We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$50
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-04-30
Hotels.com
US$50
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-05-01
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$65
US$45
View deal
SAVE US$20
Free cancellation until 21-04-28
Expedia.comUS$50
PricelineUS$50
StayForLongUS$65
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,365)
Filter reviews
3,366 results
Traveller rating
1,059
1,378
557
195
177
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,059
1,378
557
195
177
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mood lighting small room short stay central location buffet breakfast comfy bed business trip one night stay would stay again new zealand city urban pod earthquake nz
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 3,366 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2021

I usually stay at Breakfree in Christchurch if there's room, they have extremely friendly and professional staff. Any requests I might have are always responded to immediately, and once I forgot an item in the bar they called me immediately to alert me. Good ambiance and good food. Clean and well-equiped rooms. And convenient location in the centre.

Date of stay: February 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AccorHotels.com
Thank hthygesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron Winder, General Manager at BreakFree on Cashel Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2021

Kia ora hthygesen, Thank you for choosing BreakFree on Cashel for your accommodation during your visit to Christchurch and it is great to hear you have enjoyed your stay. We appreciate you taking the time to submit your review and we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, Aaron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 9, 2021

The staff at Breakfree are friendly and helpful. The bar staff also make your stay enjoyable. The rooms are smaller but have everything you need for a short break. Have stayed four times now and will continue to stay when we have a trip into the City.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AccorHotels.com
Thank maree714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron Winder, General Manager at BreakFree on Cashel Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2021

Kia ora Maree74, Thank you for choosing BreakFree on Cashel for your accommodation during your visit to Christchurch and it is great to hear you have enjoyed your stay. We appreciate you taking the time to submit your review and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Aaron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 21, 2021

An unfriendly welcome a non practical bathroom and a very noisy night
The welcome was so bad we decided to look for another restaurant rather using the one downstairs. The bathroom is made of glass and light pours in when you go in the night waking the kids and the Air circulation makes an awful lot of noise 24/7.
It was an horrible experience and we were exhausted the day after.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AccorHotels.com
Thank mailofwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron Winder, General Manager at BreakFree on Cashel Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2021

Kia ora maailofwill,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Breakfree on Cashel and taking the time to submit your survey and provide us with your comments. Please accept our apologies for the unfriendly welcome and the bad experience you had at the Hotel. We value feedback such as this as it allows us to fine tune our standards as we are constantly looking to improve the experience we offer to our guests.

Kind Regards

Aaron Winder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 19, 2021 via mobile

Staff were very welcoming as usual. Enjoyed my complimentary pint of beer.
Dinner was even nicer than my last visit (steak on mash).
Room was super clean and very quiet.
Checkout process was nice and quick too, plus car parking right next door.
What's not to like :)

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank thetedsternz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron Winder, General Manager at BreakFree on Cashel Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2021

Kia ora thetedsternz,

Thank you for choosing BreakFree on Cashel for your accommodation during your visit to Christchurch. It is good to see you have enjoyed your stay and we appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your review.

Kind Regards

Aaron Winder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 15, 2021

Room is very tiny with no windows. Bed is not most comfortable. Parking problems. My room was not made on second day. But it is room in CBD with reasonable price. Price go high if person add parking cost and breakfast cost.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AccorHotels.com
Thank bsidhu492668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron Winder, General Manager at BreakFree on Cashel Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2021

Kia ora bsidhu,

Thank you for choosing Breakfree on Cashel. We are sorry that the Hotel did not meet your expectations and we will definitely take your comments on board. The Inner rooms with no window are just some of the room types we have available at the Hotel with all City rooms featuring a window.

Kind Regards

Aaron Winder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews