We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night's sleep prior to early flight out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Ranked #19 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2018

I arrived at the hotel in the midst of a large influx of people mostly a tour group. There was a staff member helping to direct new arrivals like myself, into queues to be attended to. After quite a short wait, I was able to check in and after a quick call to double-check my room was ready, I was on my way to my room. It was on the ground floor and a short walk from the lobby. My room was spotlessly clean, and the bed made just how I like it. I had a small jug and I made myself a hot chocolate to drink. There was some ground coffee and a small plunger for "bean-o-philes" plus a selection of tea and some biscuits. Milk was in the fridge. The bathroom was fresh and clean and the shower had great pressure. I had a really refreshing sleep and the checkout process next morning was very quick. I waited a few minutes for the complementary shuttle to arrive to take me over to the Airport for my departure. This was my third stay at Sudima for an early flight out and the stay was as enjoyable as my other two visits.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianehughes2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IftiHussain, Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Diane

Thank you for the 5 green bubbles and for giving us a detailed review of your recent stay. I am really pleased that you an excellent stay from your check in through to our shuttle dropping you off at the airport for your flight out. I will be sure to pass your feedback on to the team, they will be further encouraged. We all look forward to welcome you back again on your next trip to New Zealand, we hope that will be soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,859)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 1,859 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

The Sudima is really very well located some 800m from the airport. Too far to drag your bags but an on demand free shuttle bus sorts that out. Staff at reception very courteous and welcoming. You can eat in the hotel, but if you feel you cannot do justice to a restaurant meal when fatigued from travelling, there are in the immediate walking vicinity various cheaper eateries and an excellent supermarket.

Room very comfortable and spotlessly clean.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank gehdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IftiHussain, Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Dear gehdev

Thank you for the full 5 green bubbles. It is really great to hear that you had an excellent stay here. You are right, our complimentary shuttle runs 24/7 on demand, just takes a call from the Freephone located at the international arrivals lobby for a quick pick up. Pleased that you enjoyed our service. We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

This hotel is clean, spacious and has lovely staff. Situated very close to the airport and right beside restaurants and a supermarket, it's super handy! I'd happily stay here again. And there's a 24 hour airpot shuffle as well.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IftiHussain, Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Dear Debra

Thank you for your review and we are happy to hear that you had enjoyed your stay. Pleased that the hotel's location and the nearby facilities had enhanced your stay experience. We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

The hotel and the entire surrounding airport area have blacklisted Uber so you are forced to take expensive hotel or taxi transport. 30-50% more than Uber. We walked down the road past the McDonalds to catch Uber across the highway.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IftiHussain, Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Dear Mark

We regret to hear of your experience with Uber. We want to clarify that we are not in any position to regulate public transport providers outside of the hotel's perimeter and not aware of Uber being blacklisted. Also the hotel does not provide chargeable transport service apart from the complimentary airport shuttle.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

Hotel is located 5 min drive from the Christchurch Airport, hotel offer guest parking for free.

Spitfire mall is within walking distance to the hotel, where you can find Counterdown department store. For food, there is a few restaurants, as well as fast food (KFC, McDonalds, Subway .


Hotel staffs are friendly and check in and out was very fast.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teowsoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IftiHussain, Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Dear teowsoon

Thank you for giving us feedback on your recent stay with us. We are pleased that the hotel's location and the nearby shop and food outlets have worked well for your travel and stay. On your next stay, which we hope will be soon, check out the menu in our Acheron Restaurant, we have often received great feedback about the food and prices are competitive with the nearby food outlets.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Could not speak highly enough about the excellent service we received and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff at this hotel. Our fight arrived late in the evening and we caught their free shuttle from the airport to the hotel, and check-in was so efficient. Too late for dinner at the restaurant so room service was arranged promptly. Hotel facilities were good and we had no complaints about the room or facilities.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IftiHussain, Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Dear Matthew

We appreciate the full 5 green bubbles you have accorded us. We are really pleased that you had enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

We stayed here one night after arriving late from the airport. The on demand shuttle is nice for sure - we arrived past midnight, called the hotel, and the shuttle arrived in 15 mins. When we left, the shuttle driver took us directly to our car rental at the airport which was nice.

Other than that, our stay was fine. The hotel looked newer than expected. The lobby is large and the hallways are really long so it takes some time (and can be a bit confusing) to get to our room and vice versa. You get 1 GB of wifi which was plenty for one night.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IftiHussain, Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Dear kbun

It is great that you had enjoyed your stay with us and pleased to hear that our shuttle driver was able to assist. We look forward to see you back here again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.2 km away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
6.7 km away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
8.7 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#14 of 146 in Christchurch
705 reviews
8.7 km away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#17 of 146 in Christchurch
453 reviews
7.8 km away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

Address: 550 Memorial Avenue | PO Box 14-043, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $160 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the completion of the redevelopment and refurbishment programmes, Sudima is now a 4.5 star Qualmark rated Hotel located right at the doorstep of the Christchurch International Airport. With 246 well-appointed guestrooms, the Acheron Restaurant & Bar, this Hotel is the perfect place to stay for the start or end of your journey through the stunning South Island of New Zealand. The Spitfire Shopping Square and the Antarctic Centre are just next door so there are lots to do without having to travel afar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudima Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing