We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
US$188
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-04-30
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$188
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-04-30
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$188
US$163
View deal
SAVE US$25
Booking.comUS$188
PricelineUS$188
eDreamsUS$188
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,742)
Filter reviews
1,742 results
Traveller rating
1,229
362
110
31
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,229
362
110
31
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews teddy bear turn down service small luxury hotel new zealand hagley park lovely hotel beautiful park botanical gardens our honeymoon underfloor heating avon river south island city centre concierge earthquake tram laundry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,742 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2021

With the exception of a buggy and intermittently nonfunctioning TV remote control system, everything measures up in this beautiful hotel. Service was excellent. Food was very good. Location can't be beat.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Y8698ELpeterg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce Garrett, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2021

Dear Y8698EL.peterg
While we are pleased that overall you enjoyed a very pleasant stay with us, particularly in relation to your dining experiences, the convenience of our location and, most importantly, the service you received from our team, we are concerned to hear of the maintenance issues you encountered with the television control in your room and do apologise for the inconvenience this caused at the time. Please be assured your feedback has been forwarded to our Maintenance Team to investigate and rectify.
We do appreciate you taking the time to post your review.
Kind regards

John Etheridge
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 4, 2021

Great room (Suite ), plenty of space, very comfortable bed. Hotel is In a great location for getting around the city very clean and tidy with a lovely turn down service. Love the touch of being able to take George Bear on his next adventure

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FellowTraveler629130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce Garrett, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2021

Dear FellowTraveler629130
Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay with us. We are very pleased you appreciated the comfort of your room and bed, the convenience of our location and our turn-down service. We are also delighted to hear George Bear has some adventures to look forward to! Many thanks once again for your feedback.
Kind regards

John Etheridge
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 31, 2021

Staying here is always a pleasure. The service is always efficient, friendly and attentive. Location is a plus as well with access to Hagley Park just down the road. We had a king room with a balcony overlooking the trees at the back. Beds are very comfortable and many little extras included in the bathrooms. Heating and cooling easy to operate and a window that can be opened always a plus. Quiet and cool if its hot. The Bistro is very good and breakfast perfectly adequate. Our favourite Christchurch hotel

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vibez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce Garrett, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2021

Dear Vibez
We are delighted to hear that your recent stay with us was consistent with previous ones, in terms of the service you receive from our team, the comfort of our facilities, and your dining experiences in 50 Bistro, and that we continue to your favourite hotel in Christchurch. We do appreciate you taking the time to post your review and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the city.
Kind regards

John Etheridge
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 28, 2021

What a great place to stay. Still as good as the first time we stayed there. Lovely rooms, lovely staff and lovely food :) Thanks for another fantastic stay, we look very much forward to our next visit.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MelTsakmakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce Garrett, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2021

Dear MelTsakmakis
We are always delighted to welcome back our valued and loyal returning guests and we are so pleased to hear that your stays with us continue to meet all your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Christchurch and thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Kind regards

John Etheridge
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 24, 2021

Location accommodation and service was all excellent, would definitely stay again. Didn't dine kn the 50Bistro but restaurant food also looked 5star quality.
Can't wait to go back to Christchurch for another break.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ingrid P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce Garrett, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2021

Dear IngridPorter
We are thrilled to hear your recent stay with us was such an enjoyable experience and that everything was to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion when we hope you might also have the opportunity to experience 50 Bistro. Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Kind regards

John Etheridge
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews