We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying too hard to be trendy and missing the mark”
Review of Yonder

Yonder
Ranked #27 of 291 Restaurants in Queenstown
Price range: US$4 - US$14
Description: Queenstown's newest eatery, Yonder, with their experimental kitchen also boast the primary go to for speciality coffee. With its main focus on dietary needs (vegan, GF) and a large array of healthy and indulgent delights, Yonder is ever evolving. A sunny garden sat in front of the historic cottage, you can enjoy one of 12 tap beers or selection of over 40 gins to complement your food of choice.
Restaurant details
Description: Queenstown's newest eatery, Yonder, with their experimental kitchen also boast the primary go to for speciality coffee. With its main focus on dietary needs (vegan, GF) and a large array of healthy and indulgent delights, Yonder is ever evolving. A sunny garden sat in front of the historic cottage, you can enjoy one of 12 tap beers or selection of over 40 gins to complement your food of choice.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Stopped in for a flat white and cold brew - cold brew tasted like chilled espresso rather than proper cold drip but the flat white was ok. Staff are not particularly friendly or helpful. Gives the impression of a trendy place but doesn't quite tick all the boxes in terms of product and service.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank Lisette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary L, Manager at Yonder, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Hey Lisette C,
Thanks for your review we really appreciate any feedback. Sorry our cold brew didn't fulfil your expectations. With this being made in house our bar team have been playing around with the ratios to try and work out the best and most popular flavours. Thanks for your honest feedback its great for us to take this on board. As for our staff its very disappointing to hear your experience wasn't a pleasant one, as I do feel we have hired a friendly attentive team. I do apologise for this and hope your visit hasn't tarnished your thoughts of Yonder. We hope you'll be back so we can prove what we are all about.

Kind Regards
Chantelle
Venue Manager Yonder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 141 of 303 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

We were recommended this restaurant by our lovely Airbnb hosts...and we were disappointed! I had the ancient grains salad (not something I’d usually choose) and it was sooo tasty! The service was very friendly and a nice atmosphere.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank tearohanui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary L, Manager at Yonder, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Hey Tearohanui,
We are super happy to hear that you have been recommended to come visit us at Yonder and enjoyed your experience. Our chefs have carefully designed our menu to offer something different, helping people step out of their comfort zone in terms of flavours. So glad the a ancient grains tickled your taste buds. We hope you'll be back to experience more of what Yonder as a Venue has to offer.

Kind regards
Chantelle
Venue Manager Yonder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

Amazing food, drinks and service, will definitely eat here again during our next trip to Queenstown.

Date of visit: January 2018
1  Thank MelissaGrace87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary L, Manager at Yonder, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Hey Melissa,
Thankyou for you review,we really appreciate your feedback. Great to hear we ticked all the right boxes and you enjoyed your experience with us. We will be launching our winter menus in the next coming months ,so hope you'll be back to enjoy more of what Yonder has to offer.

kind Regards
Chantelle
Yonder Venue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018

Delicious sesame crusted seared tuna; salmon and soba. Excellent homemade lemonade. Not so sure about chocolate wagon wheels, which were nutty biscuits covered in some kind of cream & coated in chocolate - tasted good but very difficult to eat as they were rock hard.

Very noisy, so don't come for a quiet chat. And don't sit near the outside doors on a cold day!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nyonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary L, Manager at Yonder, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Hey Nyonya, thanks for leaving a review with us, we really appreciate your feedback! Being an experimental kitchen our chefs wanted to create a menu full of flavours that pack a punch and really satisfy the tastebuds. So its awesome to hear you enjoyed the fish dishes you chose!! Our homemade lemonade recipe has been designed by our bar manager using every element of the lemon to create a delicious refreshing drink that really quenches the thirst - so glad you liked it!!
We are quite a large Venue so in terms of noise it does tend to carry throughout the building,making the atmosphere seem louder than it is, so I do apologise if this was too much for you. We do have our cottage area which has a little more of a relaxed environment for those that want to be able to chill and have a chat.
We hope you'll be back to try more of what our menu has to offer

Kind regards
Chantelle
Venue Manager Yonder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018 via mobile

We visited a few times for brunch, a lovely lamb dish, as well as a great pork dish. Coffee is good too, but quite large glasses, so a bit milky, even a triple shot late`!

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank IrregularTraveller87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary L, Manager at Yonder, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Hey Nic, Thanks for leaving a review with us, much appreciated!! It's so buzzing to hear that you have visited us on several occasions and have enjoyed every experience with us. The pulled lamb flatbread is one of the locals favourites , being loved so much we had to offer it on both brunch and dinner menus. Glad you enjoyed your food and coffee with us. We hope you'll return to enjoy more!

Kind Regards
Chantelle
Yonder venue manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yonder also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Yonder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing