We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A building full of character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jailhouse Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2012

My partner and I stayed here for one night in 2011, unfortunately, on that day, Christchurch had three earthquakes. That kind of spoilt our stay as we spent the night awake, waiting for the 150+ aftershocks to stop!

The place itself was fun, and the rooms were just as expected; converted jail cells. If you are looking for luxury, then don't book here. Fun? Yes.

The staff were very helpful given the situation, however we spent most of the day in the conservatory, while the rest of the building was being checked out for damage.

The building is quite cold, and it was quiet daunting on our midnight arrival (instructions had been left for us to get it), but like one review on here stated, if you don't want to stay in Alcatraz, don't stay here.

Overall, would I book again? In a heartbeat- if of course, Christchurch didn't move so much!

Although its a little walk to the centre of Christchurch, there are plenty of shops/places to get food around the area.

Worth noting, although my review is dated September 2011, it was actually June 2011 I stayed here.

Room Tip: As I understand it, all of the rooms are very much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarrenBailes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

350 - 356 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

The jailhouse was so neat! We booked it on a whim as our plans changed (had to see at least a bit of the South Island!) and we were only here for the night, but it was great!

The staff were very accomodating of our late arrival and early departure. Having never been in jail, it was such a cool experience - it really has a prison feel, but there's a fun and easygoing charm about it. There were bars on the windows and the doors were so big and heavy! The main area was neat, with a double set of stairs going up to a long, large hallway with all the rooms. Even the bathrooms were done up and the toilet seats were see-through with barbed wire in them. Maybe a bit cheesy but I appreciated it haha It has lots of character and everyone we met, especially the staff, were very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trinitycherity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This hostel has a pretty good package. It is a sight in itself as well as nice accommodation. I stayed in a 6 bed dorm and was one of 2 lucky ones who was not in. Bunk bed. Also I had. Bed next to th one power outlet in room. Had I not been in that bed I might of been upset as to th location of the on outlet and room light switch. On of the 3 showers was missing a shower head, but since I was only her I just used a diffirent one. The 3 biggest issues are 1) it is a Good 25 minutes to walk to the Cbd. This sucks, but given there Is not much going on in Cbd these days not a reason not to stay here. 2) the place can feel a tad institutional, 3) the Internet prices combined with data restrictions are bad. On the flip side, the staff is very helpful and nice. I would stay here again if in Christchurch

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dubelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

really enjoyed our experience here. had heard good things about this place on our travels and it turned out to be every bit as good. very well run place, excellent staff. clean kitchen, loads of entertainment and chilling options. rooms were unique and very nice. we had a double room and it was nice and warm (given it was July), we had a TV and hot water bottle (which wasn't needed). glad we stayed here. something different and very enjoyable at the same time.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Gerard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This place is really was a prison, and is quite old. It has a fun backpacker feel to it and can be quite social. They have dorms and private rooms, a movie room, lounge, and a big kitchen. Location ok, but not great. While they are pretty good about their quiet hours, the large open area, high ceilings, and concrete/stone walls make it so that sound travels.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlustjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Have stayed in many hostel's throughout New Zealand and Australia. This definitely still felt like a jail but was worth a one night stay for novelty value, and super sturdy as earthquakes are still common. All shared facilities. Stayed in a double room, very small and very cold but it was winter and they supply extra blankets and hot water bottles free of charge. Kitchen facilities were above average. Free shuttle bus to train station available.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The hostel is clean and has good facilities and Christchurch is such a lovely place despite all it has suffered.

The fact that this used to be a jail is fun, but a little spooky at night! Be Brave!

See my photographs here;
http://youmakemeswoon.wordpress.com/2012/07/18/christchurch/

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SupaSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.5 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,116 reviews
2.5 km away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#10 of 111 in Christchurch
251 reviews
1.8 km away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 111 in Christchurch
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 km away
Around the World Backpackers
Around the World Backpackers
#8 of 111 in Christchurch
137 reviews
6.1 km away
Haka Lodge Christchurch
Haka Lodge Christchurch
#3 of 111 in Christchurch
205 reviews
3.6 km away
All Stars Inn on Bealey
All Stars Inn on Bealey
#11 of 111 in Christchurch
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jailhouse Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jailhouse Accommodation

Address: 338 Lincoln Road, Christchurch 8024, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range: $31 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jailhouse Accommodation 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Budget Accommodation to the Railway Station! Award winning hostel. 'Author's Pick' in Christchurch for Lonely Planet and Rough Guide 2008. Top mid-sized Independent BBH hostel in NZ. WiFi. Free parking. Newly renovated heritage accommodation with a colourful history as the former Addington Prison. Private Single, Double, Twin bunk and Group/Family/Dorm rooms available in our budget Christchurch accommodation. Clean, warm, friendly with super-comfortable beds close to top Christchurch attractions. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jailhouse Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jailhouse Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing