We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Remarkables Mountain Lodge
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We were delighted to have a 5 night stay in this beautiful lodge nestling at the base of the Remarkables. The room/suite was very spacious with stunning views on three sides as well as two balconies.
Every need had been thought of with high quality toiletries and complimentary bar.
Brian and Colleen went to great lengths to make the visit memorable, giving excellent advice and support. Brian was a superb host meeting with guests before dinner; which was an outstanding gastronomic experience provided by Colleen, who used local produce to great effect. Our stay in the Remarkables Lodge was a definite highlight of our holiday in New Zealand.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for Remarkables Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2011

I was on a working trip and stayed at this Hotel. When staying in hotels I am very critical in a number of areas. At the top of the list is service and cleanliness and then follow amenities required to operate business, privacy and other added facilities.
Colleen and Brian truly care about the client and go above and beyond to ensure that they supply a first class service. They both greet me before I entered the front door; they are available 24 hours a day with a ready smile wanting to ensure you have a "remarkable" stay. Small things, after the first night they noticed that I slept on the left side of the bed, therefore, the second night after making up my bedroom, my glass and jug of water was placed on the left side of the bed and not on the right. There are two communal lounge areas and they ensured that the fireplace was alight throughout the night upon returning and that my room was set to the correct temperature; beds were extremely comfortable and I enjoyed the separate lounge area off my bedroom with the private outdoor area to sit and watch the stars at night without being interupted unless to be asked if I would like, drinks, tea coffee etc. Brian and Colleen are not intrusive but are there if you need anything, or even if you don't realise you do need something. I would recommend this venue to anyone who wanted to stay somewhere where this is A1 service and A1 facilities with exceptional cleanliness. Kerrie Lea

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerrie-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

This is a small private lodge that is tastefully presented, is comfortable and has a genuine warmth about it. Our room was very luxurious and had a great views and had everything we needed and we appreciated the extra touches such as when we went back to our room after dinner it had been set up beautifully for the night and fresh flowers every day from their gardens. All the staff and the hosts were very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed interacting with other guests when we wanted to. Dinner was excellent and so was breakfast and having tea and cake sitting in the garden looking at the mountains and watching the deer graze will be one of our best memories of our visit to New Zealand. The location really makes you feel like you're away from the hustle and bustle. We would recommend this lodge to anyone wanting a relaxing stay with a great service and food and superb hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

This lodge was our base during our 4-day stay in the Queenstown area. The proprietors, Colleen and Brian, manage to run a 5-star establishment and at the same time make you feel like you are staying with friends. The lodge sits at the base of the Remarkables mountains giving the feeling of being far away from the vibe of Queenstown yet all the activity is just a 10 minute drive away. Our accommodations were a private suite overlooking the back pastures up to the mountains, comfortably and warmly appointed, with an ample bathroom with both bath and shower. My favorite part of our stay was the food served by their expert chef, Rodrigo. All meals were truly an event, however the dinners were exquisite. So, if you are looking for a tranquil, luxurious lodge while visiting Queenstown, the Remarkables is your destination

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Stayed at the lodge for three nights on our honeymoon and what stood out was the proprietors' ability to balance excellent and attentive service with respect for our privacy. My issue with smaller inns normally is that you do not feel that you have privacy. In the case of the Remarkables that was not the case.

The room was large and comfortable with a good bed and great bathroom.

Also, the setting cannot be beat. On one side of the Lodge is the foot of the Remarkables Range and on the other side is a gorgeous vista of the Queenstown region and the lake.

The food, prepared by the proprietor was top notch and they catered to any dietary requirements. All in all, I strongly recommend the Lodge for people looking to visit Queenstown.

Room Tip: Ask for the king suite overlooking the pool
Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Finny52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

What a wonderful addition to our 2 week trip of New Zealand and Australia. I should have known I would love this exemplary Lodge when we had trouble finding it and yet we passed it twice. Set back from the scenic route out of Queentown, the lodge is surrounded by stunning lake vistas and incredible mountain views of the Remarkables Mountains. Oh..Goats and Deer are also part of the bucolic scenery. It is a very pleasing scenario to take in as you park in the small parking lot in front of the charming lodge. I say small parking lot because the lodge is indeed a small number of lovely rooms and suites and it has the feeling of a intimate lodge where as a guest, you are taken care of in all ways and yet, you feel quite at home. After all the travelling I have done throughout the World, there are very few places that can find that perfect blend of 5* quality, service and amenities and yet, make it all seem quite natural and informal in the most wonderful style. We were upgraded to a suite that had amazing views, cookies and treats and fruit laid out, muaic system and cable television in the living room area. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the bathroom was quite big. The room was very much in keeping with the feel of this 'Remarkable' place. The Chef prepared one amazing meal after another, along with working with certain dietary requests I had made, that made each night an event. Pre-dinner drinks and appetizers were always served first before dinner in a delightful casual style. Now. How is all this possible? It is the Owners/Hosts, bien sur! Colleen and Brian. Two wonderful, interesting and gracious people who would a pleasure to meet under any circumstance. There love for what they do..and have done 'in life' is infectious and is the secret to the prevailing amblaice that makes this special stay besides all I have listed above, so much fun! Two very accomplished people who can tell you of amazing experiences and are also eager to learn about you! This combination of the wonderful lodge and your special hosts, is a win-win situation. I'd return in a 'Auckland-Queentown' moment.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeTerrible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

We stayed at The Remarkables Lodge before the snow hit the hills but still it was agreat stay. Brian and Colleen are great hosts and the chefs really cooked up some great food. The few other guests were lovely people from the USA and a honeymooning couple from Europe.

A cosy atmosphere you don't get in hotels and real warm company made the 2 day stay a real treat and one we will not forget soon and want to repeat.

You want to relax and enjoy yourself in Quessntown? try the Remarkables Lodge, You will be delighted!

Cheers

Ian Harvey - Gold Coast Australia

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Ian3678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
5.2 km away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
8.4 km away
Hurley's of Queenstown
Hurley's of Queenstown
#31 of 58 in Queenstown
415 reviews
11.6 km away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#28 of 58 in Queenstown
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Mantra Marina
Mantra Marina
#15 of 92 in Queenstown
552 reviews
17.0 km away
Kinross Cottages
Kinross Cottages
#2 of 43 in Queenstown
191 reviews
9.5 km away
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
#14 of 92 in Queenstown
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Remarkables Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Remarkables Mountain Lodge

Address: 595 Kingston Road | PO Box 2144, Queenstown 9349, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 92 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: $98 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Remarkables Mountain Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a discreet and exclusive retreat, a sanctuary far removed from the bustle of this busy world. You've discovered one of New Zealand's exclusive lodges; Queenstown luxury accommodation in a spectacular setting with stunning mountain views. The Remarkables Mountain Lodge has all the facilities of a small luxury hotel but with the intimacy and hospitable ambiance of a country estate, epitomizing the New Zealand luxury lodge experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Remarkables Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing