We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (529)
Filter reviews
529 results
Traveller rating
233
223
45
17
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
233
223
45
17
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old jail hot water bottles unique hostel novelty factor interesting place to stay unique stay prison cell common areas ami stadium double room bunk beds new zealand stayed here for one night botanic gardens hagley park dolls kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 529 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2017 via mobile

I have stayed in heaps of hostels in New Zealand and I would say this is the best!
PROS:
- very nice and consistent theme across the hostel
- very hospitable staff (Kudos to Nicki)
- unlimited and excellent wifi connection
- enough heating in the hostel
- they provide extra blankets and hot water bottles to keep you warm
- they lend you bath towels
- they have a massage chair in the lounge
- they have a tv room that can accommodate lots of people
- the only jail that you can feel safe
- they have lockers inside the room
- enough toilets and showers for the guests
- excellent city location - lots of places to eat nearby
- bus stop is in front of the hostel - talk about convenience
- cool photo booth to make your stay here a memorable one
- they have a cool winter special where you get your 4th night stay for free
CONS:
NOT APPLICABLE - I don't think there is still something to improve on! Kudos to all the staff who work for this jailhouse! You really made my stay there a very memorable one! Will be staying here again soon!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank jcbnavarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jailnz, Owner at Jailhouse Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2017

Hi and thank you so much for taking time to write your awesome review. We really appreciate it and hope you have a fantastic time in Christchurch and New Zealand. We love making sure all our guests have a memorable stay in Jail and reviews like your make it all worthwhile!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile

Old jail converted into a modern hostel makes for unique accomodation.
The hostel is very clean, there is lots of kitchen space, and the wifi is both free and reliable. The staff were great too - very friendly and welcoming!
At night it is quite and eerie, but that only adds to the ambience.
Very cool place. Would recommend!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Passenger723913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jailnz, Owner at Jailhouse Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2017

Hi and thanks for staying in Christchurch and in Jail. Glad you loved the atmosphere, it is certainly a great and memorable experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2017

Great relaxed and helpful atmosphere. Run by young people but ALL ages feel at home. Clean, well equipped and friendly. Easy self-catering. Very good access to centre of town - walk or bus. Still looks like cells and one is still made up as cell. Beds comfortable, very quiet, great to be part of history.

Room tip: Rooms range in size, some dormitories. All well set back from road so quiet.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jailnz, Owner at Jailhouse Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2017

Thanks for your lovely review. Yes we certainly welcome people of absolutely all ages. We find families love staying here and everyone appreciates the history. There are a lot of cafes and bars close-by too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 17, 2017 via mobile

Cosy room; hot water bottles and extra blanket provided. Comfortable bed. Friendly staff. Two cute theatre rooms. Small kitchen. Separate male and female bathrooms. Great place to stay, good experience and something different than your standard hostel.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank EvaMuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jailnz, Owner at Jailhouse Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2017

Hi and thanks a lot for writing. Yes we totally agree it is different to a standard hostel and people go away with great memories of the experience. Glad you found Jail to be cosy and comfortable!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 28, 2017 via mobile

We took our two grandchildren here overnight. Although we live close by it was a fun adventure and learning for them. The old Addington prison has been turned into backpacker accommodation with a variety of rooms as dorms, singles, twin rooms etc. Very authentic rooms and clean and tidy. We took a small heater as we had heard it can be quite cool in cells. Heated pipes came on later in evening and also there was a small wall heater so the room was cost overnight. You can dress up in prison type outfits and take photos which the grandchildren enjoyed. The China in kitchen is black and white stripes to go with the theme. Staff very friendly and helpful and even let the kids choose what colour the lights inside the facility were as they could be changed to different colours throughout. A very worthwhile night out that the kids loved. A very popular novelty backpackers for travellers within walking distance to Christchurch city.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank DJW20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jailnz, Owner at Jailhouse Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2017

Hi, what a great thing to do with your family! Thanks so much for staying and we very much welcome Christchurch locals as well as tourists to enjoy something different.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews