We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and yummy”

The Saucy Chef on St Andrew
Ranked #8 of 119 Restaurants in Invercargill
Price range: US$15 - US$42
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

We ate here to celebrate father's day and it was lovely. The service was attentive and obliging,the food was warm and served in good time and the surroundings were clean, modern, tasteful and warm. I really liked the kid's menus - our toddler and preschooler are not huge eaters and often struggle with a regular 'kids meal' so it was great to not waste money on half eaten meals. The adult's menu had a good selection to choose from for varying appetites. We'll definitely dine here again.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank rebecca k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 478 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2018

I was surprised to find such a good restaurant given its location. Food was very good especially the fried salt & pepper squid. Service was good. I will come again.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 1945Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2018 via mobile

Lovely atmosphere and fantastically friendly service! The food was very good with all party’s at the table enjoying their meals. We went on a Sunday night but lingered on after dinner and at no time were pressured to finish up. Fully recommend!

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank josiep560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2018

We all really enjoyed our meal, menu was great something for everyone including a little bit of game which suited us. Atmosphere was great to, enjoyed a drink first in the bar area before being escorted to our table. Service was excellent, we learnt later that our young waitress was new but honestly we would never have known she was excellent. Overall a very good night out and would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kersandsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed a wonderful meal tonight. Each course showed the chefs skill. The beef cheeks were very tender, the venison was superb. Special thanks to Rubyjane for looking after us with just the right amount of attention. Recommended.

Date of visit: September 2018
2  Thank Excursion623835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Saucy Chef on St Andrew also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to The Saucy Chef on St Andrew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing