We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
157
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scottish breakfast copper beech crackling fire b bs sheer delight enclosed porch created an environment magnificent home antique furniture extensive library attentive hosts beautiful house lounge and dining room maintained garden open fireplace new zealand excellent hospitality
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 162 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2018 via mobile

Had a fantastic night at The Argoed BnB. Host Bruce was amazing sharing history of local area and looking after our every need. Attention was paid to every detail, the house is itself a piece of history. Pristine and clean! I recommend this to anyone who likes staying in BnBs.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Isabel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 15, 2018

The house, the garden and the hosts are all perfect. We loved everything about our stay at The Argoed (unfortunately only one night, but we look forward to another, longer, stay). Bruce and Wendy are great hosts providing all the attention and information that you could possibly need. Breakfast is outstanding and served in a beautiful room, as all rooms are. Given our limited time Bruce recommended the Toitu Otago Settlers Museum as a must do - it is fantastic (thankyou Bruce for the recommendation and for the Speight's Alehouse recommendation). We did not know much about Dunedin before we stayed for one day and night, but we have found out enough to make us want to come back for longer - there is a lot to see and do.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank RLFP_WSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 8, 2018

Wonderful home built in 1880 and very well cared for. Wonderful art and overall decor. Country manor ambiance. Bruce and Wendy fine hosts who provide excellent breakfast as well as local knowledge. Shared facilities never a problem. Well deserved TA ranking.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Daangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 6, 2018

The Argoed is so good that we wished we'd stayed another night or two. The house is old and beautiful (I really wanted to live there!). The room was beautifully appointed, with all the little touches you would hope for. Everything was high standard and spotlessly clean. Location is excellent, and Dunedin is an interesting place. Bruce, the host, is a lovely man, very helpful and informative, and made us feel really welcome and at home. Breakfast was superb (especially the Scottish breakfast, I enjoyed that Bruce!). This must be one of the very best B&Bs in New Zealand!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheMirror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 4, 2018

Lovely well kept house, finely furnished in English country house style. Very comfortable, very large bed. Breakfast is a real treat, with choices including Scottish, Kiwi, and Australian. Bruce and Wendy are impeccable and attentive hosts. Highly recommended as an overnight stay (or longer) but be aware that the address can be difficult to find without an accurate GPS!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwen1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews