5 minute walk down Papanui Road to the Merivale shops, it can be a bit far depending on the weather etc.
I and the team look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anthony Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2016

I stayed for overnight halt at the hotel for a night it was nice welcome at the reception but the suite accommodation provided was not auto the mark for the amount i paid.Beds were not comfortable and the unit was not at all cosy.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Scenic Hotel Group
Thank pasariravi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCotswoldHtl, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2016

Dear Pasariravi,


Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Heartland Hotel Cotswold and for taking the time to review this.
I am disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our rooms are large and spacious, with our Scenic signature bedding which is triple sheeting and a very comfortable Dreamsleeper mattress topper. Unfortunately the toppers are not to everyone's bedding preferences however we mostly get great feedback on these.
We will be going through a transition of our beds to the pillow top mattresses which will suit more of our guests. Our rooms also have brand new Olsberg heaters installed recently so the rooms are very cosy indeed.

Kind regards,
Anthony Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2016

We stayed here twice a few days apart as part of a coach tour group. On our first visit we were disapointed with our rather outdated room, however on our second visit we were in a much more commodious and welcoming room. so pick your room with care. On both visits the staff and the cleanliness and catering were very good.

Room Tip: Check out the room before taking it.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ibrahim11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCotswoldHtl, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2016

Dear Ibrahim11,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Heartland Hotel Cotswold and for taking the time to review this.
The hotel offers a range of room types which are well advertised on-line and from what I can gather it appears you were likely upgraded on your second stay with us.
The tour groups generally book standard rooms, however we have to allocate according to bedding requirements and on occasions guests will be upgraded.
I am delighted that you found the staff helpful and that the standards of the room and hotel were very good.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Anthony Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 29, 2016

not in the direct center but still quite close to the Victoria Street we enjoyed the stay there. The rooms are more appartments, very big and well equiped. The breakfast we had in a very nice room. The food was nothing special but well served.
We had technical problems which have been solved fast and professional. This is a really good hotel with the right mixture between nice environment but still close to center.
Very helpful staff at the reception.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcel_C_ZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCotswoldHtl, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2016

Dear Marc C,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Heartland Hotel Cotswold and for taking the time to review this.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the rooms and meals were up to standard.The hotel is certainly conveniently located just outside of the CBD but in close proximity to the Merivale shops and a lot of restaurants and bars.
The staff are always thankful of great feedback regarding service also.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anthony Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2016

After living in Christchurch for over 14 years, today was the first time my wife and I visited this hotel, for breakfast - thanks to GrabOne discount coupons.

The breakfast was good, served in a hall with character, which made the atmosphere superb. The staff was friendly and attentive, replenishing items regularly. We were lucky to get a table beside one of the windows - looking out at the grand old building.

Overall, we were satisfied with our maiden experience, and happy we bought the discount coupons!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShirishParanjape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCotswoldHtl, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2016

Dear ShirishParanjape,

Thank you very much for your recent visit to the hotel restaurant 'Tudors' and for also taking the time to review your experience.
I am delighted that you took this opportunity to come here for breakfast and you found ther servicec and food good.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews