We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locked up!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jailhouse Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Quirky hostel, authentic prison accommodation, clean and tidy, good facilities. The hostel is about half way between the airport and Christchurch CBD we had a car but there are shuttle transfers to the hostel. The hostel has bikes for hire and there are lots of places to eat in the surrounding district.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 9 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

Such unique accommodation. Loved it. No complaints. Room was very warm, clean and comforting. Whole place kept very clean. One of the cleanest hostel type accommodations i have stayed in. I will stay next time I'm in Christchurch

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jamesygroove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jailnz, Owner at Jailhouse Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Hi, thanks so much for your great review. Look forward to seeing you next time you are in Christchurch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

great place to stay.

great stories I have heard about the history of the prison and the area

definitely be staying here again when next in christchurch.

easy to find on Lincoln road. not far from hagley park, Addington raceway or ami stadium

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Sy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jailnz, Owner at Jailhouse Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Thanks, we are currently working hard on providing our guests with more stories on the history of our amazing building, so next time you stay hopefully there will be more great stuff for you to see.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

I stayed early August and the weather was clear sunny and cold. I had a single cell. Bed was comfortable, extra Dona was so warm and extra pillows a bonus.
Only thing I didn't like were the toilets and showers. Yes they were clean and worked well but a bench in the shower would be great so things don't get wet and the space between the toilet and the door was so tight. Really felt like a prison toilet:-) great location and very easy to find. Great wifi. Very quiet too.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Mishaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jailnz, Owner at Jailhouse Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Hi and thanks for your review, very glad you were warm and comfy in your cell, and found the free WiFi and location good. Yes we are looking at putting a bench in the showers although there are plenty of hooks. Sorry one of the toilets is a bit cosy due to the contraints of working with the prison layout, but due to security reasons the original prison toilets did not even have individual cubicles so we have vastly improved on that!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

I have stayed in heaps of hostels in New Zealand and I would say this is the best!
PROS:
- very nice and consistent theme across the hostel
- very hospitable staff (Kudos to Nicki)
- unlimited and excellent wifi connection
- enough heating in the hostel
- they provide extra blankets and hot water bottles to keep you warm
- they lend you bath towels
- they have a massage chair in the lounge
- they have a tv room that can accommodate lots of people
- the only jail that you can feel safe
- they have lockers inside the room
- enough toilets and showers for the guests
- excellent city location - lots of places to eat nearby
- bus stop is in front of the hostel - talk about convenience
- cool photo booth to make your stay here a memorable one
- they have a cool winter special where you get your 4th night stay for free
CONS:
NOT APPLICABLE - I don't think there is still something to improve on! Kudos to all the staff who work for this jailhouse! You really made my stay there a very memorable one! Will be staying here again soon!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank jcbnavarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jailnz, Owner at Jailhouse Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Hi and thank you so much for taking time to write your awesome review. We really appreciate it and hope you have a fantastic time in Christchurch and New Zealand. We love making sure all our guests have a memorable stay in Jail and reviews like your make it all worthwhile!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

Old jail converted into a modern hostel makes for unique accomodation.
The hostel is very clean, there is lots of kitchen space, and the wifi is both free and reliable. The staff were great too - very friendly and welcoming!
At night it is quite and eerie, but that only adds to the ambience.
Very cool place. Would recommend!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jailnz, Owner at Jailhouse Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Hi and thanks for staying in Christchurch and in Jail. Glad you loved the atmosphere, it is certainly a great and memorable experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

Great relaxed and helpful atmosphere. Run by young people but ALL ages feel at home. Clean, well equipped and friendly. Easy self-catering. Very good access to centre of town - walk or bus. Still looks like cells and one is still made up as cell. Beds comfortable, very quiet, great to be part of history.

Room Tip: Rooms range in size, some dormitories. All well set back from road so quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jailnz, Owner at Jailhouse Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thanks for your lovely review. Yes we certainly welcome people of absolutely all ages. We find families love staying here and everyone appreciates the history. There are a lot of cafes and bars close-by too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.5 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,993 reviews
2.5 km away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#11 of 108 in Christchurch
237 reviews
1.8 km away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 108 in Christchurch
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Haka Lodge Christchurch
Haka Lodge Christchurch
#3 of 108 in Christchurch
196 reviews
2.2 km away
Designer Cottage
Designer Cottage
#3 of 138 in Christchurch
280 reviews
5.8 km away
Christchurch TOP 10 Holiday Park
Christchurch TOP 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 108 in Christchurch
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jailhouse Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jailhouse Accommodation

Address: 338 Lincoln Road, Christchurch 8024, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range: $25 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jailhouse Accommodation 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Budget Accommodation to the Railway Station! Award winning hostel. 'Author's Pick' in Christchurch for Lonely Planet and Rough Guide 2008. Top mid-sized Independent BBH hostel in NZ. WiFi. Free parking. Newly renovated heritage accommodation with a colourful history as the former Addington Prison. Private Single, Double, Twin bunk and Group/Family/Dorm rooms available in our budget Christchurch accommodation. Clean, warm, friendly with super-comfortable beds close to top Christchurch attractions. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Jailhouse Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jailhouse Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing