We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$125
US$108
View deal
Expedia.comUS$108
Hotels.comUS$108
eDreamsUS$108
PricelineUS$108
CheapTicketsUS$108
getaroom.comUS$125
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,385)
Filter reviews
1,385 results
Traveller rating
513
620
185
39
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
513
620
185
39
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cathedral square valet parking accor member bathroom sink central location hand basin breakfast buffet executive room comfortable hotel good size new zealand the heart of the city mini bar comfy bed south island earthquake concierge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,385 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2021

Perfect location in Christchurch. Staff are very good, restaurant is fabulous, good food and amazing service, I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Christchurch. Not been used as a COVID isolation hotel either so happy to support this hotel now and in the future. Staff get a huge thumbs up from us.

Room tip: Higher floors will be quieter at night
Date of stay: February 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 160dereks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley Conder, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2021

Hello Derek

Thank you for the fantastic review! I really appreciate you taking the time to let me know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2021

We stayed for one night at this hotel, the pre-visit call was appreciated, car parking options were explained which was really helpful as it could prove difficult to easily locate. The hotel location is good as it is right in the centre of the city next to the Cathedral. The receptionist was on the telephone when we arrived, she did not acknowledge us so we waited for someone to come from the office behind reception. It felt as if we were an interruption, greeting and explanation of services were minimal and as Accor Platinum members we were very underwhelmed by the service.
Our room had a great view of the Cathedral but no welcome gift, which we did enquire about. It felt there was no real understanding by staff of what Accor membership involves. But regardless of membership I would say the service was not great.
The room itself looked 'tired' and perhaps in need of updating.
Breakfast was very good, but again some staff seemed to be distracted by other things.
Overall I think 'underwhelmed' would sum up our experience.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank hopejones61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley Conder, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2021

Hello Hope

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square. I can assure you the team are very aware of the ALL membership rewards and while i cant explain why your booking was not recognized by our team i will endeavor to make sure it doesn't happen again.

Negative feedback about our customer service is the most disappointing feedback of all to receive as a general manager. We have fallen short of our own expectation and I am very sorry. Please rest assured your comments are being followed up internally

I appreciate your sharing your thoughts, it is my hope that you will give us the opportunity to better redeem ourselves in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 4, 2021

We had an amazing stay at this Hotel and we can't thank them enough for everything they did for us on the occasion of our Daughters Wedding. We had 6 rooms booked , all nice rooms and the staff were just so friendly and helpful. The hotel went the extra mile by sending a bottle of bubbles to the Brides room and some cake when we were drinking in the bar with Congratulations on it. The also allowed the bus to park outside when taking us to the venue and allowed late check outs for those that had flights later in the day. The bar staff really were exceptional especially when the a group came back to the bar after the Wedding and they accommodated us so well :) Thank you for making our Daughters Wedding just that bit more special !!

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank RugbyMadKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley Conder, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2021

Hello RugbyMadKiwi

We were very pleased to be able to make your experience after your daughters wedding a memorable one. the team were really happy to be able to make the night special for your group. Weddings are always special... thank you for including us

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 3, 2021

This is long due. We stayed here for 2 nights in December. It was our perfect base in exploring Christchurch. Location is really central, easy walking distance to riverside bars and restaurants. Our room was generous in space and immaculately clean. Wifi is free and fast. We did not eat in the hotel but the service we encountered was friendly and warm at reception. Check-in was fast. I like drinking my coffee with lots of milk and although they have single serving milk capsules, the staff at reception was kind enough to provide me a milk in a bigger carafe that she brought up herself. (I wish I remembered her name!) We plan to visit Christchurch again because we fell in-love with the city. Novotel surprised us, in a positive way. We intend to stay here again. All the best to the team, and thank you for the wonderful service we received while we stayed with you especially to reception and housekeeping.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank petesargearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley Conder, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2021

Hello Sarah

We always aim to exceed our expectations whatever they are. We want guests leaving raving about there experience, Just like you!

I thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 27, 2021

The Novotel Cathedral Square is centrally located in Christchurch which makes it very easy to move around the CBD without hassles. Most facilities of the city are within walking distance and that makes this hotel a positive place to stay. As with most Novotel hotels, this has all the features including restaurant and bar available to guests. We stayed in an Executive room and I was surprised at how small it was and that the features were not much better than a standard room.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley Conder, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2021

Hello Brian

Thank you for your great feedback regarding your recent stay with us Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square. our central location makes us the perfect choice for a city adventure buts its our team in the hotel that win the hearts of the guests. We can’t wait to welcome you back to our hotel.

Safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews