We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$99
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-04-25
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
eDreamsUS$99
Expedia.comUS$99
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
52
20
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
52
20
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small supermarket great location two nights fantastic hosts new zealand serviced daily bedroom unit longer stay couple of nights excellent stay road noise free wifi netflix motel city tv cafes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 77 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2020 via mobile

My wife and I stayed 2 nights with our 8 & 5 year old grand daughters so needed a 2 bedroom unit. The motel unit was perfect for us , very well appointed with excellent amount of room and comfortable furniture. It is perfectly located for the beach and the town, everything within a block of you as well as close to the city and only 9 minutes over the hill to Lyttelton, recommend the Saturday market.
We were all made very welcome by Roger, we will be back to stay next time we go to Christchurch .

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2020

We stayed in studio for one night.Not only all you want/ expect but more. Nice that they have added colour - prints, throws, bedspreads - blues/ yellows.
- Comfy bed (not as hard as ours at home but firm).
- All items working, very clean, away from main road so not too much road noise.
- Walking to everything - beach, cafe's shops. NICE!
-And great friendly couple

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennyHAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2020

Wow what a lovely place to stay. The couple very so friendly, welcoming and really just would do anything to help. The 2 bedroom unit was very clean and had everything we needed and more a lovely private terrace but unfortunately wasn’t sitting outside weather. We just had the one night there but most definitely will return. Handy to all restaurants and beach. Just a super place with lovely people.

Date of stay: June 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2020 via mobile

My wife and I initially booked here for a couple of nights before our planned return to the UK just before the Covid-19 lockdown in New Zealand. The motel was comfortable, spotlessly clean and well located close to the beach, numerous restaurants, a small supermarket and interesting walks. The owners, Kay and Roger, live on site and are extremely friendly and helpful.
We departed for the airport thinking we should have allowed a little more time at this comfortable motel, little knowing that our flights had been cancelled overnight and we were stranded in New Zealand with lockdown about to commence and no way of getting home and nowhere to stay! A call to Roger was met with an immediate invitation to return to the motel and see out the lockdown or at least await opportunities to get back to the UK. We couldn't have asked for more, they made everything we needed to remain safe and comfortable freely available and supported us throughout this difficult time.
In conclusion this is a very comfortable and spotlessly clean motel only a short drive from Christchurch airport, ideally located for a few days or more at either end of a trip to New Zealand's South Island. The beautiful Banks peninsula is nearby and Sumner has plenty to do for a few days, indeed our stay of nearly four weeks during the lockdown was a pleasure, thanks to our location and to Kay and Roger.

Date of stay: April 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank NorthLondonDaveR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2020 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in one of the 1 bed apartments with my daughter in the one below. The apartments were very well appointed and spotlessly clean. They both had Netflix access too which was a very nice bonus. The owner was very helpful and the attention to detail in the information pack was outstanding. Overall we loved staying here and thought it was exceptional value for money.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank 232PaulL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SumnerBayMotel, Owner at Sumner Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2020

Thank you for your kind review, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and managed to relax. Hope to see you again sometime.
Regards Roger and Kay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews