We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous location and accommodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunedin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yellow House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 59 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
80 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Gorgeous location and accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

We drove a beautifully scenic route from Twizel to the Otago peninsula, making several stops along the way and arrived at the Yellow House mid-afternoon. We were warmly welcomed by Jan and shown to the Starry Suite and were very pleased with our choice of accommodation.

The location is perfect, raised above the water's edge, set back from the road and just an easy 10 minute walk from the pretty little village of Portobello. The views from both the garden and the suite are beautiful, especially at high tide when little Pudding Island is surrounded by water.

The suite itself was spacious with a big comfortable bed and lovely lounge area all flooded with natural light from the many windows. There is a second lounging area and also a small dining table and chairs.

Breakfast each morning was taken in the Tower (a little square turret set at the top of the house) from where we enjoyed beautiful views and a delicious freshly prepared breakfast.

We walked to the 1908 restaurant, in Portobello, both evenings and were very impressed by the quality of the food and the ambience of the place. We were also delighted that we had chosen the Otago Peninsula rather than Dunedin as we loved the area and spent our time exploring it by using the unmade but good rough roads.

Like a previous reviewer we do not normally stay in B&Bs but in New Zealand this proved to be so excellent that we could be converted! The Yellow House was delightful and we would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
88
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

Beautifully located on the otago peninsula, had a great view of the ocean from my bed...jan and mike were perfect hosts and jan cooked a wonderful breakfast. Very neat and clean and spacious, we both had a great time. Though you cannot see the stars from the starry suite as the street lights nearby make it impossible.

One tip - For reaching the place, take the exit to otago peninsula as soon as you enter dunedin, we went to the city centre and it took us one hour to reach the place.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karangarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2010

The hosts' warm touch and attention to detail is evident throughout the Yellow House. The rooms and showers were spotless, the bed was more comfortable than the one we had at home, the made to order breakfast was delicious. They were also very helpful with planning out our Otago Peninsula itinerary and ensuring that we get the most out of our stay. I wish we could have places like this everywhere we travel. A true gem.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cama11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altstaetten
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

we arrived portobello on a rainy afternoon and was warmly welcomed by jan the host of yellow house. we stayed 3 days in the "bedroom" and enjoyed the great view to the pudding island and the surrounding water. yellow house is a place to relax and do all the excursions like pinguin, albatros watching visite the larnach castle and many other activities.
sad to go away from this beautiful place and the great hosts jan and mike. thank you so much for the time to be together.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tino48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
104 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

Wow. My husband and I are NOT B&B type people but this place may have changed my mind. We arrived here super late due to my inability to calculate distance and drive time. I felt terrible being so late but Jan and Mike were gracious hosts. The road around the peninsula is very windy and there was actually an accident that night so be cautious around the turns. I also used the visual of the Pudding Island to find the B&B since it was right around a corner and you can easily miss it. But once you find it you will not want to leave. We had the Starry Suite which I highly recommend. It is truly one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed. Glass windows surround the room and even has a giant moving wall that is all glass. Your view from the bed is of the Pudding Island. Stunning. The bed is so comfortable you will not want to wake up! You also have a huge sitting area with a glass ceiling so you can view the stars on a clear night. The bathroom was well equipped and had a big bathtub and good shower. We had breakfast in the tower which was offered great views, a newspaper and a choice of sweet or savory breakfast…you can’t go wrong. Everything was wonderful. Fresh baked breads and an amazing kiwi jam! They also had the best Berman cats. I want one now. We only stayed 2 nights but I could have stayed much longer. It is a great location on the peninsula and you cannot beat the view!

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HollyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2010

Great location for the albatross colony and Larnach Castle. Clean and comfortable. Jan & Mike were very welcoming.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wingman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2010

As others have said, this B&B is a great place to stay. We really enjoyed our time here and should have stayed longer. Jan & Mike are really nice and took the time to find out what restaurants were open the night we were there (a bank holiday) and book us in somewhere. Jan's brekkie was fantastic and it is such a good idea that it is served in the tower which has fab views. Would really recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nay-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
2.7 km away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#6 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
10.8 km away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
11.8 km away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Portobello Motel
Portobello Motel
#1 of 2 in Portobello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
14.2 km away
Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
10.5 km away
Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellow House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Yellow House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 822 Portobello Road | Portobello, Dunedin 9014, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into a lovely little bay just above the enchanting “Pudding Island” and before you reach Portobello itself is one of the Peninsula’s original treasures. The 'Yellow House,' as it is known to the locals, dates back to the 1890s and is now a unique sanctuary, offering a variety of luxury accommodation to both the discerning and weary traveller alike. The 'Starry Suite' is situated in a separate wing off the main house. The large bedroom and private relaxation areas offer breathtaking views of the harbour and nearby Pudding Island. A large glass ceiling over the sitting area means guests can gaze up at the star-filled Southern skies on clear nights. A two-person spa bath features in the large en-suite bathroom. Television in own private sitting area. The 'Bedroom' is set in the original house and offers delightful views of both the harbour and garden. So close to the water, guests can listen to the calming sounds of the harbour whilst lying in the beautiful queen-sized bed. A separate entrance and ensuite allow guests the privacy to enjoy the comfort and serenity provided by The Bedroom. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing