We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVERAGE and pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #51 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Dont choose the hotel rooms at the back of the hotel, the buses start up at 6am right outside your window and then the air con units kick into life and you get the fumes from them even though there is no aircon in these rooms. While the rooms were comforatbale and clean they were overpriced for what they were. The staff seemed very friendly and approachable and helpful. Great views but not form the back room. Recommend goign for a walk up in the hills behind the hotel which take you up to the gondola, very steep but fantastic views!

Room Tip: Dont getteh rooms at the back they are terrible. We got a better sleep in the DOC hutts with 20 othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Thanks Jenz1. You are correct. The budget rooms do not have views of the lake. For lake view rooms please book superior, deluxe or suite room’s types. For readers, please note budget rooms are exactly that and refer to our website for room description.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,619 - 1,625 of 2,109 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

We had a superior lake facing room with double aspect, the views of the lake were stunning. Very comfortabe bed and a nice clean room. Only a short walk to loads of restaurants and shops and all the tourist attractions such as lake cruises.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Good review from a top contributor. Many thanks Ozztraveler. I hope you have the opportunity to visit beautiful Queenstown again in the future.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I booked over Internet from the picture & I use to stay in rydges in Christchurch but they are not the same we didn't stay but i must say the staff where really good about it

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Toniioverend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Hi Toniioverend. Thanks for your post. You are correct; we are older than our Christchurch Hotel (which is currently closed due to earthquake repairs). Once our refurbishment program is completed, I am sure we will give them a run for the money. Thank you for the kind comments regarding the team.

Many thanks
John McIlwain
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed at Rydges for three nights in March and would definitely stay here again.
PROS
Views! We were on the 9th floor---all the way at the end and had an amazing view of the lake and mountains. Whenever we weren't sightseeing around Queenstown or Milford Sound, we found ourselves sitting on chairs on the balcony enjoying the view with a bottle of wine.
Staff: they were very friendly and helpful. I asked for feather pillows to be changed out and it was done promptly. Staff also happily helped us to verify rides, etc. Always smiling.
Location: Close enough to the main part of town to walk but not too close to hear the bars let out at night. We had no problem walking into town multiple times a day.
CONS:
No free Wifi. We ended up ordering a package from HQWifi for three days for $25. Not a deal breaker but free wifi would be nice.
Elevator: Needed to take two different elevators to get to our room. There are two sections to the hotel (I guess a newer and older section) so the elevators couldn't be integrated. Again, not a deal breaker but it was a pain when our room card didn't work one day and you had to haul it back to the front desk and back up again.

Overall: We hope to be back in Queesntown, NZ again and would definitely stay here...in fact, we'll probably ask for that same room!

Room Tip: Room 928---end of hall---great view and quiet. See photo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hkd-nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Good review from a good contributor. Many thanks PuertoGal. I have passed your kind comments onto the team. We will have the wifi sorted in the not too distant future. We are just waiting for the installers to finalise a date.
Come back and see us again soon.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We had the cheap rooms in the hotel. They were comfortable and clean with no frills. The twin beds were comfortable. The only drawback was that a bus decide to start its engine at 6am in the morning and then leave it running for about ten minutes. Not great and not good for the clients.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room that is either in the tower at the front of the building or the rooms in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muzwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Good honest review Muzwald. Sounds like you may have had a back facing room. I will need to talk to these coach drivers. They are a fantastic bunch of guys and I appreciate the early start they have with their guests. I will see if we can come up with a solution regarding the early morning wake up calls.

Many thanks
John McIlwain
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Not worth the money for the view. The rooms are old, the bathrooms chipped and the toilet i could hardly fit my butt on (and no, i'm not huge). The floors creak and groan with every step, the walls are thin. There's very limited parking and insanely expensive internet.

Positives?? Close to central shops, and perhaps the view depending on where your rooms is. We looked over a carpark, and through trees to find the lake.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grubbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Your first review Grubbas and sounds like you didn’t enjoy yourself. Sorry we did not meet your expectations. Without knowing the details of the booking it is difficult to comment on your room. I can say the price of the internet is being addressed with our new wifi. I agree with you. The current third party provider of in room internet is expensive, hence the change. I hope your second review is more positive.

Regards
John McIlwain
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We had a Superior Lakeview-facing King room on the ninth floor.
The view from the large sized windows was fantastic: 5 stars
The bed was very comfortable: 4 stars
The bathroom and the rest of the room were ordinary: 3 star.
This hotel is in a good location and in walking distance of the Gondola, town, shops and restaurants. Worth a stay because of the view.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Great to see so many senior contributors posting their experience. Mixed Emotions 977. I trust when you come back we can turn your mixed emotions to delightful emotions.

Many thanks
John McIlwain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.1 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 59 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
0.9 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,231 reviews
0.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#22 of 59 in Queenstown
1,628 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.7 km away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Address: 38 - 54 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $145 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary multi-story hotel overlooking Lake Wakatipu, 400 meters from town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeland Hotel Queenstown
Rydges Lakeland Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing