We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (1,259)
Filter reviews
1,232 results
Traveller rating
954
224
29
10
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
954
224
29
10
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain wayne lake wakatipu honesty bar great captain top deck informative commentary comfortable boat trout great trip photo opportunities local knowledge beautiful scenery take photos visiting queenstown my partner new zealand homes
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,232 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Great experience with Captain Eddie, who seemed well versed with the local knowledge. Good views of the NE reaches of the lake with informative information and wonderful views of the mountain ranges. The first mate wearing the captains epaulettes needs to lift his game though!

Thank MaxCX1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty P, Owner at Million Dollar Cruise, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Great to hear you enjoyed Eddie's commentary - he is in training and Wayne, the Captain and owner, has to be on the boat while this is happening, just observing, til Eddie is signed off on Friday!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a super cruise around the lake with a very knowledgeable host and fantastic weather, real family feel to the whole venture

Thank accepted_planet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Not at all recommended specially if you have a different nationality. Duty Manger (Wayne Perkins) was racist. He doesn’t know how to deal with young kids. He is Arrogant and rude. On the other hand captain Eddie was very friendly and knowledgeable.
I wouldn’t recommend if you have a young family..

Thank Dinesh k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty P, Owner at Million Dollar Cruise, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sorry you didn't enjoy our cruise. My husband is definately not racist but does get annoyed when people cannot control their children, which seems to happen a lot these days and when children misbehave it affects our other customers enjoyment of the cruise. If you check back on other reviews you will see that people have said that it is child friendly and that their children enjoyed the trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Although the little boat does not look much from the jetty, this was a great little cruise. The day we cruised the weather was pretty ordinary but that did not spoil this little trip. We had read many reviews about Wayne and his commentary but we had Max as our Skipper for our trip. Max gave a good running commentary of Queenstown, the lake and the boat. There were only 7 passengers on board so it was nice to be able to move around the boat to take pics from different views. The self serve honesty system for drinks & snack was a nice touch. Max invited everyone up to wear the captains hat, steer the boat and take a pic which was a nice gimmick. If you have a spare 90 minutes, it’s worth a trip on The Million Dollar Cruise

Thank 920chrisr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty P, Owner at Million Dollar Cruise, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review. Obviously we need to give our boat a bit of a spiff up!! Summers coming and its the time to do this after all the hard work it has done over the months. Pleased that you enjoyed our cruise and that Max did a good job looking after you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The cruise was fantastic however special mention to the captain Wayne Who made the trip a delight. He definitely made the cruise very nice. Thank you

Thank Sunshine612417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Captain Wayne ,thank you so much for such a fabulous cruise and knowledge you gave with such blissful views and vistas !
It would be an honour to be in touch with you, hope you could reply to me as to how we can connect ....wishing you great visits from all over the world ...you truly love your work and it showed your warmth and happiness.
I am the person who also rode your cruise when my son called and you were supposed to take a picture ....!

Do get in touch!
You can add me on FB
I have the name AnnietaAbrol

Thank AnnietaA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews