We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go Elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #49 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Go Elsewhere”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Shocking, I stay in hotels every week and this is my first review and we simply have to warn folks.

For the same price there are some amazing hotels not far, we checked out after first night, could not bear one more night there.

Staff - Rude/Unhelpful.
Guests - If they have conference on, go stay somewhere else.
Breakfast - Cold and disgusting

The one positive was the view, however it's not everything - every place in Queenstown has a view. But the rooms are so old, tired and you hear every noise from upstairs, next door!

They say it's because the hotel is old... well don't show it off on internet as being new'ish! And spend some money on it! We booked and paid for few nights but left after the first night simply because I'd rather spend money all be it more... elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Hi Mike W. It is such a shame your first contribution had to be a negative one. I am sorry you felt the hotel did not meet your needs. I read with concern your comments on the staff. I am very lucky to have a great team here and comments such as yours are not common. As I cannot identify you’re booking details through TA, please feel free to email me at john_mcilwain@rydges.com. I would like to discuss your comments with you in more detail.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    640
    578
    321
    200
See reviews for
364
956
114
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed here twice, in a beautiful lake front room with the most magnificent views you've ever seen.

The rooms are on the small side, but are quite cozy, especially in winter. Room service took a loooong time - we had to call down to make sure they didn't forget about us - and the meal itself was average but the desert was AMAZING.

The hotel itself is lovely, far enough from the town centre that it's lovely and quiet, but close enough that you can walk into town for dinner. It's a beautiful walk too, right along the lake with the remarkables in the distance (but then again, most things in Queenstown are beautiful!!).

I'd stay here again if I got a good deal.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingWordSlinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Another great review from a senor contributor. Many thank for taking the time to post your experience. I have noted your comments on room service and addressed them with the relevant team. I look forward to welcoming you back to beautiful Queenstown.

Regards
John McIlwain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lower hutt
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Dont choose the hotel rooms at the back of the hotel, the buses start up at 6am right outside your window and then the air con units kick into life and you get the fumes from them even though there is no aircon in these rooms. While the rooms were comforatbale and clean they were overpriced for what they were. The staff seemed very friendly and approachable and helpful. Great views but not form the back room. Recommend goign for a walk up in the hills behind the hotel which take you up to the gondola, very steep but fantastic views!

Room Tip: Dont getteh rooms at the back they are terrible. We got a better sleep in the DOC hutts with 20 othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Thanks Jenz1. You are correct. The budget rooms do not have views of the lake. For lake view rooms please book superior, deluxe or suite room’s types. For readers, please note budget rooms are exactly that and refer to our website for room description.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We had a superior lake facing room with double aspect, the views of the lake were stunning. Very comfortabe bed and a nice clean room. Only a short walk to loads of restaurants and shops and all the tourist attractions such as lake cruises.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Good review from a top contributor. Many thanks Ozztraveler. I hope you have the opportunity to visit beautiful Queenstown again in the future.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I booked over Internet from the picture & I use to stay in rydges in Christchurch but they are not the same we didn't stay but i must say the staff where really good about it

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toniioverend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Hi Toniioverend. Thanks for your post. You are correct; we are older than our Christchurch Hotel (which is currently closed due to earthquake repairs). Once our refurbishment program is completed, I am sure we will give them a run for the money. Thank you for the kind comments regarding the team.

Many thanks
John McIlwain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed at Rydges for three nights in March and would definitely stay here again.
PROS
Views! We were on the 9th floor---all the way at the end and had an amazing view of the lake and mountains. Whenever we weren't sightseeing around Queenstown or Milford Sound, we found ourselves sitting on chairs on the balcony enjoying the view with a bottle of wine.
Staff: they were very friendly and helpful. I asked for feather pillows to be changed out and it was done promptly. Staff also happily helped us to verify rides, etc. Always smiling.
Location: Close enough to the main part of town to walk but not too close to hear the bars let out at night. We had no problem walking into town multiple times a day.
CONS:
No free Wifi. We ended up ordering a package from HQWifi for three days for $25. Not a deal breaker but free wifi would be nice.
Elevator: Needed to take two different elevators to get to our room. There are two sections to the hotel (I guess a newer and older section) so the elevators couldn't be integrated. Again, not a deal breaker but it was a pain when our room card didn't work one day and you had to haul it back to the front desk and back up again.

Overall: We hope to be back in Queesntown, NZ again and would definitely stay here...in fact, we'll probably ask for that same room!

Room Tip: Room 928---end of hall---great view and quiet. See photo
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hkd-nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Good review from a good contributor. Many thanks PuertoGal. I have passed your kind comments onto the team. We will have the wifi sorted in the not too distant future. We are just waiting for the installers to finalise a date.
Come back and see us again soon.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We had the cheap rooms in the hotel. They were comfortable and clean with no frills. The twin beds were comfortable. The only drawback was that a bus decide to start its engine at 6am in the morning and then leave it running for about ten minutes. Not great and not good for the clients.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room that is either in the tower at the front of the building or the rooms in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muzwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Good honest review Muzwald. Sounds like you may have had a back facing room. I will need to talk to these coach drivers. They are a fantastic bunch of guys and I appreciate the early start they have with their guests. I will see if we can come up with a solution regarding the early morning wake up calls.

Many thanks
John McIlwain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.9 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,095 reviews
1.1 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,374 reviews
0.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.8 km away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#23 of 58 in Queenstown
1,535 reviews
6.0 km away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Property: Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
Address: 38 - 54 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary multi-story hotel overlooking Lake Wakatipu, 400 meters from town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeland Hotel Queenstown
Rydges Lakeland Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing