We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great facilities and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Commodore Motel

Commodore Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Commodore Motel
Ranked #36 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great facilities and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

A wonderful place that we will be recommending to friends and family. Room was spacious and well equipped. First class service with a smile

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cosmith28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    31
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
43
18
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Metropolis, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We had a lovely stay as a sports team. Clean and serviced units, friendly and approachable staff. Great value for money. In great location - walking distance to so many things.

Room Tip: Family rooms very spacey
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tobjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

My daughter and i stayed a couple of nights and found the staff fantastic, very helpful and friendly. The rooms clean and very comfortable.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mmmmim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

I am a sales rep based in Christchurch, when i travel to Dunedin i have found staying at the commodore fits with my job. the motel is easy to find, flexable with my 6am start times and the owners are very nice.
the rooms are big and clean and over all it is a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: I dont think their is a bad room all of the rooms i have stayed in are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christchurch
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Spent one night on the first floor - very clean and comfortable and friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluechch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

From the outside the motel looks dated, however the rooms are very clean and inviting. We stayed in the 3 bedroom apartment and it was perfect for our group. We were there for the World Cup and the owners had provided breakfast to all of our tour group which was very thoughtful. It was an easy walk into town and to the stadium. Bars were only a short distance away. They have 1 hour of free internet per day also which is unusual as most places were only 20 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosieMarie95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

Was down in Dunedin for the rugby world cup and Commodore Motel/Apartment was the only place i could book without a 2 night minimum stay. The price was reasonable given it was the rugby world cup time. On checkin the receptionist gave us a map of dunedin and explain where things, how to get to the game etc. The room (Studio Standard) was very compact (for 2, perfect for a single person) but was clean and tidy. Given that i was staying only for a night i did not find the size of the room a big issue. It is pretty much the first motel you find when you enter Dunedin so handy location.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hda29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.6 km away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#10 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.2 km away
Cable Court Motel
Cable Court Motel
#33 of 58 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.2 km away
Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
#25 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.8 km away
Allan Court Motel
Allan Court Motel
#26 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
2.6 km away
Dunedin Palms Motel
Dunedin Palms Motel
#11 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Motel

Property: Commodore Motel
Address: 932 Cumberland Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Commodore Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commodore is a 4 Star Qualmark quality assured Rated Motel which offers clean, comfortable, and modern accommodation. We have a great team of staff who are passionate about Dunedin and what it has to offer. Our selection of rooms is from the standard studio for 1 or 2 people, right through to large family room fully equipped sleeping up to 8. We are located on State Highway 1 at the north end of the city, just next door to Dunedin's famous Botanic Gardens. This is a fantastic place to let the kids blow off some steam. Affiliated with Dunedin's top golf courses with great advice to offer. Dunedin Hospital is a short walk, Otago University is 2-3 min. walk away, the ForsythBarr Stadium is a 20min stroll, and the Octagon is a 20min stroll. we offer the full package for your time in Dunedin. Come and stay and let the team at Commodore show you true hospitality Southern Style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Commodore Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing