We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, efficient and delicious food”

Mexico Christchurch
Ranked #137 of 1,201 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed December 24, 2016

I dined alone and joined on the end of a table with a group already seated. This was not a problem, as the vibe is really relaxed and fun. The duck leg special sounded amazing, but I instead ordered the lamb quesadilla and a beetroot salad. All was very yummy and I could only suggest a little more beetroot to make it more filling. All washed down with a vino tinto sangria. I'll be back!

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travellingfar00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 103 of 310 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2016 via mobile

I loved the food at Mexico!! Super tasty menu and the 4 varieties of hot sauce on the table means it's easy to spice up any dish to your taste. My only criticism is that the food comes out super fast, so you feel a little rushed as you go from having no food to having 5 dishes in the space of 5 minutes. As the tables are shared with other groups this meant we didn't have much room to eat. It would have been better if the food had been a little staggered instead of everything being brought out at once. It meant we were in and out of there in less than an hour. Good for the restaurant as they can turn more tables but not good for the customer as the dining experience is over way too fast.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Ellie_in_Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 22, 2016

Very busy Friday night. No booking. They fitted the four of us in. Service was good they were very busy Xmas parties. Food was served quickly. Very tasty We will be back.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fordmk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 18, 2016

This is a nice rustic restaurant serving good Mexican food.Meal are tapas style dishes and you are encouraged to share.Service was good

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank SHOOTERGAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 11, 2016

Very close to our hotel, popped into Mexico on a busy Saturday. They fitted us in and we were seated, ordered, served and done in less than 45 minutes!

Loved the food, especially the lamb quesadillas and hot sauces. Service was excellent. Not traditional Mexican, but tasty.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mexico Christchurch also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Mexico Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing