We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Bigger, better

We took this tour several years ago and in spite of really bad weather we thoroughly enjoyed it... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
AnnZ857
,
Carrboro, North Carolina
Great 7 hr afternoon trip

Tour by small minibus ca 10 people. The driver gave an almost constant comentary on the outward... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Paul B
via mobile
Read all 963 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Dunedin
from US$105.97
More Info
Reviews (963)
Filter reviews
963 results
Traveller rating
867
84
8
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
867
84
8
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea lions fur seals otago peninsula albatross centre monarch cruise boat trip saw seals bird life guide land minibus conservation fitness
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 963 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2019

What a fantastic experience! We really wanted to see penguins on our trip to New Zealand and we were not disappointed with this excellent wildlife tour to a private beach sanctuary and breeding colony for yellow-eyed penguins. They were moulting when we visited so were not terribly active but we were fortunate enough to be able to watch 6 penguins appear out of the sea, waddle up the beach and then start hopping up the cliffs. Sadly, we did not see any blue penguins but that was our fault for visiting at the wrong time of year. We also saw a number of sea lions, visited the best site for watching lots of baby seals playing in pools among the rocks and having what looked like a wonderful time and saw a large number of albatross flying above Taiaroa Head. From the bus during our travels between sites, we also saw a large number of other birds including spoonbills and herons. Donna was a really knowledgeable and excellent guide and we felt that we totally got our moneys worth and more. An American on the same tour told us that they had done numerous wildlife tours in lots of different places around the world and felt that this was by far the best they had been on.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Seonaid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 25, 2019

We had a great time on the boat tour, at the albatross blind, and hike down to the penguin beach. Loved seeing the albatross, penguins, seals, and birds on the cliffs and along the way. Albatross were our target bird, but watching the penguins on that beautiful beach was very special.
The guides, especially Warren, were very informative and helpful.
The only negative was that it's an eight hour tour with no real meal break. The Albatross Center serves food, but there was no time to eat there. Be sure to bring along a lunch or plenty of snacks.

Date of experience: February 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank barbd117
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 21, 2019

A well-organised operation that has been in business a long time (I used them for a similar trip almost 20 years ago). Professionally run with good, knowledgeable guides.

We did the Encounters Tour + Royal Albatross Centre Tour, about 6-7 hours long departing mid-afternoon. It is worth paying the extra to get into the Albatross Centre hide for a close-up view of the nesting birds and a good briefing on the research and management of the albatrosses.

Sharing the beach with the Hooker's Sea Lions and Yellow-eyed Penguins is a wonderful experience, as well as seeing the NZ Fur Seal colony.

I would highly recommend this tour to anyone with the slightest interest in wildlife

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 20, 2019

The trip with Elm to see the wild and endangered seal, penguin, and seal lions was an amazing experience! Close access to the wildlife in a very scenic coastal setting. Highly recommended for those that enjoy natural settings.

Date of experience: February 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank shimerwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 20, 2019

Our tour with Elm Wildlife Tours was the one of the best experiences we had during our trip to New Zealand. The wildlife we saw, the insightful information we received from our guides, and their passion for the animals and the Otago Peninsula made this experience unique. We can only recommend their tours.to anybody interested in experiencing the nature and wildlife in this part of the world.

Date of experience: February 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews