We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse hospitality ever!”
Review of Amity Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amity Lodge Motel
Ranked #24 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Unfortunately bad experiences here, had to cancel my trip due to family issues, they still charged me full wack!!, unbelievable ?!?! They were not responsive at all, bad bad very bad.
They said not even sorry, but more in the sense of that will be the most expensive stay with us for you, can you believe that?!

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Ger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiggy10, Owner at Amity Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

This is a terrible accusation. I would like to know when your booking was supposed to be for?
You might have the wrong place. How can you judge our hospitality when you havent even stayed?
You cannot just go On-line and say something like this when it is not true.
Please explain further. Is your name Nitesh Malpani from India?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

This is my first choice when I come to Queenstown. The rooms are large and the beds are comfortable with extra pillows. The rooms are clean and tidy and have basics to to self catering. For dog lovers there is a friendly dog onsite who happily greets you when you leave and return. Easy walk into town, not so easy on the way back up the hill. Highly recommend for singles or solo travellers.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

Recently my partner and I stayed here right in the middle of the ski season. I wish we could have stayed for much longer!

The owners were so friendly and accommodating and went over and above the call of duty to ensure our quick visit was enjoyable. You can't pay for the hospitality they provide.

The rooms are warm, clean, quiet and self contained with wifi and a great view of the gondola.

Close to town, I'm not good with distance judging but I do know I'm very lazy, I would say a 5 - 6 minute walk (downhill) will put you at the top of the mall.

They book your activities for you! They have amazing knowledge from being long time locals and don't push you into anything like the sales agents in town, they just give you unbiased opinions based on experience. And they get good prices for you!

I would definitely stay here again and again and again!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Just spent 4 very comfortable nights here with teenage family. Great having two completely separate bedrooms and a large open plan kitchen/diner/lounge.

Owners really helpful and went extra mile often with info, guest laundry, extending checkout time and putting cardboard on car windscreen to stop freezing.

Located on quiet road 6 mins walk from town with good views of mountains - also only 1 min walk from tour pickup points to ski fields or Milford Sound.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Bernard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed in a upstairs two-bedroom apartment with friends. At first the room seems basic and small but the beds were comfortable, the bathroom is small but plenty of hot water which you really appreciate after a day of skiing. There is only a cook top and microwave but once we rethought meals it was fine. The location to downtown Queenstown is very walkable and yes, it is an uphill walk back but doable or a short taxi ride back. We all thought that it deserves the rating on trip advisor when you consider location, comfort and value for money.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank alisonn62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

Not perfect though. Water can run hot and cold in the shower, there is little-to-no ventilation out of the bathroom, parking can be a little tricky, and the single bed mattress could use turning - to stop the tendency to roll out of the bed (didn't actually happen). We meant to do the latter before bed 2nd night but forgot. Nevertheless would stay again of course as have rated it 4 stars.

By the standards of all NZ the cost isn't cheap but that's Queenstown nowadays. Everywhere is pretty expensive and you have to be lucky to find even half a deal.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank glennomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Nestled in a very convenient location (5-10 min walk to Centre), with a nice view of the Lake and of the mountains (eg. gondola, luge, paragliding etc), I will definitely stay here again once I return to Queenstown! My room was spacious and tidy, staff are very helpful in arranging trips/tours (basically on all aspects!), kitchen facilities meet expectations, and neighborhood is peaceful and quiet! (It is not on a highway where buses pass through constantly, the nearest bus stop is abt a minute of walking away, which is perfect as you can have yourself picked up from the said bus stop if you join most of the organized trips/tours!). I just cant fault this hotel! Can't wait to be back soon!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Kev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.8 km away
Whistler Holiday Apartments
Whistler Holiday Apartments
#28 of 59 in Queenstown
294 reviews
0.2 km away
Four Seasons Motel
Four Seasons Motel
#46 of 59 in Queenstown
95 reviews
0.5 km away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Coronet View Accommodation
Coronet View Accommodation
#45 of 59 in Queenstown
141 reviews
2.1 km away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#21 of 59 in Queenstown
1,647 reviews
6.2 km away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amity Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amity Lodge Motel

Address: 7 Melbourne Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range: $161 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amity Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for quality, comfort and friendliness during your stay in Queenstown, Amity Lodge is the place to stay. Our lovely spacious One and Two Bedroom Apartments cater for your every need.Sky TV,Free unlimited Wifi, kitchenette, free off street parking and just a 5 minute walk to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Amity Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing