We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Ranked #42 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Paid a little more for what i thought was a room with a blacony, turned out to be a 2 floor apartment with 2 balconys. Really clean, tidy and modern - event though you do over look a main road, the view of the lake and mountains completley make up for it. Definitely recommend paying a little extra for a room with a balcony/view.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

554 - 560 of 703 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

We like others went to the wrong Copthornehotelqueenstown and were told by a very uninterested clerk that it was only a 2 min walk! That's fine without dragging your bags uphill I must say! Lovely reception at the Copthorne Apartments and were straight into our rooms at 11.30 am. View awesome and very clean rooms that have recently been renovated. Think the restaurant was the only down side of our stay . We had taken advantage of the breakfast discount and were quite happy until the 3rd day when there were no plates, no bacon left, no orange juice and no hot water in the thermos. This was quickly remedied when I advised the staff. Sunday night we ate there and the Antipasta platter was not as advertised lacking cheeses and dips. Then my desert of apple crumble was served up straight from the fridge. The waitress said she was sorry but they had the 2nd chef on that night! This was all fixed up finally and we were given a very welcome apology of a complimentary glass of wine each. Spa was very clean. Very handy to town although a bit of a climb to return but we really enjoyed a walk straight opposite the hotel down the street to the Lake. We walked around the Lake edge into the city centre which was lovely. Would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: 4 th floor was a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamelala_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We were upgraded due to being on a girls birthday weekend, which was excellent. The staff were fantastic and Jackie the manager needs a special mention. View from apartment was amazing and the beds very good with pillow menu. Easy walk to Queenstown centre. Only downside was the uninviting hotel restaurant but town is not far away and room service for a cheese board not bad.

Room Tip: 3rd floor and up gives you a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brenontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We booked the Hotel online, first point of confusion, there are two Copthorne Hotsls in Queenstown (one much closer to town than the other). We turned up at the wrong one. Upon arriving at the correct one, the building is an odd shape and the group has arremped to refurbish the Hotel, however there is a lot a cost of paint can't fix. Firstly I would recommend buying a room without including breakfast (it's actually cheaper to do this). Secondly ask for a room on the same level (or side) as the restaurant. If you don't you need to take TWO separate lifts and do some walking. Why they don't open up the "staff only" middle part to prevent this is anyone's guess.... The rooms are clean and tidy and reasonable value for money. I strugled to believe that the rooms don't have air conditioning. Don't use the Internet as its very expensive. In this day and age it should be free. Also the group charges a $4 credit card surcharge which is daylight robbery. Such a big group should be able to absorb this or actually charge the true cost (in my experience for a large business this would be less than 2%). With The above in mind, I would go to the Novotel, which is lakefront (in CBD), newer and a similar price.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasenzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I have been staying here monthly for the last 2 years and have always enjoyed visits. The staff are very friendly and always willing to go the extra mile to make sure your stay is top class. The views are awesome and the rooms are always clean and comfortable. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roundtum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This is the Copthorne which stands above Queenstown Village as you come in from the airport. There is another Copthorne on the lake shore which has a better reputation; this is the "Lakeview" hotel by contrast. It is situated over several levels and, somewhat unnervingly, sends its guests downstairs from reception to most of its accommodation. It is a brisk 10 minute walk down Frankton Road and through the civic gardens to Queenstown Village, and the climb back can be a bit daunting if you are at all out of shape!

I attended a business conference here recently and the hotel served as accommodation and conference centre for the event.

Most rooms in the hotel have a spectacular view out over the southern reach of Lake Wakatipu to the Remarkable Ranges. My standard room ($170 per night) was spacious and comfortable with reasonable wardrobe space and cupboard storage. It had 2 double beds and so could sleep a family reasonably well. It was equipped with a fridge and minibar, tea and coffee making facilities and a bathroom that, while not huge and a little dated, was adequate to the task. There was a limited suite of TV channels available but no movie purchase option. Room lighting was fairly rudimentary but easily managed. Internet access was available but at a whopping $30 for 24 hours, or up to a relatively small download limit. After that, data transfer costs soared. These days there is simply no excuse for hotels charging these sorts of rates for internet access, especially if they profess to cater for the business market.

The minibar was poorly stocked with a limited and quite expensive assortment and during my 2 day stay was not replenished at all. Room service food was good quality and served within 20 minutes of order. A classic burger with fries and cheese board with a bottle of wine cost $88 which I thought was reasonable for the generous portions which arrived. The hotel breakfast was of reasonable quality but nothing special. At $25 for a cooked buffet breakfast, the cost was a little on the high side but not outlandish.

Staff were generally helpful, though I noticed one staff member at reception treat another guest's attempt at friendly humour with disdain. Must have been a tough day, but it could not have hurt to be a little more friendly. Wait-staff at the bar and restaurant were patchy and some seemed to be in training under the supervision of others. That is a good thing in one sense but it is important for it not to impinge on the guest experience.

Overall this is perfectly adequate hotel in which to stay in Queenstown, but if you are coming to this beautiful part of the country and want your hotel stay to really enhance the experience, there are better places to consider. Would I come here again - probably if the next conference uses the same hotel, but that will be a choice made for convenience only.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My wife and I had a fabulous time staying at Queenstown Copthorne Hotel Lakeview. The room was very clean and quite spacious with great balcony views of the Remarkables mountain range and Lake Wakipatu, including stunning sunrises and sunsets. The hotel's location at a Connectabus stop made getting to and back from the center of Queenstown very easy. The staff did a great job of making our stay a great success, arranging all-day trips for us, including an excursion to Mt. Cook and a second to Doubtful Sound. In addition, they were helpful in answering questions about things to do and getting around Queenstown. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a visit to Queenstown, New Zealand.

Room Tip: Choose a room on floors 2-4 as they have the best elevation for viewing the lake and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.4 km away
Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
0.2 km away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,418 reviews
2.6 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
3,197 reviews
0.5 km away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#23 of 58 in Queenstown
898 reviews
1.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview

Address: 88 Frankton Road, Queenstown, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Terraces Queenstown)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $113 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Qualmark rated hotel, 66 large superior hotel rooms and 19 x two bedroom apartment style rooms, with impressive views of Lake Wakatipu and the "Remarkables" mountain ranges from your private balcony or courtyard (no back facing rooms). Complimentary parking and only a short walk into the centre of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Apartments Queenstown Lakeview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing