We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful cottage with an artistic flair”
Review of Tussock Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queenstown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tussock Cottage
Reviewed 28 March 2017

My sister and I loved our two nights in this cottage. After staying in hostels this was a welcome change with privacy and everything we needed. The rooms had a lovely warm ambience and were beautifully decorated. And we very much loved the homemade cookies and the delicious plums. It's an easy drive to Queenstown and Arrowtown, in a beautiful rural setting. The walk along Hayes Lake was lovely. This cottage was a highlight of our 2 weeks in New Zealand.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mountainmary2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2016

A gorgeous strawbale cottage situated by Lake Hayes. It was so comfortable in this little gem of a place. Everything that you need for a long or short stay.
Close to Arrowtown by car or bike, a great relaxing alternative to busy Queenstown.
Jaap & Lee were great hosts.Highly recommend

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank hokimai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

This is our 4th visit here and it's as good as always......this is a really individual property set in its own surroundings but on the grounds of the owners - it's like a cute 1 bed house with clean good quality bedding and towels etc - good cooking facilities: microwave/ 2 ring hot plates (no oven) sky TV - toaster kettle etc....everything you need.
Location is fabulous- in walking distance of the beautiful Lake Hayes - 15 mins from Queenstown- 45 mins from Cardronna ski resort .......
Either relax - ski - sight see - or enjoy Queenstown and lots of local wine

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2015

Tussock Cottage is a wonderful guest accomdation located in between beautiful Queenstown and historic Arrowtown , overlooking Lakes Hayes. Friends who had stayed there in the past highly recommended it to us, so we just spent two nights and we wish the stay was longer!! The cottage has everything one could need and the hosts Lee and Jaap couldn't have been more amazing. The cottage has a very comfortable bedroom, spacious bathroom, living/dining from with a kitchenette and even has a outdoor dining area with a grill right off the living room! It is bright and sunny and very privately situated from the main house. Tussock Cottage will make your stay in the Queenstown area even more memorable.... We can't wait to go back!

Stayed: December 2015
Thank sgcooper5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2015 via mobile

The lovely cottage at lake Hays is run with so much passion and joy by the family. We had BBQ each night in our garden. Our son enjoyed feeding the chickens and playing with cats and dog. Lots of toys were provided for him. We felt really at home. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2014

Tussock Cottage is gorgeous. It is so different from the usual holiday house. The rendered strawbale walls, recycled timbers and grass roof provide a lovely warm restful environment. Lee and Jaap are friendly but not intrusive hosts, with a great knowledge and love for their local area. Mountain views, lake walks and green rolling hills are all here.

  • Stayed: December 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael255325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2014

We have just had our fourth stay at Tussock Cottage. We love it and hope to return many times. It's pretty, romantic, in a great spot, handy to lots of fun and the owners are marvellous. It is close to Arrowtown. You will need a car or other own transport.

Room Tip: There's only one...it's a cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rrtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
9.5 km away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
13.8 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 59 in Queenstown
3,283 reviews
15.7 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#25 of 59 in Queenstown
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 km away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
14.4 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
14.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tussock Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tussock Cottage

Address: 48 Rutherford Road | Lake Hayes RD1, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: $2 - $2 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tussock Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tussock Cottage is located at beautiful Lake Hayes, close to both Arrowtown and Queenstown. The setting is private and tranquil and offers stunning lake and mountain views. The cottage is self contained with a queen size bedroom and a separate large living area with dining and cooking facilities. The lake is great for fishing, kayaking and swimming . Golf courses, skifields, wineries,restaurants , great shopping, it's all on your doorstep when staying at Tussock Cottage! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing