We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
33
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews comfortable bed minute walk hayes arrowtown winter lake
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 33 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2016

A gorgeous strawbale cottage situated by Lake Hayes. It was so comfortable in this little gem of a place. Everything that you need for a long or short stay.
Close to Arrowtown by car or bike, a great relaxing alternative to busy Queenstown.
Jaap & Lee were great hosts.Highly recommend

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank hokimai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

This is our 4th visit here and it's as good as always......this is a really individual property set in its own surroundings but on the grounds of the owners - it's like a cute 1 bed house with clean good quality bedding and towels etc - good cooking facilities: microwave/ 2 ring hot plates (no oven) sky TV - toaster kettle etc....everything you need.
Location is fabulous- in walking distance of the beautiful Lake Hayes - 15 mins from Queenstown- 45 mins from Cardronna ski resort .......
Either relax - ski - sight see - or enjoy Queenstown and lots of local wine

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 16, 2015

Tussock Cottage is a wonderful guest accomdation located in between beautiful Queenstown and historic Arrowtown , overlooking Lakes Hayes. Friends who had stayed there in the past highly recommended it to us, so we just spent two nights and we wish the stay was longer!! The cottage has everything one could need and the hosts Lee and Jaap couldn't have been more amazing. The cottage has a very comfortable bedroom, spacious bathroom, living/dining from with a kitchenette and even has a outdoor dining area with a grill right off the living room! It is bright and sunny and very privately situated from the main house. Tussock Cottage will make your stay in the Queenstown area even more memorable.... We can't wait to go back!

Stayed: December 2015
Thank sgcooper5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2015 via mobile

The lovely cottage at lake Hays is run with so much passion and joy by the family. We had BBQ each night in our garden. Our son enjoyed feeding the chickens and playing with cats and dog. Lots of toys were provided for him. We felt really at home. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 13, 2014

Tussock Cottage is gorgeous. It is so different from the usual holiday house. The rendered strawbale walls, recycled timbers and grass roof provide a lovely warm restful environment. Lee and Jaap are friendly but not intrusive hosts, with a great knowledge and love for their local area. Mountain views, lake walks and green rolling hills are all here.

  • Stayed: December 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael255325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews