We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Ranked #20 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Lovely family room in a really good location. Clean, well appointed and the spa was great. Highly recommend value for money

Room Tip: Close to Cadbury World and walking distance to everything
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vanessa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
There are newer reviews for The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 230 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2011

I live in Dunedin so don't often get to stay in local hotels but it snowed and I left it too late to get home. The Victoria was about the cheapest last minute place so I thought I'd give it a go. The place seemed to be deserted - I only ever saw the two reception staff, no other guests. The room has evidently been recently refurbished and was fairly large, with two double beds. The one I slept in was particularly comfortable. The best thing about the hotel is its location - close to the Octagon for dinner and to the University for work.

The one slight black mark was the furniture: the room was quite wide to accommodate the two beds, with the flatscreen TV on the wall, facing the beds but halfway between them. Good if both beds are occupied I guess but not optimal viewing if there's just one of you using the room. This would have been solved by having a chair or two between the beds (there was room) but the only chair was a single wooden kitchen chair.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NZBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The rooms were clean enough - but the hotel in general is extremely dated - with no sign of being upgraded.

Breakfast was fine - with a standard variety of food on offer, toast, cereal and juices.

Apart from Leo who was the concierge, manager, valet, everyone - staff were useless.

Mainly, the reason we gave this hotel a poor rating is that the room cost $450. They capitalized on the Rugby World Cup being held in Dunedin after the earthquakes in Christchurch.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cass and Age
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We enjoyed our stay here, the rooms were tidy and well presented. There was SKY movies and SS1 on the TV. The electric heating was adequate if a little noisy (perhaps just that particular heater). Breakfast the next morning was very good. Location is great, you are right in the middle of Dunedin beside the Cadbury factory. Would stay again

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank bosha_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Hotel is a little dated but is currently being renovated.
Room was good size and comfortable.
New lift being installed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AucklandTrammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We arrived late at around 11:20pm, took intercity bus from CHCH, and the bus stop is just 5min walk to the hotel which was great, so we didn't have to drag our luggage very far in the middle of the night. The manager was even on duty when we arrived apparently the weekend was quite busy due to the uni graduation.
We booked the Deluxe Continental package which costs $110/night inc. breakfast. Nothing posh but nice clean spacious room serviced everyday, friendly staff. Considering this is shared by 2 ppl it's not that expensive at all.
Forget about the pre-packed ones, the home made muesli there is absolutely delicious! Accompanied by all you can eat berries coulis just made my day. I tried eggs benedict one morning, yum!
As for dinner the dishes tastes good in general but the portion is VERY FILLING so beware ladies especially if you still wanna go for a dessert. (Apple Tart is a must)

All in all the experience was good, the location is superb we basically walked around town, to the railway station, uni, museum & so on. The hotel staff also arranged trips booking for us which saved us the hassle, the only down side is that the hotel is under renovation so a bit of construction work going on here & there, Wifi was unavailable during our stay but cable can be borrowed from the reception.
The new lift is still under construction, but the manager said the rooms will be revamped gradually and hopefully (if) we return next year everything will be all freshened up.
We sure will be looking forward to that.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank moccas_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Place was under refurbishment when I went there, however as discribed on website.
Nice and friendly reception staff, great food, too!
Beds were nice and comfy, had about 10 channels to choose from on TV.
With the price that you pay for this hotel room, you will find it is real value for money!
I see ludicrous people expecting everything for nothing on trip advisor, realistically you get what you paid for, isn't it?
With the rate that this hotel charges you per night, you can only stay in 2 star hotels around town - looking 20 odd years old facilities, snowy TV with few channels, and a bed you feel spring on your back!
It is true that you get a real bargain on this place-not sure how long that price would last for.
I will be using this hotel every time that I come to Dunedin from now on.

Room Tip: Ask for north facing room when you check in
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.4 km away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 61 in Dunedin
764 reviews
0.5 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#40 of 61 in Dunedin
387 reviews
0.8 km away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.8 km away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
1.0 km away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 61 in Dunedin
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel Dunedin

Address: 137 St Andrew Street | PO Box 5737, Dunedin 9011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#20 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: $103 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Victoria Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kia ora, Welcome to the Victoria Hotel Dunedin. Our hotel is located in the heart of Central Dunedin, minutes walk away from the city's attractions, shops and businesses. At the Victoria Hotel you can expect a warm welcome, a comfortable stay and an excellent location. We take pride in the level of service we offer and are dedicated to going the extra mile for our guests. Our reception desk is open 24/7. When you come to stay at The Victoria Hotel you have two restaurants to choose from, both of which offer room service at no extra cost. You can also relax in our Lounge Bar and make use of the Wi-fi we offer in the bar area free of charge. For modern New Zealand cuisine, you can come to our Well Manor restaurant for Breakfast between 7-10am and Dinner from 6-8pm 7 days a week, or you may like to spice it up with some Flame Grilled Peri-Peri Chicken at our Nando's Restaurant from 11am-9pm every day. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Victoria Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunedin
Dunedin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing