We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the cuff”
Review of Casa Publica

Casa Publica
Ranked #37 of 1,182 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$21
Restaurant details
Reviewed February 10, 2018 via mobile

Saturday evening, busy in town, no booking just walked in and asked if there was a table available for 3. Asked to wait while the guy who met us checked, yes he said within a couple of minutes and we were seated inside 4 minutes in a nicely appointed good sized booth, water and menus quickly provided by a charming waitress, options explained and a drinks order taken. Interesting menu with South American influences and some dishes new to us. Two beef Espetada medium rare, one Chicken Espetada, House salad, Tamales and Habanero crushed potatoes ordered and we chatted over our drinks. Meals quickly appeared, and discovered Espetada is skewered meat and onion presented in the vertical! Our waitress did advise in advance that the beef would likely be on the rare side of medium rare and she was right, but very tasty, well cooked and very enjoyable; there were 4 large pieces of beef each almost the size of a tennis ball; the chicken was well cooked and the salad and vegetables were outstanding, especially for me the Habanero potatoes! Portions were substantial and the black bean and quinoa in garlic, capsicum and oregano butter accompaniment just multiplied the taste sensation. Add to that an amazing drinks menu for rum lovers in particular and a good selection in other areas and it all added up to a major and very positive surprise. We we glad we didn't have an entree and we decided against a dessert despite some interesting choices we were all just too full from the main courses. So, treated well by professional, attentive but unobtrusive staff, comfortable setting but can get unavoidably noisy as the restaurant fills up, great choices, great food and reasonable prices means we'll be back, without a doubt.

Thank Jim333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo1905, Manager at Casa Publica, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2018

Hi Jim333,

Thank you for taking the time in providing us with such AMAZING feedback!

It is great to hear we exceeded your expectations and will be looking forward to having you again at Casa Publica.

Kind regards,
Aspen
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 134 of 566 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2018 via mobile

We use to come for drinks and quick tapas during the afternoon but wanted to show this place to my family coming from France and they did LOVE it
Everything was just amazing as always
We ve been there already for dinner was our 2nd time and we will come back again

Thank BeTravel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo1905, Manager at Casa Publica, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2018

Hi BeTravel59,

Thank you for the review, it is AWESOME to hear you love Casa Publica so much and we will look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Many thanks,
Aspen
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 7, 2018 via mobile

The menu for main course is not large here, maybe 6 or 7. We had booked for 8 pm after calling in earlier that day for drinks. 3 of the 4 of us wanted the ribs on the menu, after sitting down we quickly ordered only for the waitress to return 5 minutes later( after the wine had poured- may have been planned) to say there was only 1 rib meal left. We were a bit shocked that they could run out of one of their every day main courses so early in the evening. Yes it was a public holiday but with such a small menu you would think they could order appropriate volumes. So 2 people changed to other meals only to find the waitress back at our table 2 minutes later saying there were now no ribs left. We were incredulous, how could they let the last portion go knowing we wanted it. No real attempt to apologise was made. In the end we chose other meals which turned out to be appetising enough. We heard other people coming in after us also trying to get the ribs, so don't go here if you only want one thing on their menu as you could end up as disappointed as we were.

1  Thank Beardykev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo1905, Manager at Casa Publica, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2018

Hi Beardykev,

Thank you for the feedback. I do apologise that we ran out of ribs on this occasion.
It looks like everyone else came in for ribs that night too and we sold out very earlier compared to normal.
I can assure you that we went into the night with almost 30 portions and unfortunately sold them all by the time you were seated/order was taken.

Please let me know if you are still in Christchurch because I think I owe you some ribs.

Please get in touch! operations@casapublica.co.nz

Kind regards,
Aspen
Operations Manager

operations@casapublica.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 5, 2018

3 of us called for a late lunch. Spaces outside were full. We sat inside and ordered drinks immediately. Waitress was most helpful in advising on the dishes. I had Guacamole which was prepared at the table - the best ever! One of us had sweet potatoes and shredded pork - very tasty and the last dish was chicken on bread, salad and fries - superb! We were not rushed and all the food was finished. Very Mexican feel and music to suit. I like this place and would go again. 2 rounds of beer and food less than $100 - good value. In a great location - I guess this would be a lively place to visit in the evening.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 2, 2018 via mobile

Very friendly staff,fabulous food would recommend to anyone looking for somewhere to eat in Christchurch city

Thank Juliemagu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Publica also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Casa Publica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing