We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Athena Motel & Apartments(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$80/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

City Centre Motel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$59
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$62/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$106
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$113
US$75
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ashford Motor Lodge(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$70
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Merivale Manor(Christchurch)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$95
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Admiral Motel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$62
US$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amross Court Motor Lodge(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$75
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lorenzo Motor Lodge(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (519)
Filter reviews
519 results
Traveller rating
228
218
45
17
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
218
45
17
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold jailhot water bottlesjail cellunique place to staynovelty factorperson dormaddington coffee co opcommon areascity centreami stadiumdouble roomnew zealandfree wifistayed here for one nightrecommend staying herebeds were comfortablebotanic gardens
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 519 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2017 via mobile

Such unique accommodation. Loved it. No complaints. Room was very warm, clean and comforting. Whole place kept very clean. One of the cleanest hostel type accommodations i have stayed in. I will stay next time I'm in Christchurch

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jamesygroove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jailnz, Owner at Jailhouse Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2017

Hi, thanks so much for your great review. Look forward to seeing you next time you are in Christchurch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile

great place to stay.

great stories I have heard about the history of the prison and the area

definitely be staying here again when next in christchurch.

easy to find on Lincoln road. not far from hagley park, Addington raceway or ami stadium

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Sy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jailnz, Owner at Jailhouse Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2017

Thanks, we are currently working hard on providing our guests with more stories on the history of our amazing building, so next time you stay hopefully there will be more great stuff for you to see.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2017 via mobile

I stayed early August and the weather was clear sunny and cold. I had a single cell. Bed was comfortable, extra Dona was so warm and extra pillows a bonus.
Only thing I didn't like were the toilets and showers. Yes they were clean and worked well but a bench in the shower would be great so things don't get wet and the space between the toilet and the door was so tight. Really felt like a prison toilet:-) great location and very easy to find. Great wifi. Very quiet too.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Mishaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jailnz, Owner at Jailhouse Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Hi and thanks for your review, very glad you were warm and comfy in your cell, and found the free WiFi and location good. Yes we are looking at putting a bench in the showers although there are plenty of hooks. Sorry one of the toilets is a bit cosy due to the contraints of working with the prison layout, but due to security reasons the original prison toilets did not even have individual cubicles so we have vastly improved on that!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2017 via mobile

I have stayed in heaps of hostels in New Zealand and I would say this is the best!
PROS:
- very nice and consistent theme across the hostel
- very hospitable staff (Kudos to Nicki)
- unlimited and excellent wifi connection
- enough heating in the hostel
- they provide extra blankets and hot water bottles to keep you warm
- they lend you bath towels
- they have a massage chair in the lounge
- they have a tv room that can accommodate lots of people
- the only jail that you can feel safe
- they have lockers inside the room
- enough toilets and showers for the guests
- excellent city location - lots of places to eat nearby
- bus stop is in front of the hostel - talk about convenience
- cool photo booth to make your stay here a memorable one
- they have a cool winter special where you get your 4th night stay for free
CONS:
NOT APPLICABLE - I don't think there is still something to improve on! Kudos to all the staff who work for this jailhouse! You really made my stay there a very memorable one! Will be staying here again soon!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank jcbnavarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jailnz, Owner at Jailhouse Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2017

Hi and thank you so much for taking time to write your awesome review. We really appreciate it and hope you have a fantastic time in Christchurch and New Zealand. We love making sure all our guests have a memorable stay in Jail and reviews like your make it all worthwhile!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile

Old jail converted into a modern hostel makes for unique accomodation.
The hostel is very clean, there is lots of kitchen space, and the wifi is both free and reliable. The staff were great too - very friendly and welcoming!
At night it is quite and eerie, but that only adds to the ambience.
Very cool place. Would recommend!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jailnz, Owner at Jailhouse Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2017

Hi and thanks for staying in Christchurch and in Jail. Glad you loved the atmosphere, it is certainly a great and memorable experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews