We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! What a place!”
Review of Fletcher Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fletcher Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2011

A beautiful night in this friendly home. Ewa was full of information and clearly loves sharing her home with others. We were on the second floor, in the front, overlooking a beautiful garden. The home has been stunningly restored, and information about Dunedin's history was available in the room and in the library. Breakfast was generous. The Octogon is just down the hill. Onsite parking.
Recommended to us by Robert of Tailored Travel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmavenCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2011

If you want to travel in time and live history then this place is a must check in. Ownedby a hosiptable Portugese couple each room in this property is very beautifully done. Built somewhere in 19th century this place is equipped with all modern facilities offers a unique experience. Customised attention while serving a brilliant spread in breakfast is worth experiencing........... must go place..

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reetika T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Unfortunately our experience mirrors the review written 24 April 2010.
We too had the misfortune to have been booked into the Arran room - gloomy beyond belief. Plus it is off the main hall opposite the lounge, next to the computer, and with glass panelled doors it is very “on view”.
A computer was provided to check emails but it was very slow. To use our own laptop would have been a charge of NZ$20. This was the only B&B in our 5 week holiday to charge for wifi.
Dunedin itself was a disappointment although the nearby Otago Peninsula has good wildlife and coastal scenery. We booked for 2 nights but I would only recommend 1 as a stopover on what otherwise could be a long journey between other attractions.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwipolly, Owner at Fletcher Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2011

Gloomy is as Gloomy does-
I find it truly astounding that after a five week tour of New Zealand this happy couple joined trip advisor especially to post one negative report. Surely in a country as diverse in scenery and as abounding in wildlife, land based and aquatic, there was something, somewhere, they liked!
They didn’t like Dunedin and they didn’t like Fletcher Lodge something they made very apparent during their stay. Each to their own of course but it’s difficult to rely too strongly on a report that dismisses a culturally rich vibrant city renowned as the historical and wildlife centre of New Zealand as “at most a stopover”
As to their room which boasts a magnificent white ornate plaster ceiling, bespoke furniture and light wallpapers and bedding it has a floor to ceiling tiled bathroom with under floor heating, this they described as gloomy. Then of course there’s the period glass door, a bit devious not to mention the fact that it is the entrance to the ante room and of course the bedroom/bathroom complex has its own separate solid wooden door! They do refer to a previous report but conveniently overlook the fact that the writers of that report had the courtesy and good grace to point out their likes as well as dislikes.
Both reporters unfortunately didn’t like the city they were in and that’s never a good start for us, in so far that I know they are so wrong about Dunedin I take heart that they could be wrong about us too.
Lastly the $20 they mention is our charge for doing the guests laundry and they didn’t want to pay that either.
I do however entirely agree the “Free” broadband computer has become too slow for the rapid advancements in modern software and it is being replaced for the new season.
I wish this couple from London well and will try to see constructive criticism but I feel we are literally worlds apart.
Keith and Ewa Hosts and owners of Fletcher Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

Ewa and Keith provided us with a night of absolute luxury. When we arrived, late at night after our wedding, our apartment was beautifuly presented, quiet and romantic.
Breakfast the following morning was just as good. It was cooked to perfection and served in a magnificent dining room.

Ewa and Keith have got a real hidden gem in Dunedin. As a local, I can thoroughly recommend this. Wether you're travelling from a distance, or simply live and Dunedin and fancy a night of luxury, there is nowhere else I would rather go.

Top class in all ways possible.

Thankyou very much for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregorChrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Our confirmed booking, which was to co-incide with the Rugby World Cup (for which we have booked flights and match tickets) has been cancelled by Fletcher Lodge owing to a 'computer glitch'. They claim there was never availability for our booking, despite them writing personally to confirm our reservation.

Alternative accommodation has not been provided by Fletcher Lodge despite entering into a contract with us and we suspect we have be 'gazumped' by Fletcher Lodge for a better offer.

This unfortunate incident has been reported to the Commerce Commission who are collating similar complaints in the build-up to the RWC.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank FairGoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwipolly, Owner at Fletcher Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2012

We wanted to take this opportunity to apologise again, as you feel that you were wrongly done by. Although as we explained in our emails to you, there was an error with the technology between our internal system and the website that you booked on. The lodge had been fully booked for months prior to your booking. We contacted you as soon as we became aware of your booking - 9 months prior to your stay. We would be very pleased to welcome you on your next trip to Dunedin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Fletcher Lodge is a place you shouldn’t miss.
We stayed at Fletcher lodge for 4 days and would love to have stayed longer.. We considered ourselves extremely lucky to stay in such a place which offers a rare glimpse of New Zealands Heritage and offers luxury accommodation in an atmosphere of elegance while providing luxurious comfort and modern facilities.
Our Suite was delightful and spacious, with its enchanting views of the peninsula, town, garden and valley. My bath in the freestanding claw foot bath was outstanding and very relaxing. They also had a good wi-fi connection which was important to us and not to forget the 42" Widescreen Plasma TV to get the news from the outside world.
Ewa’s and Keith charm and hospitality has made our visit most relaxing. We have fond memories of Fletcher Lodge and look forward to return visit. A definite place to stay if we manage to get back to Dunedin - if they're not fully booked!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wegge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

This time last year we were 'wowed' by the Edinburgh Suite (Luxury) ....this year we were unable to book this suite and instead stayed in The Wickliffe Room (Premium) .and were again wowed.Obviously there is a price difference and it is NZ$145 per room per night - as there should be - the facilities are very much in keeping with the price - it would be naive to think otherwise.The Standard rooms are cheaper again ($125 less than Premium) ...and are priced accordingly - it all depends what you require.
The rest of the service is identical - magic breakfasts , safe secure parking ,all the bells and whistles - nothing spared plus wonderful hosts.
Dunedin itself is a wonderful city - but like most cities it can be a bit frayed around the edges ( can't think of a single city without graffiti - can you?) - Fletcher Lodge is not frayed in any respect . Stay in hotels NEVER ( well sometimes you have no choice) - give me personally hosted, owner operated, luxury B&B's any day.Dressed with history and I am home in one - B&B heaven if you like..Maybe next time I will sample a standard room - I am sure I will not be disappointed - it's the service,location and the hosts that count for me every time - and Fletcher Lodge has this in 'spades' (- they are 5 mins from the Casino too...if you need a flutter!)
To be honest I would have given Fletcher Lodge a '6' but Trip Advisor thinks a '5' is max!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heritage1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.8 km away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
747 reviews
10.4 km away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#6 of 61 in Dunedin
640 reviews
11.3 km away
Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 km away
Portobello Motel
Portobello Motel
#1 of 2 in Portobello
469 reviews
1.9 km away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#8 of 61 in Dunedin
450 reviews
2.1 km away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 61 in Dunedin
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fletcher Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fletcher Lodge

Address: 276 High Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Dunedin
Price Range: $416 - $570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fletcher Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few minutes walk from the Dunedin City centre, Fletcher Lodges complex offers luxury accommodation in an atmosphere of restrained elegance while providing the ultimate in contemporary comfort and modern facilities.Nestled in a secluded, established gardens the lodge complex is conveniently located within minutes of many of the citys finest and most popular cafes and restaurants.A Lodge stay offers the charm and personal attention of a bed and breakfast whilst extending the amenities associated with full service HotelsBuilt by Sir James Fletcher in 1924 to serve as his private residence whilst he oversaw the construction of the New Zealand and South Seas Exhibition complex, the main historic property offers a rare glimpse of New Zealands Heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fletcher Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing