We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (529)
Filter reviews
529 results
Traveller rating
233
223
45
17
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
233
223
45
17
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old jail hot water bottles unique hostel novelty factor unique stay interesting place to stay prison cell common areas double room ami stadium new zealand stayed here for one night beds were comfortable botanic gardens hagley park dolls kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
366 - 371 of 529 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The jailhouse was so neat! We booked it on a whim as our plans changed (had to see at least a bit of the South Island!) and we were only here for the night, but it was great!

The staff were very accomodating of our late arrival and early departure. Having never been in jail, it was such a cool experience - it really has a prison feel, but there's a fun and easygoing charm about it. There were bars on the windows and the doors were so big and heavy! The main area was neat, with a double set of stairs going up to a long, large hallway with all the rooms. Even the bathrooms were done up and the toilet seats were see-through with barbed wire in them. Maybe a bit cheesy but I appreciated it haha It has lots of character and everyone we met, especially the staff, were very kind and helpful.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trinitycherity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This hostel has a pretty good package. It is a sight in itself as well as nice accommodation. I stayed in a 6 bed dorm and was one of 2 lucky ones who was not in. Bunk bed. Also I had. Bed next to th one power outlet in room. Had I not been in that bed I might of been upset as to th location of the on outlet and room light switch. On of the 3 showers was missing a shower head, but since I was only her I just used a diffirent one. The 3 biggest issues are 1) it is a Good 25 minutes to walk to the Cbd. This sucks, but given there Is not much going on in Cbd these days not a reason not to stay here. 2) the place can feel a tad institutional, 3) the Internet prices combined with data restrictions are bad. On the flip side, the staff is very helpful and nice. I would stay here again if in Christchurch

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dubelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2012

really enjoyed our experience here. had heard good things about this place on our travels and it turned out to be every bit as good. very well run place, excellent staff. clean kitchen, loads of entertainment and chilling options. rooms were unique and very nice. we had a double room and it was nice and warm (given it was July), we had a TV and hot water bottle (which wasn't needed). glad we stayed here. something different and very enjoyable at the same time.

Date of stay: July 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Gerard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This place is really was a prison, and is quite old. It has a fun backpacker feel to it and can be quite social. They have dorms and private rooms, a movie room, lounge, and a big kitchen. Location ok, but not great. While they are pretty good about their quiet hours, the large open area, high ceilings, and concrete/stone walls make it so that sound travels.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlustjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Have stayed in many hostel's throughout New Zealand and Australia. This definitely still felt like a jail but was worth a one night stay for novelty value, and super sturdy as earthquakes are still common. All shared facilities. Stayed in a double room, very small and very cold but it was winter and they supply extra blankets and hot water bottles free of charge. Kitchen facilities were above average. Free shuttle bus to train station available.

Date of stay: June 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 269BenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews