We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (699)
Filter reviews
699 results
Traveller rating
466
169
46
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
466
169
46
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews music room other guests sea room otago peninsula unique experience converted stables self guided tour stable block between courses house party barker family new zealand free entry four poster bed rose room corner room cooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 699 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Greatly enjoyed our stay in the Rose Room over Easter to see Ed Sheeran perform. Unlike other establishments Larnach Castle Lodge kept their room rates reasonable. We enjoyed the mix of period decor with modern features, a nice heated floor in the bathroom was a pleasant addition on a cold morning.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank janineporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018 via mobile

We stayed one night in the Lodge and it was luxurious, comfortable and in a superb location. We also had dinner in the castle at a long table with all the other guests - An excellent opportunity to meet people and share experiences. The good was superb too. Unforgettable.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank xerxes25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018

The Otago Peninsula is beautiful, and Larnach Castle is a fascinating slice of history. The castle is about a 20 minute drive from Dunedin - something that guests should keep in mind with regards to food, especially if you have dietary requirements. The food at the castle (breakfast, cafe and dinner) is plentiful, but won't be suited to everyone.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 812emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2018

The castle and rooms at the lodge were gorgeous. The view from our window overlooking the bay was spectacular. I can’t say enough about the staff and breakfast. Super. Thank you for a great stay. We will be back for another stay.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rmorganus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2018

Stayed in a themed room in Lanarch Castle Lodge, which was clean and comfortable and had everything needed for a couple of nights stay. Great views from the bedroom. Breakfast in the Stable restaurant was to die for, so much selection. Grounds and garden were beautiful. Great place to stay to explore the Otago Peninsula and Dunedin City.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank apowell2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews