We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ferg Bakery”
Review of Fergbaker

Fergbaker
Ranked #1 of 6 Bakeries in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ferg Bakery”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The best bakery ever!! Love the pork belly and apple pie and the ham/salad on turkish is amazing!! I had to get it for lunch every day ;)

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGuyWgtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,584
    597
    116
    28
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pie nirvana”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Fantastic pies! I'd intended to try quite a few of them while I was in town, but always ended up choosing the pork belly - it was just so delicious! They're open quite early, so it's a great way to start your day if you're headed up to the slopes.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank PropMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Late craving crushed”
Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

Picked up the pop, pork belly pie and egg, ham and cheese on baguette combo. Was served by huge beauty and local legend nick fabry and was blown away by value and deliciousness. Legend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Box1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Review for Ferg's Bakery - Oh, how we love thee!”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

The bakery is right next door to Fergburgers.

We’ve had our share of pies, but the crust on the Fergburger pies are so light and fluffy, not dense and heavy like many other places. And the fillings, ooooh the fillings! So flavorful, and what a variety!

I may get bludgeoned for this, but we fancied their pies more so than their burgers. Don’t hurt me!

The pies are extremely reasonable in price, they averaged less than $5 each and are a meal within themselves. Because they are part of the Ferg family, you can sit in the burger joint without fear of getting kicked out. Otherwise stand and eat, or take away.

They transport well too, for you know, when you need like a morning, or afternoon, or uh, midnight snack.

I'm confident they cure hangovers, baldness and arthritis as well, so eat many and enjoy!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shiubee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pork Belly & apple pie to die for”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We decided to head to Fergbaker after having sampled Fergburger the previous morning. Ordered the pork belly and apply pie and my husband had the chicken and mushroom pie. They were absolutely delicious, fresh and perfect for the cold morning. The pork just melted in your mouth and the pie had a wonderful apple sauce that married really well with the pork. The pastry was crisp and flaky. Had a taste of my husband's chicken pie and was equally impressed. We wished we could've tried more but at least we'll have something to look forward to next time.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PoppyTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fergbaker also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Fergbaker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing