We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ANOTHER SUCCESS”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Allan Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Allan Court Motel
Ranked #28 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“ANOTHER SUCCESS”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

The Allan Court was the final motel/hotel that we pre-booked for our 30 day stay in NZ. It completed a 100 per cent success rate of picking very good accommodation with the help of Tripadvisor and the respective reviewers. The high ratings and relevant comments that have already been made, provide all you need to know about Allan Court. The service provided by the co-manager, Jeff, was excellent. One of the recent reviewers below did comment below about what is Room 9, the room that we had. Our special circumstances made it relatively easy for us (my wife is deaf without her hearing aids and I am very easy going) but this room is right on a corner and there is a a noise and privacy issue that does not apply to the other rooms in the hotel. This is the only reason I have rated Allan Court as only "Very Good" I could have mentioned this to Jeff but I suppose someone had to get Room 9 and it was us. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanberraSenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    38
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
53
16
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
140 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

our group of 12 stayed overnight in this motel in March. very roomy modern units, comfortable beds, close to Olveston and the Botanical Gardens; and the owners were very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank del_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Our suite was a spacious apartment. The bedroom doesn't have much room for walking, but had a great bed. The location was great - about a 10 minute walk to the octagon (downtown), and 2 blocks from a great cafe. We loved the hosts and free Internet. They also have laundry machines - need to purchase detergent and drying time, but very affordable. The reception room also has a DVD and book library, with a tourist highlight of Dunedin.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fem80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We have stayed twice here. Both times were excellent in all respects except that the second was in the studio across from the office and on the street corner. The unit was noisy at night due to the main (George?) street, both road and foot traffic. Drapes are also required for privacy in that the unit is ground floor. Our first stay was in an upstairs unit bordering the side street and noise and privacy concerns were negligible. If the corner unit were the only one available we would probably still stay here but bring ear plugs and close the drapes.

Room Tip: Avoid corner unit across from office, due to noise and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnGaltUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Good hosts - very hosipitable and helpful. Close to city centre but not noisy. Unit very clean with everything you could possibly need in it. Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueMM186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland NZ
Level Contributor
155 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

When spouse and self walked in we said, with a little surprise “Been here before” but many years ago. Changes since then have been very little, if anything, if memory prevails. This is a central city motel, convenient to most services one may need. A 15-minute walk towards the Octagon takes one past restaurants which may be of excellent quality but have an outward appearance of otherwise. Even the nearest pub, so far as we know it, is not as it was. Does memory fail or has this part of George Street had a downward trend?
The room provided everything we needed for 2-nights and the hospitality at reception was excellent with the room clean and spacious. With certainty, any information we may have needed would have been available but, simply put, we did not need any. We ordered an Indian takeaway, for evening, from somewhere which turned up by their stated time – enough for two evenings in fact. The nearest restaurant is at the Quality Inn but the menu in the motel folder didn’t appeal, neither did the venue which I visited for a look-see.
I believe it true to say this motel is busy, provides an excellent service in the central city with clean and satisfactory rooms though has nothing exceptional going for it. Nevertheless, we would happily stay there again due to convenience to the city centre if that was required.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Probian9910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Wonderful, Comfortable, unit. Jeff bends over backwards to help in accomodating you.. Keeps a very high standard of cleanliness in the units and the grounds. Love it!!!!

Room Tip: Handicapped Unit available if required. Very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.0 km away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#22 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.2 km away
Aurora on George
Aurora on George
#16 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.3 km away
Alexis Motor Lodge
Alexis Motor Lodge
#5 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.3 km away
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
#25 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.8 km away
Dunedin Palms Motel
Dunedin Palms Motel
#10 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allan Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allan Court Motel

Property: Allan Court Motel
Address: 590 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Allan Court Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our units are non-smoking, warm and spacious with cooking facilities, microwave, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, television in the main bedroom and lounge, Sky channels, DVD, Free wifi unlimited. Guest Laundry, free off street parking, continental breakfasts are available. We are close to Forsyth Barr Stadium, Otago museum, main shopping precinct, restaurants, cafes,bars, University of Otago, Botanical Gardens. Tours to the Otago Peninsula, albatross and penguin colonies. Larnach Castle, Cadbury World, Speights Brewery, Taieri Gorge Railway trip, Monarch harbour cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Allan Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing