We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last night of tour.”
Review of Casa Publica

Casa Publica
Ranked #40 of 1,103 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$24
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited here when the cricket finished for the last night of our tour. Had previously been for drinks. Booked a table upstairs, chose drinks and looked at the menu, not a very big one but was a good variety. Orders taken ,drinks served then the food was served. Presentation was very good and so was the food! I didn't want the dish to end. The crackling was just like home! Service was good . After finishing we went downstairs for drinks, although we could have stayed where we were. It was reasonably priced and will happily return one day !

Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo1905, Manager at Casa Publica, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Shirley M,

Thank you for your kind words. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience at Casa Publica!

Many thanks,
Aspen
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This restaurant might even rate an "excellent." Nice atmosphere, friendly and efficient service, good beer/wine choices. Of course, you come to a restaurant to eat and the Casa Publica does it well. I fell in love with the ribs...hearty portion with lots of sauce (if that is to your liking). There is a small outdoor seating area (maybe its just drinking) where you can watch the world go by. Make reservation during busy periods.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo1905, Manager at Casa Publica, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Brian C,

Thank you for the review! Its great to hear you thoroughly enjoyed Casa Publica.

Many thanks,
Aspen
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Situated at the bottom of New Regent Street this was the first bar/restaurant we walked into on our first night.We were made to feel at home by the first rate staff and the quality of the food.
So much so that it became “the local” for the duration of the stay.
Not to be missed along with the Tango and Salsa dance nights.
Superb, thank you Casa Publica xxxx

Thank Davieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo1905, Manager at Casa Publica, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Davieboy,

Thank you for the AMAZING review! It was a pleasure having you!

All the best,
Aspen
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited on a couple of nights, food excellent, it’s selection of rums is outstanding. One evening was a Saturday night house DJ was ok but it was all loud house music. A really entertaining venue

Thank secondtomonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We hired the upstairs section of the restaurant for our engagement party and it went down a hit. The staff were very accommodating and the food was great for all to enjoy including vegetarian and vegan diets. Music and atmosphere was lovely. Only cons would be that it was VERY hot in there. In fact one of our friends came down with a fever and had to leave because it was too hot. Oh also - my elderly grandparents didn't like that the restrooms were down stairs. So they only went when they were desperate.If there was a lift maybe it would be easier?

Thanks!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Opal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo1905, Manager at Casa Publica, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Opal T,

Thank you for your review and choosing Casa Publica to have your engagement party.
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the food and service!

Many thanks,
Aspen
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Publica also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Casa Publica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing