We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, dated, road noise, dirty, odd.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Ranked #56 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
1 review
“Overpriced, dated, road noise, dirty, odd.”
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Came for world cup match and paid too much for a suite which was dated and on the corner of two main roads. Shower too low and people could see into bathroom if they wanted. No complimentry tea or coffee despite kettle etc. Crappy small tv. Asked for late check out. Denied. Crap crap crap.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamadadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    30
    36
    13
    14
See reviews for
20
33
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

There is no doubt that it hasn't had a facelift in a while (if ever) but we found it decent enough. The staff were ok to deal with. There is not a whole lot in the immediate area but the quad or whatever it's called is only a few minute walk away as is the main town centre. It is absolutely not luxurious or anything but for a short stay I would say there is nothing wrong with it.
It probably would be no harm for them to invest in some paint and new furniture.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cudman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

This is more like a boarding house than a hotel, with dated and clunky furnishings. That said, it is clean with comfortable enough beds and adequately working showers. It's not the sort of place you would want to stay in for more than 1 or 2 days. The location is fine, just outside of the main commercial drag of Dunedin. The reception staff was friendly enough if appearing a bit jaded.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank detoxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol, england
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

I stayed in the backpackers dorm which was a small, dark and cold room which only had 1 heater that didnt work very well. They did provide us with another heater on the 2nd night so it was alot warmer with 2!
The location is good - about 10 minutes to the city and supermarkets.
The kitchen was compact but in good condition and the showers and toilets were well maintained.
The staff were not very friendly or helpful which was unfortunate.
The TV room on the 1st floor was cosy and had quite a number of sofas to choose from!
Overall an ok hostel which needs updating and more heating!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2010

We stayed in the Leviathan for 2 nights, we read that this is an old Hotel before reserving so had some clue about where we were going.
The service at this hotel was out of this world, we were welcomed and given a list of interesting things to do in Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula including tips about what are the best times and tours available.
The hotel is old but is well run with all the expected services available. We were used to staying in backpackers and I would say that this hotel is about the same level as some backpackers.The hotel is very large and the corridors go on and on but we were given an internal room (not streetfront) and so was very quiet so we did not mind the walk.
We reserved a double room, the room was very large (almost like a suite), with a bed, sofas, coffee table, kitchenette, TV (with all the public channels +Sky movies) and with an ensuite, of course.
The room was not so clean - there were stains on the carpet and in the bathroom sink but it was not too bad. The hotel provides daily cleaning service and as we weren't interested the cleaning crew offered us a set of clean towels and the rest of the amenities they provide (more tea and coffee and soaps and shampoo), we thought that this was a nice touch.
The hotel had many guests but everything was quiet and there were no disturbances.
The location is very good very close to the center of the city and by the train station and museams and they also provide free parking for your vehicle.
All in all we enjoyed our stay in Dunedin and Otago Peninsula and the Leviathan.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilelstka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2009

Hi, we visit the Leviathan on our way to queens town on the stray travel bus... once we arrived we found out that one of our backpack whas missing, after a few phone calls from the owner of the place (peter) we knew that our pack was still in Bluff at the ferry.
peter phoned some acquaintance from the aluminium smelter and some how arranged a pickup from the ferry and got our pack deliverd the next day! and for all our sorrow we got an upgrade from the dorms to a two person room! for free ! Peter was so helpful without him we would not got ourbag so quickly and about the sanatary of the place there is nothing wrong with it when we visit the place evreything was clean! it looks a bit old fashion but that gives it his charme! go there!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cadillacamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2009

Recently, my High School, Kirwan High, went on a music tour around New Zealand and stayed at the Leviathan hotel over night. I found the place interesting and full of history. It was not the most flash hotel, but it had character and a sense of humbleness and antiqueness. Everything was somewhat beautiful from the furniture to the art works and I think people should not base accommodation with materialistic views. You do not need hi-tech computers with the internet, large televisions and so on in order to be comfortable. I would definitely consider staying here once more and I recommend it to anyone travelling to Dunedin, New Zealand. It was clean, tidy and restored.
You may think that I am young I have no experience in accommodation; but in fact I’ve been to varies places in France, including Paris, Rome and Hong Kong. And of course around my home country Australia.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haela007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.1 km away
The Law Courts Hotel
The Law Courts Hotel
#49 of 61 in Dunedin
104 reviews
0.5 km away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
1.4 km away
The Sahara Guesthouse & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Wains Hotel Dunedin
Wains Hotel Dunedin
#45 of 61 in Dunedin
300 reviews
3.3 km away
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ocean Beach Hotel
#33 of 61 in Dunedin
197 reviews
0.3 km away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#12 of 61 in Dunedin
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leviathan Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leviathan Heritage Hotel

Property: Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Address: 27 Queens Gardens | PO Box 112, Dunedin, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Leviathan Heritage Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Leviathan Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing